PDA

View Full Version : Small Softsqueeze wish: keyboard control buttons



Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-15, 11:29
I don't know if this is possible, particularly from the
stand point of java/cross platform compatibility, but it
would really be convenient. Many keyboards, eg. my Logitech,
have play/pause/stop/rew/ff buttons on them these days.
They work great, at least in Windows, for controlling
a variety of media players. I used to use them quite
frequently with Windows Media Player. Now with having
FLAC'd all my CDs and converted to Slimserver/Squeezeboxes/
Softsqueeze I still find myself occasionally, and futilely :-),
trying to use them; particularly since the volume and mute
still work fine. Is it feasible to somehow have Softsqueeze
recognize them?

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-08-15, 13:32
On Sun, 15 Aug 2004 12:29:59 -0600, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> I don't know if this is possible, particularly from the
> stand point of java/cross platform compatibility, but it
> would really be convenient. Many keyboards, eg. my Logitech,
> have play/pause/stop/rew/ff buttons on them these days.
> They work great, at least in Windows, for controlling
> a variety of media players. I used to use them quite
> frequently with Windows Media Player. Now with having
> FLAC'd all my CDs and converted to Slimserver/Squeezeboxes/
> Softsqueeze I still find myself occasionally, and futilely :-),
> trying to use them; particularly since the volume and mute
> still work fine. Is it feasible to somehow have Softsqueeze
> recognize them?

I wrote a utility to control a softsqeeze or a hardware client (defaults to
hardware unless softsqueeze is running locally). It needs some work to be a
little more user-friendly/releasable, but several people in the past have
requested a copy and as far as I know it's working fine for everyone
including myself. Mail me off list if you'd like this. Oh, and it requires
..NET framework (Windows only).

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-15, 15:14
Jeff Shanholtz wrote:

> I wrote a utility to control a softsqeeze or a hardware client (defaults to
> hardware unless softsqueeze is running locally). It needs some work to be a
> little more user-friendly/releasable, but several people in the past have
> requested a copy and as far as I know it's working fine for everyone
> including myself. Mail me off list if you'd like this. Oh, and it requires
> .NET framework (Windows only).

Tempting but, a little off topic, I've always been leery about installing
the .NET stuff for Windows. Perhaps I'll do a bit of research into the
risks, etc.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

mkosma
2005-10-05, 21:19
bumping this question. Is there any way to enable media control keys (play/pause, stop, prev, next) on a Logitech keyboard to control softsqueeze? These keys can be set to control winamp or windows media player, I believe. Logitech appears to have abandoned development, so unless the work has already been done, it may require some trickery to catch these button presses.

Yannzola
2005-10-06, 15:33
I asked a similiar question a while back... my issue was that I wanted to control Slimserver playback via the "standard" (read:pc) media keys built in to most modern keyboards. Since these "media keys" are not the same across all platforms (I assume)... and since many of these keyboards are =not= configurable... I asked if some sort of user configurable "media key-command" setting could be added to Slimserver itself. I remember someone mentioning that only certain Web UI interfaces are capable of parsing these kinds of keystroke commands... ExBrowse in particular (not sure about the others).

Unfortunately, the issue never generated any interest.

mkosma
2005-10-07, 06:07
One way to implement would be a small plugin or standalone app that watches for and responds to those button presses by sending an html or CLI command to the slimserver. That seems straightforward, except that it seems that Logitech (at least) leaves those keys basically undocumented, from what I can see.

Aaron Zinck
2005-10-10, 13:57
Though I haven't explicitly tried it, I'd be surprised if Girder weren't
capable of responding to those button-presses. You could then make that
event do anything you might like, including instantiating other keypresses
or running scripts or anything. Check out http://www.promixis.com/

Yannzola
2005-10-10, 19:23
One way to implement would be a small plugin or standalone app that watches for and responds to those button presses by sending an html or CLI command to the slimserver. That seems straightforward, except that it seems that Logitech (at least) leaves those keys basically undocumented, from what I can see.

Logitech most likely uses the "windows standard" shortcut key commands (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/knowledgecenter/howto/WMP10_shortcuts.aspx) Same as my Gyration keyboard and many others.

rtitmuss
2005-10-23, 08:05
mkosma wrote:

>bumping this question. Is there any way to enable media control keys
>(play/pause, stop, prev, next) on a Logitech keyboard to control
>softsqueeze?
>
I have had a few requests for this. I understand that in Windows these
keyboards generate WM_USER messages. Softsqueeze has been developed in
Java, and it is not easy to get see this type of message. I am planning
on looking into this some time in the future.

Richard

mbgower
2006-02-25, 23:53
At least for the logitech keyboards, there may be an ability to do this thorugh itouch, the software that is downloadable from their website. I just noticed that they posted an updated player.ini file, which at least appears to offer the possibility of a squeezesoft tie-in.
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/CA/EN,CRID=1796,contentid=6037,OSID=1,softwareid=6985

radish
2006-02-26, 07:03
My utility WinSlim (http://www.adamreeve.com/software/) will let you use the media keys on a logitech or any other keyboard. The only caveat is you need to disable Logitech's own software. I spent several days on trying to make it work with the SetPoint software running and gave up.

kweller
2006-02-26, 09:11
In article <radish.23ubaz1140963302 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>, Radish
wrote:
> My utility WinSlim (http://www.adamreeve.com/software/) will let you use
> the media keys on a logitech or any other keyboard.

Have you considered allowing this to minimise to the toolbar than putting
the current track on the pop-up on mouse-over?

Kevin

RossGoodman
2007-10-08, 13:48
Works a treat !