PDA

View Full Version : SB3 vs. Duet

DavidPHumes
2010-04-07, 11:55
Hi all, this is my first post on this forum!

I have been slowly putting together a stereo for the last 6 months or so. I have all of the big components but as of now have been using my laptop as my source. It works just fine, but is cumbersome and obviously not well integrated. What I want is something like a Squeezebox to stream everything wirelessly (I have a server loaded with FLAC anyway) and create a more integrated system. First off, my system as it stands now:

Peachtree Audio Decco
McIntosh MC2205
Magenepan MMG
Cardas Tweeter Attenuators
Paul Speltz Anti-Cables

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k265/David343/IMG_8190.jpg

I'm a college student right now and work at Best Buy. I get an excellent accommodation through Logitech as a Best Buy employee and the price of a Duet and SB3 (off of, say, eBay) is about equal. After browsing the forums for the last couple days, I've noticed most people have the SB3 despite the fact it is significantly older. Is there a good reason for this? I'm not really worried about the DAC as my preamp has a very good built in DAC that I will be using anyway. I sit about 10 feet from my stereo so I really don't need to have a screen on the remote, but it would be cool I'll admit. I also don't really have any need right now for Internet music streaming, so I don't mind if that functionality it not present. What is the communities general opinion on this?

Or, should I wait for the Touch (ha)?

pfink
2010-04-07, 12:05