PDA

View Full Version : Does SlimServer rescan music library periodically?



Gordon Firemark
2004-08-13, 10:49
I've checked the documentation, and I haven't found an answer to this question.

Does the Slimserver (I'm running on Linux) periodically rescan the music
library, flush the cache, etc.?

I'm adding music to my library almost daily (about 10,000 songs so far), and I'm
manually rescanning the library after each session?

I COULD set up a Cron job to restart the Slimserver service, but this feature
ought to be/probably is already in the software, right?

If it's already there, how can I set the interval? If not, how about a plugin?
Anyone?

Thanks,

-Gordon

Jack Coates
2004-08-13, 18:54
> I've checked the documentation, and I haven't found an answer to this
> question.
>
> Does the Slimserver (I'm running on Linux) periodically rescan the music
> library, flush the cache, etc.?
>
> I'm adding music to my library almost daily (about 10,000 songs so far),
> and I'm
> manually rescanning the library after each session?
>
> I COULD set up a Cron job to restart the Slimserver service, but this
> feature
> ought to be/probably is already in the software, right?
>
> If it's already there, how can I set the interval? If not, how about a
> plugin?
> Anyone?

It's in Server Settings > Plugins > Rescan Music Library. If it's not
there, you can get a plugin that does so from the 3rd party page, or just
upgrade to the latest nightly
(http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/).

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA

Gordon Firemark
2004-08-13, 21:11
Jack Coates <jack@...> writes:

>
> It's in Server Settings > Plugins > Rescan Music Library. If it's not
> there, you can get a plugin that does so from the 3rd party page, or just
> upgrade to the latest nightly
> (http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/).
>

I guess I wasn't clear enough. know It's there if I want to do the rescan
manually... I'm wondering how to tell the software to rescan at a regular
interval, say nightly at 4:00am?

Thanks

Jack Coates
2004-08-13, 21:37
> Jack Coates <jack@...> writes:
>
>>
>> It's in Server Settings > Plugins > Rescan Music Library. If it's not
>> there, you can get a plugin that does so from the 3rd party page, or
>> just
>> upgrade to the latest nightly
>> (http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/).
>>
>
> I guess I wasn't clear enough. know It's there if I want to do the rescan
> manually... I'm wondering how to tell the software to rescan at a regular
> interval, say nightly at 4:00am?
>
> Thanks

Seriously, go look where I said to look.

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA