PDA

View Full Version : Another Catastrophic SB Failure



jimzak
2010-04-03, 10:38
Well, catastrophic for me anyway...

My Linksys WRT54GL router failed early this week.

I just got a replacement. I am using the Linksys firmware.

I have just spent 4 hours trying to get my system back up, and I can only get one Boom playing.

I'm running the SB system in my signature.

My router has the same SSID and password as the old one.

I have set wireless security settings through many permutations. The setting with which I get the one Boom to connect is with WPA-Personal (TKIP).

However, the Radio, the other Boom, and the Duet report WPA2-PSK encryption when I run the Diagnostics selection. I cannot figure out how to make them aware of the new encryption.

Although I am a faithful SB fan, I am beginning to see why Sonos is attractive. I have wasted a beautiful Saturday morning on something that should take 20 mins.

Can anyone give me some guidance?

Thanks.

jimzak
2010-04-03, 11:02
Okay.

So I reset the encryption on the router to WPA2-Personal (TKAP+AES).

I also set the router wireless network mode to "G-only".

I could then connect the two Booms, but the Duet and the Radio stubbornly refuse to connect to the music library or MySqueezebox.com.

Am I getting warmer?

Can someone just give me their settings for this router?

signor_rossi
2010-04-03, 11:07
Is the router exactly the same model as before? Or the same model and a different revision? Is it a new model?
My first guess is that the router is crap/faulty (my linksys modem-router was). Borrow another router.

jimzak
2010-04-03, 12:16
The two WRT54GL routers are the same router and the same revision 1.1.

I could connect my two laptops wirelessly and a desktop via wired Ethernet without a problem.

I have abandoned the Linksys router and gone to an older NetGear WGT624.

It does not support WPA2, only WPA.

I have been able to connect two Booms and the Radio. I cannot seem to get the Duet to connect. The diagnostics on the remote refers to the security mode as WPA2 despite a factory reset of the remote.

The diagnostics on the remote still indicate that my network is encrypted WPA2 despite several factory resets.

Ideas?

Thanks.

Ron Olsen
2010-04-03, 13:46
What I usually do to reconnect a Duet Receiver:

1. Power down and power up the Receiver.
2. Push the button on the front of the Receiver until it blinks red.
3. Do a Factory Reset on the Controller.
4. Go through the Setup procedure for the Controller and Receiver.

There may be a more efficient way, but this seems to (ultimately) work for me.

jimzak
2010-04-03, 13:51
DUH!!!!!

Put that in extra bold print.

I can only blame myself.

I believe that I accidentally left the old router plugged in and this produced interfering RF which completely frelled my day.

My apologies to my good ol' SB equipment and to Logitech.

My system is now back up with the new router.

fragfutter
2010-04-03, 14:00
karma for standing up for your misstake.

pski
2010-04-03, 14:39
DUH!!!!!

Put that in extra bold print.

I can only blame myself.

I believe that I accidentally left the old router plugged in and this produced interfering RF which completely frelled my day.

My apologies to my good ol' SB equipment and to Logitech.

My system is now back up with the new router.

That's quite the opposite of the "standard" troubleshooting question "Is it plugged-in?"

P

amcluesent
2010-04-03, 15:23
>....this produced interfering RF...<

More likely you had two DHCP servers battling it out and confusing clients.

TurnipMan
2010-04-03, 16:17
I was going to suggest that you may have tried to reuse the power supply.
I've almost jumped on an apparently dead WRT54G only to eventually realise ( more than once ), that the culprit is a dead power supply.

If you have the option just double check that on your dead router!
TOm

Letten
2010-04-03, 23:23
Another great example that it's a problem when you're in the top of the food chain :-)

One mistake in one of the underlying technologies and it's the streaming devices fault (NOT).

Thanks for admitting your fault - often OP's just ignore the thread once they realise their mistake - leaving helpers and future readers in limbo.