PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade Firmware on SB2 without Remote



n_purdie
2010-03-22, 07:12
I am trying to update the firmware on a Squeezebox 2 (original Slimdevices) without the original remote (lost it). I have a Harmony 885 but it doesnt detect the continual key press of BRIGHTNESS to start the firmware upgrade. I have tried every setting on the harmony I can think of. Surely there is some other way of upgrading the firmware by connecting over ip, commandline or the slimserver? All other keys work on the remote. I have tried the back key to get to Auto upgrade firmware but there is no option for that. the firmware version is 11. I can see the player through slimserver so no issue with the player just cant upgrade the firmware. Any help much appreciated.

SuperQ
2010-03-22, 09:48
Depending on which firmware version you have, there was an option in the network setup menu to do automatic firmware updates. Hopefully your firmware is new enough to support that. Look for the settings menu when you power on the player and go into network setup.

aubuti
2010-03-22, 15:56
Holding down the left arrow to get into network setup is the only way I know of to change the auto firmware update setting. Btw, are you sure it's an SB2? I'm not certain about this, but fw 11 sounds a lot more like the earlier SB (aka SB1). What does it say on the label on the bottom?

usch
2010-03-22, 19:05
Btw, are you sure it's an SB2? I'm not certain about this, but fw 11 sounds a lot more like the earlier SB (aka SB1).
11 would be a very old version, even for an SB1. The current firmware is 40 for the SB1, and 130 for the SB2.

TiredLegs
2010-03-24, 14:17
As suggested here (http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/logitech_en_amr.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5955&p_created=1168468260), you could try a "hard reset" by holding down the ADD (+) button on the remote while plugging in the Squeezebox power. Depending on how your Harmony remote works, the ADD button might produce an IR pulse that does the trick without needing the continual stream of the Brightness button. (You might have experiment with exactly when to press the ADD button.)

Devans
2010-03-24, 14:29
As suggested here (http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/logitech_en_amr.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5955&p_created=1168468260), you could try a "hard reset" by holding down the ADD (+) button on the remote while plugging in the Squeezebox power. Depending on how your Harmony remote works, the ADD button might produce an IR pulse that does the trick without needing the continual stream of the Brightness button. (You might have experiment with exactly when to press the ADD button.)

The moment you see the Logitech logo (or on old firmware it's the Slim Devices logo) that's when you can single press the ADD button to perform a factory reset when it's powering on.