PDA

View Full Version : Global volume



Nullerbasse
2010-03-15, 15:17
Hi

One of the only things i envy Sonos is the ability to have a global volume in the house. No need to change player to change volume.

And when you have a volume set for each player, you can globally change the whole house at once.

Is that not possible to make on the Squeezebox ??

pski
2010-03-15, 15:57
Hi

One of the only things i envy Sonos is the ability to have a global volume in the house. No need to change player to change volume.

And when you have a volume set for each player, you can globally change the whole house at once.

Is that not possible to make on the Squeezebox ??

Settings/players/<select player>/synchronize

see sync player volume..

p

peterw
2010-03-15, 16:46
My SyncOptions plugin (http://www.tux.org/~peterw/slim/SyncOptions.html) also allows you to use "relative volume" synchronization if you want global volume control but don't want each player to have exactly the same volume.

Others seem very happy using smartphone apps like iPeng that let you easily choose between "local" and "global" control -- see screenshot #3 on http://appshopper.com/music/ipeng -- I don't own an iThing or Android device to comment on those myself, but they certainly look like the best approach to volume control when you have some players synced.