PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions on ordering/using SBT

sawdin
2010-03-09, 08:50
Newbie here. I was going to wait until I move later this summer before purchasing a SB Touch, but I think I might just pre-order now. I do have a couple of questions though:

1) When are the units supposed to ship? Some have already shipped, why the delay? From this board, it seems as if the delay is related to the need to update software. Is that correct?

2) Until I move, I would just have the SBT connected to my computer. I assume I make that connection via Cat5 cable. Is that correct?

3) I have a Perreaux HP amp (1 pair of RCA inputs and 1 pair RCA outputs) and a pair of powered Swan Speakers (RCA inputs). Given that set-up, I assume that I'd use the RCA analog outs from the SBT and connect to the Perreaux ins and then use the outs on the Perreaux to connect to my Swans. Does that sound right?

4) I'm just getting into digital audio via pc and will probably purchase the new J River MC14 (good review on Computer Audiophile and it sounds 'easier' to learn than Foobar). Are there any compatibility issues in trying to have the SBT access playlists/libraries that have been set-up in MC14?

Have I missed something, anything else I should ask about?

TIA for any suggestions/thoughts.

Dino
--------------
Senn HD 650, Perreaux Sihoutte SXH1 amp
Dell XPS 8100 Realtek HD Audio SC w/ Tru Studio PC software (Creative/THX), Swann D1080 Mk II speakers
Denon AVR 3806, Denon DVD 1920, Revel Concerta F12 speakers
Monster HTS 3500 Mk II and various cables.

toby10
2010-03-09, 10:27
1. Ship date is unknown. Yes, SBS 7.5 server software development is the holdup for Touch release.

2. Yes, Cat5 cable from computer to Touch (though I highly recommend a router for connecting all networked devices)
Routers can do DHCP and IP handling, it's what they are designed to do. :)
Computer based DHCP and IP handling can get a bit tricky.