PDA

View Full Version : Problems with squeezebox classic

Michael Herts
2010-02-28, 10:45
I've been running a squeezebox classic with no problems for a few years now. I thought I'd buy a squeezebox radio a few months ago and so upgraded the server software so that both systems can run. Since doing so, my squeezebox classic has become temperamental; it often freezes, has problems buffering music and then displays "can not connect to server". I've tried a few things and found the following.
1) Squeezebox radio carries on working when classic fails (I've tried them in the same position
2) Wireless signal strength is around 80%
3) It seems to work Ok when connected to the router via an etherneet cable
4) Network test is 100% up to 1000Kpbs and then tails off a little
5) Classic firmware version no is 130
6)Server version no is 7.4.2

Can anyone work out what might be wrong?

jjoonnaass
2010-02-28, 12:17
I'm having exactly the same problem after "upgrading" to 7.4.2. Before this I never had a drop out but now I can't seem to play more than a song or two without drop outs. All my music is apple lossless - could it be that the encoding/decoding has changed and now require more bandwidth?

redwerner
2010-03-30, 10:28
My Problem is the same...

.. have anyone a idee?

Greetings

Werner

snarlydwarf
2010-03-30, 10:55
Could be the server is getting load peaks at times (virus scan checking files on open?). The Radio has a much larger buffer and could "ride out" some of these.

Is there anything interesting in the server logs?

SilverRS8
2010-03-30, 13:01
Same here... Also Radio and Receiver keep on working fine. SB3 has drop outs.

matthijskoopmans
2010-03-30, 13:09
I have two squeezebox classics, and a boom.

One Squeezebox is branded Slim Devices (the white model), is having the regular problems. The newer Squeezebox, branded Logitech, is quite stable. The boom provides the most stable experience of them all.