PDA

View Full Version : What's the best file format to use

Chilts
2010-02-24, 14:24
I'm pretty new to this and would appreciate some advice. I've used WMP to rip CD's and chose the WAV format as it appeared to be the least loss. I'm using a Duet and have had a few problems with the library, biggest bug bear is that the first track of each album is not stored in the album but is in a seperate album under @Unkown@ albeit with the correct album art associated with it, another issue is that 'Best of' albums appear in the Various Artist section and not under the Artist themselves. It was suggested I needed help with tags and to use MP3Tag, this however only works on other file formats. I chose WAV because I thought it would give me the best audio experience....am I wrong, should I be using something else

Mnyb
2010-02-24, 14:33
FLAC. all lossless formats is same sound-wise but FLAC is native to the SB players and have excellent tag support.
FLAC is lossles .

dBpoweramp or EAC can rip directly to flac, WAV files can be converted to flac by many applications (FLAC frontend dBpoweramp foobar2000 and 100 other apps ) and properly tagged by mp3tag or tag&rename for example.

WMA lossles ? can not WMP rip to that ?, this requires that the server is a windows machine and sbs has to transcode but it would also work , how is seeking inside transcoded formats these days ?

However FLAC is more platform independent and if you later on choose to use a Touch as server or a low powered NAS you don't have worry about transcoding.

If you only want to use your squeezebox FLAC for lossles or mp3 for lossy is all you need.

It can be more complicated if other media players and other stuff gets involved.

Phil Leigh
2010-02-24, 14:35