PDA

View Full Version : IR pass-through to receiver?



crazyj
2010-02-18, 09:18
Can someone explain to me how the Touch will handle IR?

If I send IR to the Touch with my HT-receiver's remote, will it blast the signal if I use an emitter, or directly connect to my receiver's IR-in plug?

DaveWr
2010-02-18, 09:29
The answer is maybe with an emitter. It depends on what your HT receiver uses as IR codes. See this post, and related bugs, from the creator of the IRBlaster plugin.


http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=514451&postcount=4

By the way he now works for Logitech Squeezebox software team.

Dave

crazyj
2010-02-18, 13:05
I believe that since it receives NEC signals and transmits NEC signals, all should be well with my Yamaha receiver.

Anyone know if the headphone plug also receives signals sent from a source, as in controlling the Touch from another room? If not, I may have to add an emitter on the front of the Touch as well.

My plan is to have the Touch in one room, and the receiver in another. The Touch would catch an IR signal and pass it on to my receiver, either through an emitter, or directly into the receiver, if it can decipher the signal from the Touch correctly.

If I'm in the same room as the receiver, I may want to tune in to the music being played on the Touch, but I'm not sure if I can send it a signal from the Yamaha receiver to the Touch (change tracks, etc.). I may have to do iPeng and get an ipod Touch as a remote, too.

JohnSwenson
2010-02-19, 15:41
There is no way to use the headphone jack as an INPUT, its just an output. It MAY be possible to use the headphone IR out to connect direct to a hardwired remote input on another device. The remote input would have to take exactly the same signal as sent to an IR emitter, including the carrier. Many hard wired remote inputs are baseband, they don't have carriers, as is the Touch IR Blaster output will not work with those.

If the receiver has an IR blaster output you could possibly run a wire into another room with an emitter to run the Touch, but you would probably be better off with iPeng.

John S.

fcm4711
2010-02-20, 00:46
I believe that since it receives NEC signals and transmits NEC signals, all should be well with my Yamaha receiver.

Just to be clear, what you'd like to do is called IR repeating (pass through) and IR-Blaster plugin is using RAW format for that even if it's NEC format that is repeated.

IR-Blaster plugin is using RAW for repeating commands so it doesn't need to care about what it is repeating and the repeating function only needed to be implemented once and not for each of the formats.

Unfortunately Touch does not support RAW and therefore cannot repeat any IR commands.

Sorry about that
Felix

crazyj
2010-02-22, 10:07
So does the Touch have IR-out from the headphone jack at all?
Does it work if an IR-emitter is attached - a mouse emitter or IR-blaster device, to be placed in front of a component that I want to send IR to.
I understand that a straight wired connection may not work.
Is there any restriction on what IR commands it will actually blast?

Also, can anyone suggest a resource on IR hardware, and the command structures? There seems to be precious little information on how this all works. I would really like to understand a little better.

DaveWr
2010-02-22, 10:20
So does the Touch have IR-out from the headphone jack at all?
Does it work if an IR-emitter is attached - a mouse emitter or IR-blaster device, to be placed in front of a component that I want to send IR to.
I understand that a straight wired connection may not work.
Is there any restriction on what IR commands it will actually blast?

Also, can anyone suggest a resource on IR hardware, and the command structures? There seems to be precious little information on how this all works. I would really like to understand a little better.

1) The Touch does have IR out on the headphone socket.
2) It will output some IR codes if connected to an IR emitter
3) I believe straight wired should work, but Felix will probably chip in
4) It won't do ANY blasting in terms of repeating IR codes at all at this time. It needs the RAW capability within the firmware, which is not currently available.

It will only send codes as described in the previous reference I gave. These being simple codes for volume and On/Off, restricted as per previous post link.


Dave