PDA

View Full Version : FLAC vs Apple Losseless



iwannatouch
2010-02-13, 10:56
I'm in the process of archiving my music (both downloads and CDs) and I decided to convert everything that wasn't mp3 into m4a files. This includes all my wav, aiff, ape, and flac files. My goal is to reduce the amount of space needed to store my music on an external hard drive, and to "simplify" the data I want my Touch to process by having only two different file formats (mp3 and m4a).

Is there anything wrong with my logic? I read somewhere that m4a might be "easier" for hardware to process than flac. I believe the m4a format is native to the Touch, so I won't need additional software to convert files when I play them. I should mention that I'm all-Mac at home. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

snarlydwarf
2010-02-13, 11:40
I'm in the process of archiving my music (both downloads and CDs) and I decided to convert everything that wasn't mp3 into m4a files. This includes all my wav, aiff, ape, and flac files. My goal is to reduce the amount of space needed to store my music on an external hard drive, and to "simplify" the data I want my Touch to process by having only two different file formats (mp3 and m4a).

Is there anything wrong with my logic? I read somewhere that m4a might be "easier" for hardware to process than flac. I believe the m4a format is native to the Touch, so I won't need additional software to convert files when I play them. I should mention that I'm all-Mac at home. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

It is quite likely that FLAC uses less CPU/RAM than ALAC.

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Lossless_comparison#Comparison_Tab le

Themis
2010-02-13, 11:52
If you're all-Mac at home, then stick with ALAC at the moment. ;)

DaveWr
2010-02-13, 11:55
I'm in the process of archiving my music (both downloads and CDs) and I decided to convert everything that wasn't mp3 into m4a files. This includes all my wav, aiff, ape, and flac files. My goal is to reduce the amount of space needed to store my music on an external hard drive, and to "simplify" the data I want my Touch to process by having only two different file formats (mp3 and m4a).

Is there anything wrong with my logic? I read somewhere that m4a might be "easier" for hardware to process than flac. I believe the m4a format is native to the Touch, so I won't need additional software to convert files when I play them. I should mention that I'm all-Mac at home. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

I am all Mac, but frustrations with continuous iTunes updates led me to standardizing on FLAC, this providing maximum flexibility for future changes, which now I have a Linn DS has been very effective.

Dave

atrocity
2010-02-18, 18:24
I'm in the process of archiving my music (both downloads and CDs) and I decided to convert everything that wasn't mp3 into m4a files. This includes all my wav, aiff, ape, and flac files. My goal is to reduce the amount of space needed to store my music

In my testing a year or so back, stereo Apple Lossless files were slightly larger than their FLAC level 8 counterparts and mono files were a *lot* larger.

iwannatouch
2010-02-18, 19:26
In my testing a year or so back, stereo Apple Lossless files were slightly larger than their FLAC level 8 counterparts and mono files were a *lot* larger.
Funny, when I compared the two several weeks ago I thought the M4a file was slightly smaller, but damn, you're right! It's not much of a difference, but it sure doesn't make sense for me to continue making FLAC -> M4a conversions. Thanks atrocity.

metalbob
2010-02-18, 20:49
I'm running all Mac these days, but using an older PC for ripping purposes. I'm sticking with ALAC as I find doing any kind of metadata editing on the Mac is a nightmare. Easier to do it all in iTunes.

There was some speculation that the Touch would not play ALAC natively and would convert it on the fly. I saw the Touch box in person at CES and ALAC was listed as a native format. Doesn't mean that's final, but seems promising anyway.

Mnyb
2010-02-18, 23:21
Yes ALAC is transcoded to FLAC on the fly by the server (maybe Touch gets native playback).
So the server must be able to do it (tiny NAS no go :( ).

FLAC is native to most older and current squeezeboxes.
And it's the most common lossless format in sbs/squeezebox thus being less likely to be buggy.

But If you are living the mac life ALAC is more practical, dont confuse with m4a aka AAC wich is not lossles.

copperstate
2010-02-20, 16:03
As far as I know the newer squeezeplay-based devices all play apple-lossless natively (my Radio certainly does - and I am quite sure the Receiver / SB3 etc do not).

pski
2010-02-26, 20:14
As far as I know the newer squeezeplay-based devices all play apple-lossless natively (my Radio certainly does - and I am quite sure the Receiver / SB3 etc do not).

Poop on the spec page indicates the receiver does play ALC natively.. Boom takes transcoding.

P

pski
2010-02-26, 20:20
Yes ALAC is transcoded to FLAC on the fly by the server (maybe Touch gets native playback).
So the server must be able to do it (tiny NAS no go :( ).

FLAC is native to most older and current squeezeboxes.
And it's the most common lossless format in sbs/squeezebox thus being less likely to be buggy.

But If you are living the mac life ALAC is more practical, dont confuse with m4a aka AAC wich is not lossles.

I don't know about iTunes on Mac but the winders version does produce apple lossless as .m4a files.

P

Mnyb
2010-02-26, 22:10
I don't know about iTunes on Mac but the winders version does produce apple lossless as .m4a files.

P

Yea i figured that confusion ? AAC can also be m4a as well as alac ? or what ? It is m4a on Ubuntu too and AAC is m4a too .
Must be some kind of container format .
You must check the file properties to see what is what ?

andynormancx
2010-02-27, 02:11
Poop on the spec page indicates the receiver does play ALC natively.. Boom takes transcoding.

I'm 99% sure that isn't correct. The Receiver cannot play ALAC natively, only the Radio and Touch can do that.

copperstate
2010-02-27, 03:45
I'm 99% sure that isn't correct. The Receiver cannot play ALAC natively, only the Radio and Touch can do that.

Yup, both receiver and SB3 start a "faad" process on MacOS X for transcoding but the radio does not.

moley6knipe
2010-02-27, 04:02
Yea i figured that confusion ? AAC can also be m4a as well as alac ? or what ? It is m4a on Ubuntu too and AAC is m4a too .
Must be some kind of container format .
You must check the file properties to see what is what ?

Apple Lossless and AAC files both get "wrapped up" in a, I think, MPEG-4 container which ends .m4a.

I read that somewhere, no idea what it means though ;-)

pski
2010-02-27, 11:58
Apple Lossless and AAC files both get "wrapped up" in a, I think, MPEG-4 container which ends .m4a.

I read that somewhere, no idea what it means though ;-)

The "format" in the tracks database is "alc" so I guess we could assume "aac" for the format we don't care for..

P