PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver on a Mac



Christopher May
2004-08-09, 15:49
To second a solution:

I have recently consolidated all my mp3's onto one external HD. I have
then set my server (g4 766) iTunes to use that for the Library. iTunes
did a good job of reading all the tags and organizing the songs for me.
I then ripped another 150 CDs, and they all went into my organized music
library. I then set iTunes to share my library, so I can see all my
music from any computer with iTunes running, and I can access all the
music via a SlimP3. I haven't seen any network issues while running
several streams, but I'm not running a 3-d Studio Max rendering farm or
any network intensive apps.



Chris

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Paul M
Sent: Monday, August 09, 2004 3:45 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Slimserver on a Mac


For the Mac heads among us - from a novice Mac head. I currently have my
slimserver on my mac desktop which is on 24/7 (G5 1.6) I have a G4/500
that I have just resurrected and would like to use it as a server which
I plan to keep somewhere hidden and out of site. I currently use itunes
for my playlists and music library on my G5.I would like to put the
slimserver on my G4 with a 200GB HD and just use that as my server.
Would I have to use itunes on the G4 and do my playlists etc. from there
or is there a way to set up my playlists from my G5 in my office and
have the slimserver recognize it. I remember somewhere someone had
mentioned an alias or something. Also if I transfer my library to the G4
can I keep my existing playlist or would I have to redo them? I'm sure
someone already has something similarly setup OR I'm open to
suggestions!!

Thanks again

Paul
--

Jonathan Greene
2004-08-09, 16:15
Thats basically my setup. I share the library and either stream through
iTunes itself(to a Powerbook), use the Slimp3 on my stereo, or even as
I've been doing today, use Softaqueeze on the work PC laptop I recently
acquired.

Christopher May wrote:

> To second a solution:
>
> I have recently consolidated all my mp3's onto one external HD. I have
> then set my server (g4 766) iTunes to use that for the Library. iTunes
> did a good job of reading all the tags and organizing the songs for me.
> I then ripped another 150 CDs, and they all went into my organized music
> library. I then set iTunes to share my library, so I can see all my
> music from any computer with iTunes running, and I can access all the
> music via a SlimP3. I haven't seen any network issues while running
> several streams, but I'm not running a 3-d Studio Max rendering farm or
> any network intensive apps.
>
>
>
> Chris
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Paul M
> Sent: Monday, August 09, 2004 3:45 PM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Slimserver on a Mac
>
>
> For the Mac heads among us - from a novice Mac head. I currently have my
> slimserver on my mac desktop which is on 24/7 (G5 1.6) I have a G4/500
> that I have just resurrected and would like to use it as a server which
> I plan to keep somewhere hidden and out of site. I currently use itunes
> for my playlists and music library on my G5.I would like to put the
> slimserver on my G4 with a 200GB HD and just use that as my server.
> Would I have to use itunes on the G4 and do my playlists etc. from there
> or is there a way to set up my playlists from my G5 in my office and
> have the slimserver recognize it. I remember somewhere someone had
> mentioned an alias or something. Also if I transfer my library to the G4
> can I keep my existing playlist or would I have to redo them? I'm sure
> someone already has something similarly setup OR I'm open to
> suggestions!!
>
> Thanks again
>
> Paul