PDA

View Full Version : server without a router



Phillip Kerman
2004-08-09, 11:39
I want to take my laptop and squeezebox out to another location and plug
into their stereo.

I can run the server on my laptop, but I don't think the squeezebox will
connect (via the wire plugged into the NIC).

Is there a simple solution to set this up?

Thanks,
Phillip

Ken Anderson
2004-08-09, 11:42
If you're talking about connecting the squeezebox directly to your
laptop, you should use a crossover cable (ethernet cable with Tx and Rx
swapped).

On Aug 9, 2004, at 2:39 PM, Phillip Kerman wrote:

> I want to take my laptop and squeezebox out to another location and
> plug
> into their stereo.
>
> I can run the server on my laptop, but I don't think the squeezebox
> will
> connect (via the wire plugged into the NIC).
>
> Is there a simple solution to set this up?
>
> Thanks,
> Phillip
>
>

Sean McGrath
2004-08-09, 15:22
(If you have a *book) recent apple laptops don't need crossover cables,
they figure it out.

--
Sean
sean (AT) manybits (DOT) net