PDA

View Full Version : IR blaster and Touch



linvale
2010-02-05, 13:00
Does anyone know if the IR blaster plugin will work with a touch? This can nicely control volume and on off for equipment and I have been working a plugin that works with it to control multiple functions from my SB3 once the codes are learned, before working on making this usable and adding a LUA interface, expanding it to have macros etc. I'd like to know if this is worthwhile or will the "geek port" be lost in the future.

Thanks

JohnSwenson
2010-02-05, 17:54
The Touch does have IR blaster hardware. But its accessed differently than the SB3 so the existing IR blaster plugin will not work. Its going to take a new piece of software written for the Touch. To date this has not been written. At one point it was going to be part of the released software with the Touch, but with the current priorities I don't think its going to be ready at release.

My guess is that once it gets released there will be enough interest that somebody will write it fairly quickly. It will happen, but you might have to wait little while for it.

John S.

linvale
2010-02-05, 20:45
Thanks for the prompt reply. I guess we will need to wait, but I gained a fairly good insight into Felix's really excellent work on the original plugin - and have gotten to rely on it - such that all my other remotes are packed away. I might just continue with the prototype and see if others find it useful and then see what needs to be done for the touch.

fcm4711
2010-02-06, 01:14
Hi there

You'll be interested in this bug then I guess: https://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997

Please read my comment #7 about some limitations regarding formats and capabilities IR Blaster will have on SB Touch compared to what a SB Classic or Transporter can do.

So if you need any of the features that SB Touch IR-Blaster will not support I suggest you hold on to your trusty SB Classic or Transporter.

IR-Blaster is currently on the list of features for 7.5 (SB Touch release) but as of today I cannot say if it will be ready for the first release.

Felix

DaveWr
2010-02-06, 02:48
Hi Felix,

Will the RAW and RC5 receiving ever get fixed, or is it inherently impossible?

Bit of a shame as a lot of European HiFi is RC5 codes.

Dave

JohnSwenson
2010-02-07, 17:22
Hi Felix,
are the limitations due to an existing linux driver? If so is the source for this driver available? I'm fairly good at linux drivers and might be able to take a stab at improving it, as long as I have a spec for what is desired.

John S.

fcm4711
2010-02-08, 03:38
Hi there

The IR-Blaster solution I am referring to is using a similar mechanism / server plugin as we have for SB Classic. I.e. Squeezebox Server is sending IR commands via SlimProto to SB Touch where the commands are sent out via IR emitter attached to the headphone out. This solution cannot easily be modified because IR reception and IR blasting are controlled by a pre-programmed microcontroller in SB Touch (source closed).

But since SB Touch is running Linux and has an USB port I could imagine a solution using LIRC (www.lirc.org) and an USB IR dongle (i.e. www.iguanaworks.net).

Felix

DaveWr
2010-02-08, 04:26
Sorry to be a little dense, does that pre-programmed controller mean Logitech pre-programmed, or external party.

Again, is the Touch ever going to support IR Blaster functionality for RC5 coded devices or not?

Dave

fcm4711
2010-02-08, 05:35
Hi Dave

No problem. The microcontroller is Logitech pre-programmed and can be updated in the field in case we need to fix bugs.

Are you asking about _receiving_ RC5? I don't think that will be implemented any time soon as it is not needed for basic IR blasting. Even without this you can still send RC5 coded commands to RC5 devices.

Felix

DaveWr
2010-02-08, 05:44
I was looking at the case for volume control of an RC5 command amplifier, being transcoded from standard SB remotes or iPeng

Dave

linvale
2010-02-08, 11:17
Thanks Felix. The information is very helpfuil and of course, disappointing. The IR learning and ability to repeat RAW codes is so useful and your plug in works so well - maybe I should be shopping for Classics, they may well become even more desirable on this basis alone.

crazyj
2010-02-10, 12:44
ok, the list of things that I thought the touch could handle is getting shorter and shorter. I think my pre-order is getting cancelled in favour of an SB3 and a server, if I can find an SB3 for cheap enough.

EDIT: Maybe I'm jumping the gun here. Can someone explain to me what the Touch will do out of the box with IR? If I'm pointing my AV-receiver's remote at the Touch, will it pass through the signal as-received, to my AV-receiver, if I have either a blaster-emitter or a direct connection to the receiver? (yamaha nec-IR chip I believe)

luny
2010-04-28, 01:28
Well, I already have my Touch, but I'm veryy much interested in the IR Blaster plugin for the Touch.
Can anybody tell me about the status??

fcm4711
2010-04-28, 02:04
Hi there

At the moment (as of 7.5.0) IR Blaster does not work on SB Touch.

IR Blaster plugin needs to be adapted to work with SB Touch. Please see here: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997

and the firmware running on SB Touch needs to be modified too, see here: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=15826

Best Regards
Felix

bernt
2010-04-28, 02:56
Voted for the bugs. IR-blaster on Touch is a must (for me).

mctigercom
2010-06-29, 08:32
I have searched and not found the answer yet. Is the SB Radio going to be able to use IR Blaster in the future? I've seen the notes about the RAW codes being worked on for the Touch, but will those enhancements be applied to the Radio too?

aubuti
2010-06-29, 08:50
Don't consider me an authoritative source on this, but my reading of the comments for bug 12997 (http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997) is that the SB Radio does not have the hardware required for IR blasting. Specifically, the first two comments in the bug (note that "Baby" is the nickname for Radio (as in Baby Boom), and that Caleb was one of the lead developers for the Radio).



Felix: Caleb: I know hardware supports IR Blasting on Fab4. How about Baby?

Caleb: Nope. Baby-no-blasty.


Not having the hardware makes sense to me, considering that unlike the Touch, the Radio is seldom connected to an amp or other IR-capable device that would need the IR-Blaster functionality.

mctigercom
2010-06-29, 09:20
Yeah, I can see your point. I currently use an SB3 to IR Blast to a DVD and Tivo hidden in a cabinet. I also use the IR Blaster to run an alarm sequence in the morning. We wake up to Pandora and then after 10 min, the SB3 shuts down and turns on the TV that's already tuned to CNN. The alarms are stored in a db and fired off using perl scripts that run the commands from the CLI. Very neat, tidy and reliable for the couple of years that we've been doing it.

Anyhow, no worries. I'll keep using the SB3 for now and use the Radio around the house.

luny
2010-06-29, 10:17
any progress on the developments to enable IR Blaster for the Touch?

In fact, I'm waiting for this to move my SB3 to another room.
I now have a synched setup where the SB3 and Touch are standing next to eachother, IR Blaster being the only reason for the SB3 to be there to control my amp.

ericj
2011-02-10, 20:28
I finally pulled the trigger on a SB touch, but much to my chagrin, found out that it does not support RAW codes for IRBlaster. I assume that this is still the case, and that it will remain so....
Sadly, the Touch will go back.
Thanks.

aubuti
2011-02-11, 06:06
It will remain so. IR blasting RAW format on the Touch is clearly labeled not possible (http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997) (see Felix's comment #7).

mbg
2011-02-11, 10:26
Just wondering -- does IR Blaster work in any capacity at all on the Touch, even if with reduced functionality?

aubuti
2011-02-11, 10:32
At present I don't think so, but they're working on it (see http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997).

JohnSwenson
2011-02-11, 12:27
It will remain so. IR blasting RAW format on the Touch is clearly labeled not possible (http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997) (see Felix's comment #7).

I don't think this is actually true. The low level driver for the IR blaster interface (both transmit and receive) has very low level control over whats happening, it can easily be used for RAW or anything else. There is a higher level package on top of the low level driver that implements the higher level codes. Currently the IR commands in slimproto are routed to the higher level interface which means that RAW doesn't work out of the box with the existing IR infrastructure. That doesn't mean its impossible. If someone wants to write some applications that use the low level interface they can.

So if you want to use RAW you either have to talk to the low level interface or get the higher level interface rewritten to include RAW.

John S.

fcm4711
2011-12-22, 13:50
Hi guys

I finally found time to update the IR Blaster plugin to support SB Touch (NEC and RC5).

If you already have the IR Blaster plugin installed LMS should alert you about the update to version 6.2. In case it's not happening automatically you might need to first uninstall the old version (be sure to save your *.conf files first), then add the following plugin repository:

http://www.gwendesign.com/sc/repo/repo.xml

and then enable the new version of IR Blaster.

Note: Please be aware that SB Touch cannot support RAW IR format as it is not sending RAW IR codes to the server like SB2/3 and TR do. The implication as stated before is that the following functionality isn't available on SB Touch:

- IR learning
- IR repeating
- Use of previously learned IR commands (as they are stored in RAW format too)

Felix

aubuti
2011-12-22, 14:48
I finally found time to update the IR Blaster plugin to support SB Touch (NEC and RC5).
Wow Felix, that's great. I can't wait to check it out. Thanks!

gonk
2011-12-26, 10:34
I've been looking forward to this! Great!

Will this also use the two internal IR-diodes that are placed on the Touch front panel, facing forward?

JohnSwenson
2011-12-26, 17:11
I've been looking forward to this! Great!

Will this also use the two internal IR-diodes that are placed on the Touch front panel, facing forward?

Those are receivers not transmitters. The transmitter works the same way as other SB products, you have to plug in the IR blaster hardware into the headphone jack.

John S.

gonk
2011-12-28, 00:27
Well, I have disassembled my Touch to make some modifications. On the front panel there are 4 optical devices, except for the display of course:

- 1 Ambient light sensor
- 1 IR Reciever
- 2 IR LED transmitters

I was suprised to find the two LED:s there. I have made a search and found a reference somewhere that verified the LEDs, but there were no software available to drive these. I expect that it cannot be so difficult to modify the code in the plugin to send out the IR codes on these as well as on the headphone output...

I have pictures that show the diodes, but I fail to upload them by some reason.

JohnSwenson
2011-12-28, 12:46
Well, I have disassembled my Touch to make some modifications. On the front panel there are 4 optical devices, except for the display of course:

- 1 Ambient light sensor
- 1 IR Reciever
- 2 IR LED transmitters

I was suprised to find the two LED:s there. I have made a search and found a reference somewhere that verified the LEDs, but there were no software available to drive these. I expect that it cannot be so difficult to modify the code in the plugin to send out the IR codes on these as well as on the headphone output...

I have pictures that show the diodes, but I fail to upload them by some reason.

Aha, yes those are part of the proximity sensors, they are both a transmitter and receiver designed to detect when a hand got near the screen so the software could show buttons and such when something approached. It never worked very well so the programmers turned that feature off a long time ago.

In order to use these as an IR blaster would take some significant work in the low level drivers and higher level interfaces on the Touch. Its not something that could be done in the pluggin. The pluggin can only work with what the firmware in the Touch allows to be accessable over the server to player interface. I can guarantee those devices are NOT in that list.

John S.

Soulkeeper
2012-01-06, 05:12
Time for me to get acquainted with IR Blaster. Will a "Microsoft MCE IR Emitter Wire (https://www.google.com/search?q=Microsoft+MCE+IR+Emitter+Wire)" work with the Touch?

Dibou
2012-01-14, 12:30
From Bugzilla – http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997

> On lirc.org you also can find how to use a Linux or Windows machine (and some
> simple hardware) to record proper .conf file in NEC or RC5 format.

I tried to proceed as proposed. But unfortunately my remote control was not referenced in LIRC database. So I installed WinLIRC in order to record its codes.

I had to build an IR receiver (I welt components by myself!). I even had to find a serial DB9 bracket, because it was not provided with my motherboard. I did all that and it ran! I did it! I managed to record my RC codes with the IRRecord tool provided in the WinLIRC package.

Then I got a .conf file that I tried with my old SB3 (replacing the old RAW one I recorded a long time ago with the IRBlast learning tool) and it ran.

Then I tried it on my SBTouch and... and... it does not run... not at all. Arghhh... So much work for such a poor result!

There might be a link with the mandatory RC5 / NEC format. This line is the .conf file generated by the LIRC IRRecord tool:
"flags SPACE_ENC|CONST_LENGTH"

I found templates here http://lirc.sourceforge.net/remotes/generic/

For RC5 conf files, it seems that it should be "flags RC5|CONST_LENGTH". But in NEC conf files, the line is the same as mine.

The IR emitter is the one I used with my SB3, it was running perfectly (an IR emitting LED + a resistance / a 3.5 jack at the other end)


Any idea?

shaboyi
2012-01-29, 18:28
Wow Felix, that's great. I can't wait to check it out. Thanks!

As anyone been able to get the updated IRBlaster plugin to work with the Touch? Before I try to create a custom .conf file I would love to hear of others experience with the plugin.

i also have a very basic question - I installed the blaster on LMS 7.7 on Vortexobx 2.0 and I am not able to get the IRBlaster setting page to see any conf file except the one it comes with (slim) and ones i creae with the IR Learner. If i copy one to the IRBlaster directory (for example, one from LIRC) I can not get the IRBlaster plugin settings page to recognize it - it just does now show.

I have set all permissions/ownership/groups the same as the existing conf files. I have even tried things such as copying slim.conf to slim1.conf and even then slim1.conf does not show up - (of course i reload) and have restarted LMS, etc. etc. I know I am in the right directory
(/var/lib/squeezeboxserver/cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/IRBlaster) because if I delete slim.conf it disappears from the settings page.

it's probably something simple, but surely i'm missing it!

thanks

BenH73
2012-03-27, 04:36
Just wanted to say what an awesome plugin this is. I use an old Panasonic mini system and was able to easily (after finding a nice tutorial) use irrecord on my linux box with with ms mce receiver to record a lirc conf file with the keys I needed.

I have always enjoyed using various android and webos remotes to control the touch, but found having to turn the stereo on/off tedious. Not anymore.

Ben

trott3r
2012-03-27, 13:25
Hello,

At 12:36 27/03/2012, BenH73 wrote:

>Just wanted to say what an awesome plugin this is. I use an old
>Panasonic mini system and was able to easily (after finding a nice
>tutorial) use irrecord on my linux box with with ms mce receiver to
>record a lirc conf file with the keys I needed.
>
>I have always enjoyed using various android and webos remotes to
>control the touch, but found having to turn the stereo on/off tedious.
>Not anymore.

What does the Panasonic remote do that the WebOS squeeze control app
doesn't in relation to power off? (angrygoats)

I have it installed on a old palm pre1 and find it quite easy to use.

Martin N

Running MorphOS v2.6 (Nov 2010) on Mac Mini, Moderator of
MiniDisc,amithlonopen,bwfc Yahoogroups

BenH73
2012-03-27, 18:31
Hello,

What does the Panasonic remote do that the WebOS squeeze control app
doesn't in relation to power off? (angrygoats)

I have it installed on a old palm pre1 and find it quite easy to use.

Martin N

Running MorphOS v2.6 (Nov 2010) on Mac Mini, Moderator of
MiniDisc,amithlonopen,bwfc Yahoogroups

The squeeze control app turns the touch off perfectly, but it can't turn off my stereo, or change it from the CD input to the Digital 1 input.

Ben

trott3r
2012-03-27, 18:56
Lo,

At 02:31 28/03/2012, you wrote:

>trott3r;697783 Wrote:
> > Hello,
> >
> > What does the Panasonic remote do that the WebOS squeeze control app
> > doesn't in relation to power off? (angrygoats)
> >
> > I have it installed on a old palm pre1 and find it quite easy to use.
> >
> > Martin N
> >
> > Running MorphOS v2.6 (Nov 2010) on Mac Mini, Moderator of
> > MiniDisc,amithlonopen,bwfc Yahoogroups
>
>The squeeze control app turns the touch off perfectly, but it can't
>turn off my stereo, or change it from the CD input to the Digital 1
>input.


Ah right i see, got ya.

Martin N

Running MorphOS v2.6 (Nov 2010) on Mac Mini, Moderator of
MiniDisc,amithlonopen,bwfc Yahoogroups

giantpopples
2012-08-10, 11:00
From Bugzilla http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=12997

> On lirc.org you also can find how to use a Linux or Windows machine (and some
> simple hardware) to record proper .conf file in NEC or RC5 format.

I tried to proceed as proposed. But unfortunately my remote control was not referenced in LIRC database. So I installed WinLIRC in order to record its codes.

I had to build an IR receiver (I welt components by myself!). I even had to find a serial DB9 bracket, because it was not provided with my motherboard. I did all that and it ran! I did it! I managed to record my RC codes with the IRRecord tool provided in the WinLIRC package.

Then I got a .conf file that I tried with my old SB3 (replacing the old RAW one I recorded a long time ago with the IRBlast learning tool) and it ran.

Then I tried it on my SBTouch and... and... it does not run... not at all. Arghhh... So much work for such a poor result!

There might be a link with the mandatory RC5 / NEC format. This line is the .conf file generated by the LIRC IRRecord tool:
"flags SPACE_ENC|CONST_LENGTH"

I found templates here http://lirc.sourceforge.net/remotes/generic/

For RC5 conf files, it seems that it should be "flags RC5|CONST_LENGTH". But in NEC conf files, the line is the same as mine.

The IR emitter is the one I used with my SB3, it was running perfectly (an IR emitting LED + a resistance / a 3.5 jack at the other end)


Any idea?

Hello !
I think I have the same issue as Dibou, I used to use the IR Blaster plugin with a Squeezebox Touch and a Denon receiver (RC5) and it worked really well.
I have changed my receiver to a Emotiva UMC-1, since the LIRC site didn't have the conf, I generate one from WinLIRC, I tested it with the SqueezeIR plugin for the Controller and it works fine.

It seems to be using the NEC protocol but not in the same way as the template available on lirc site, here how it begins:

name UMC-1
bits 16
flags SPACE_ENC
eps 30
aeps 100

header 9015 4403
one 596 1643
zero 596 519
ptrail 576
repeat 8967 2212
pre_data_bits 16
pre_data 0x4FA
gap 41182
repeat_gap 600445
toggle_bit_mask 0x0

It is recognized by the plugin, but it doesn't seem to blast anything, is there an error in the conf file, or this type of remote does not use NEC protocol and thus is incompatibe with the plugin ?

Thank you for your help !

Regards

Simon_rb
2012-08-13, 12:27
Hi All,

im thinking of buying a touch however the selling point for me would be if i can get the blaster working. I have two sony amps that need to be turned on and then changed to the correct input. (they use different codes so no conflict there). would i have to find both remote codes and combine them into one file? then using the web interface i'd be able setup the touch to turn on both amps and put them in the correct inputs when it comes out of standby?

Have i got this correct?

Thank you for reading and i look forward to your reply.

Simon

Simon_rb
2012-10-13, 05:28
Hi all,

I notice my previous post hasn't been answered so maybe this plugin isn't supported anymore.

I decided to buy a touch and as of yet I haven't managed to get the plugin to work however for me it would be more useful working with TinySC. So my question is, is it possible to install this plugin on TinySC so my server doesn't have to be on when i turn touch on it will turn my amps on.

Cheers

garym
2012-10-13, 05:40
Hi all,

I notice my previous post hasn't been answered so maybe this plugin isn't supported anymore.

I decided to buy a touch and as of yet I haven't managed to get the plugin to work however for me it would be more useful working with TinySC. So my question is, is it possible to install this plugin on TinySC so my server doesn't have to be on when i turn touch on it will turn my amps on.

Cheers

generally one can't install plugins on TinySC. I have seen posts where folks talk about ssh'ing in to the TOUCH to do some sort of hacking to add *some* plugins.

Simon_rb
2012-10-14, 04:47
generally one can't install plugins on TinySC. I have seen posts where folks talk about ssh'ing in to the TOUCH to do some sort of hacking to add *some* plugins.

I did read that, I think it is to do with if the plugin calls the webUI API or not. If it doesn't need it then it "should work". I guess I should get it working on my LMS first.

Thank you for your reply :-)

Simon_rb
2012-10-15, 07:17
Hi,

Still struggling to get this to work even on LMS. I installed the plugin and downloaded the required IR conf files from LIRC and renamed them to .conf. I opened the settings page and pointed it to the files. I select a command and when I hit test the IR emitter flashed red however my amp doesn't turn on. I have tried various different conf files for different equipment and none work. I have also set the fixed volume to 100% and still doesn't work.

Is there a log it can post here? Could I make my own conf file using LIRC as saw the touch doesn't support RAW however should using LIRC be ok?

Thank you in advance.