PDA

View Full Version : WMA transcoding not working on TS-239



rollier
2010-02-04, 02:52
Squeezeplay used to work for all radio streams, now WMA streams don't work. I understand I need the SBS to transcode the streams. I've recently upgraded my NAS to QNAP TS-239 running SSOTS ver 4.2 (QPKG) and 7.4.1-28947 SBS.

What do I need to do to make WAV transcoding work?

0010: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0009: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0008: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0007: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0006: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0005: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0004: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.
0003: [10-02-04 09:30:29.1207] Slim::Player::Song::open (404) Error: Couldn't create command line for wma playback for [mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/bbc_ami/radio1/radio1_bb_live_ep1_ ***truncated
0002: [10-02-04 09:30:29.1082] Slim::Player::Song::open (404) Error: Couldn't create command line for wma playback for [mms://wmlive-acl.bbc.co.uk/wms/bbc_ami/radio1/radio1_bb_live_eq1 ***truncated
0001: Error: Unable to read 8192 bytes from file.

Siduhe
2010-02-04, 02:58
See this thread - suggested fix part way through - does that sound like your issue?:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=70967&highlight=wma

bpa
2010-02-04, 03:09
Check what version of Audio::Scan you have in your SSOTS - look in modules.conf file

Versions between 0.45 and 0.48 inclusive seems to have a problem with WMA files/streams on QNAP.

rollier
2010-02-04, 03:55
Check what version of Audio::Scan you have in your SSOTS - look in modules.conf file

Versions between 0.45 and 0.48 inclusive seems to have a problem with WMA files/streams on QNAP.

Thanks - please forgive my ignorance - can you give me an idea of the file path for modules.conf?

rollier
2010-02-04, 03:56
See this thread - suggested fix part way through - does that sound like your issue?:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=70967&highlight=wma

Thanks, hard to tell as I don't have any WMA files on the server - it's the transcoding of live WMA streams I'm having an issue with - which sounds like a different problem.

bpa
2010-02-04, 03:58
Thanks - please forgive my ignorance - can you give me an idea of the file path for modules.conf?

I don't know where they are on a QNAP system - it is probably the same main directory for the SBS server.

rollier
2010-02-05, 07:36
Audio:Scan is version 0.44. I'm thinking the problem is related to missing mplayer, but am not sure how to install this....

bpa
2010-02-05, 07:48
I suggest asking the question on a SSOTS/SSODS specific thread such as http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=69986

The version of mplayer will depend on the model and you may need a special build which was the case for the older ARM based systems.

simonjedrake
2010-02-12, 06:48
Audio:Scan is version 0.44. I'm thinking the problem is related to missing mplayer, but am not sure how to install this....
rollier
I have the same Qnap as you & I have no issues with mplayer since I upgraded to the SC 7.4.2 which is now very stable. I also upgraded to SSOTS 4.4 which helps - available as a link from the Qnap Forum site - 1st posting on top message in the SSOTS thread.
See my below signature for versions etc.
Works a treat & so damm fast as well.
My tip for any Qnap firmware/software upgrade is to do them ONE by ONE with a reboot between every step. That way you should never have any issues.
Simon

mr_hyde
2010-02-15, 13:37
Hi,

i have also no 'real' problems with transcoding of wma streams.

I was able to compile mplayer on the QNAP439 and there is no need to install an older version from ssots to enable mplayer.

I use the playwma plugin from bpa

@bpa
The only problem i have, is that when i stop the stream, the mplayer thread is not killed. If my memory serves me correctly, this behavior was also earlier with one of your plugins to play wma via mplayer and you solved it somehow.

If someone is interested in the binary for the x86 QNAP NAS, send me a PM with your mail. The binary has to be copied to /opt/ssods4/bin