PDA

View Full Version : Powered speakers for Touch

Justme
2010-01-30, 01:29
Thinking about the Touch as my third SB in the house and to use as a server for the others as well.

It would be in a room which doesn't have a hifi, so I would need a set of powered speakers.

I've never done this before but do powered speakers use a significant amount of power when not in use. Or do any models come out of standby when the Touch is started? If there is one thing I hate, is having to switch on multiple devices to do one thing. So, I don't want to have to keep switching the speakers on and off, but I don't want a constant power drain from the speakers when not in use.

Danione
2010-01-30, 04:24
Thinking about the Touch as my third SB in the house and to use as a server for the others as well.

It would be in a room which doesn't have a hifi, so I would need a set of powered speakers.

I've never done this before but do powered speakers use a significant amount of power when not in use. Or do any models come out of standby when the Touch is started?
Some speakers run in real standby (with just, say, the IR-receiver listening), others you have to shut down either via remote or a button.
An amplifier, no matter if it's a stand-alone or one in powered speakers use quite a lot of power, unless it's in proper standby or shut down entirely.

If there is one thing I hate, is having to switch on multiple devices to do one thing. So, I don't want to have to keep switching the speakers on and off, but I don't want a constant power drain from the speakers when not in use.
I don't want to sound like an Avi-fanboy, but their speakers (IR-controlled) can be controlled by the Duet Controller's IRthingy, so I'd think it was controllable with the ordinary IR-remote, although they do come with their own remote.