PDA

View Full Version : To Keep the Old Display, or Not to Keep the OldDisplay.That is the Question.



fcm4711
2004-08-06, 13:50
Hi there

That was me. But it was with the old 2-line display
not the new graphics one.

Felix

--- dean <dean (AT) packetradio (DOT) co.uk> wrote:

> Someone did it and found they had to add a capacitor
> here's the link
>
>
>
http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/development.htm#date_time
>
>
> Havent tried it don't know if it would work on the
> new display
> Regards
>
> Dean
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On
> Behalf Of Sean Adams
> Sent: 06 August 2004 18:03
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] To Keep the Old Display, or Not
> to Keep the Old
> Display.That is the Question.
>
>
> Probably not. I have extended the display just a
> couple inches on my
> development hardware, but if you try to go much
> further than that, the
> signal will degrade (it is a high data rate).
>
> Maybe you could do it by using a shielded cable or
> by using a cable
> with interleaved ground lines, like ultra-ATA hard
> disk cables. But you
> have to do a lot of hacking to get the connectors on
> there I think.
>
> You don't see a lot of shielded ribbon cable these
> days, but if you go
> to an electronics surplus store you might find
> something already made
> with 14-pin connectors on it. Remember the early PCs
> (eg Apple ][) used
> to use cables like this to go to the external disk
> drives... that's
> what you'd probably need.
>
> On Aug 6, 2004, at 5:39 AM, Robert Zimmerman wrote:
>
> > I am going to order one as well. Question - I
> have all my equipment
> > behind cabinets using a Niles Intellicontrol
> remote system. Is it
> > possible, as long as I have to open the thing up
> to change the
> > display, to lengthen the cable and install the
> display outside the SB
> > into the cabinet itself to be visible from the
> room without opening
> > the equipment cabinet? If so, any specifics on
> the cable to use?
> >
> > Thanks and keep up the good work, the product is
> amazing!!!
> >
> >
> >> I just ordered the new display. It was kind of
> on a
> >> whim so I sure hope it's worth it.
> >>
> >> As you know the "August special," which I hope is
> >> better than the September or October specials, ;)
> is
> >> that you can send the old display back in for
> $20.
> >>
> >> I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display
> is
> >> for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new
> display
> >> goes out I can't put the old one back in because
> the
> >> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors
> (is
> >> this really necessary?). However, should the
> display
> >> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this
> one
> >> to replace it.
> >>
> >> Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing
> to say
> >> what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
> >> display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more
> than
> >> $20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
> >> future.
> >>
> >> Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
> >> display?
> >>
> >> Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts
> were
> >> on sending the thing back for the rebate.
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> __________________________________
> >> Do you Yahoo!?
> >> Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other
> providers!
> >> http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
> >>