PDA

View Full Version : Clip the Pins? was --> To Keep the Old Display, or Not toKeep the Old Display. Thatis the Question.



Christopher Jacob
2004-08-06, 07:43
So, I have seen this question asked twice now and I don't think anyone has
answered it...

Is it necessary to clip the two leads on the board, or can they just be left
"as is"?

Thanks guys!

~chris

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Todd Fields
Sent: Friday, August 06, 2004 1:06 AM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] To Keep the Old Display, or Not to Keep the Old Display.
Thatis the Question.

I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
whim so I sure hope it's worth it.

As you know the "August special," which I hope is
better than the September or October specials, ;) is
that you can send the old display back in for $20.

I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
this really necessary?). However, should the display
go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
to replace it.

Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
$20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
future.

Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
display?

Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
on sending the thing back for the rebate.



__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail

Marty
2004-08-06, 07:56
I'm not sure if this has been covered before. But, when I'm playing a
playlist that consists of only shoutcast streams, and I changed the
stream/track/station, it connects and streams, but my receiver doesn't pick
up the digital signal. I get the sound back when I switch to another input
on the stereo and then go back to the digital input that the SB is connected
to. SO, does it mean that my stereo is a piece of garbage, or is it
something with the slim server? I'm running the nightly from the 4th, on a
windows 2000 server box. Thanks

Marty

kdf
2004-08-06, 09:24
Quoting Christopher Jacob <chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com>:

> So, I have seen this question asked twice now and I don't think anyone has
> answered it...
>
> Is it necessary to clip the two leads on the board, or can they just be left
> "as is"?
>
I can't see how it would be absolutely required, but it would be necessary to
make sure they DO NOT touch each other or the new wire that you install. The
new wire is covered, so you woul dbe ok there. Now, unless Sean is running
some really nigh frequency signals through there and we have to worry about the
two little leftovers being microwave antennae, you could probably get away with
just clipping it and leaving the insulation on the two unused leads, slicing
off only the bit around the lead you need to use again.

However, completely clipped or not, those leads are pretty much useless for
putting the old display back. Might as well take a deep breath and just go for
it. If you HAVE to ever go back, there is always a soldering iron.

-kdf

dean
2004-08-06, 09:28
The other two leads are power and ground, so in theory you shouldn't
have to clip them, but it hasn't been tested...

Why not clip them?

-dean

dean
2004-08-07, 08:03
Sorry, there needs to be a FAQ about this. Many Shoutcast stations use
sample rates that aren't officially supported by S/PDIF, such as 24k or
22.050k. Some S/PDIF receivers and DACs can decode S/PDIF data at
those rates, but most can't.

On Aug 6, 2004, at 7:56 AM, Marty wrote:

> I'm not sure if this has been covered before. But, when I'm playing a
> playlist that consists of only shoutcast streams, and I changed the
> stream/track/station, it connects and streams, but my receiver doesn't
> pick
> up the digital signal. I get the sound back when I switch to another
> input
> on the stereo and then go back to the digital input that the SB is
> connected
> to. SO, does it mean that my stereo is a piece of garbage, or is it
> something with the slim server? I'm running the nightly from the 4th,
> on a
> windows 2000 server box. Thanks
>
> Marty
>