PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a wireless rounter with a an iMac?



gdg
2010-01-24, 21:37
I'm just about to buy an new iMac. I have a Squezebox 3 and am wondering if I can use it wirelessly directly with the iMac or do I need a wireless router?

SuperQ
2010-01-24, 21:42
How do you have things setup right now?

DaveWr
2010-01-24, 23:59
You can set it up on a peer to peer network, although I doubt you will be able to use WOL (Wake on LAN).

You will have to set fixed IPs etc for MAC and SB3.

The inflexibility I have ever found worthwhile, and then I needed more SB3s anyway

cunobelinus
2010-01-25, 16:12
No. You can use Ethernet, including Ethernet over mains, otherwise known as Homeplug. Ethernet avoids issues of signal strength/drop out/bandwidth (not that the latter three should happen if the first is OK) that you might get if your walls are substantial or you have problems with wireless interference. But while it's cheap to run exposed Ethernet cables all round the house, you then have to put up with the cables; and Homeplug is more expensive to buy the Ethernet over power adapters and hubs than it is to buy a wireless router (or an Airport wireless base station and a non-wireless router, for that matter). A Homeplug four port, six mains plug adapter like this

<http://www.amazon.co.uk/Desktop-LAN-200AV-mains-sockets/dp/B001NP5MAY/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1264460888&sr=8-7>

is about 75, individual mains adapters which allow you to plug in both a mains plug and an Ethernet plug are about half that each, and you need at least two adapters, or either type. But they do work extremely well, even for pretty ropy wiring, provided you get the latest (and therefore fastest) 200 Mbps iteration. That's how one of my SBs is set up, and it's flawless. The other, though, is on an Ethernet bridge connected to an Airport Express in an Airport network. That works OK now, too.


On 25 Jan 2010, at 04:37, gdg wrote:

>
> I'm just about to buy an new iMac. I have a Squezebox 3 and am wondering
> if I can use it wirelessly directly with the iMac or do I need a
> wireless router?
>
>
> --
> gdg
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> gdg's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=1122
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=74461
>
>