PDA

View Full Version : To Keep the Old Display, or Not to Keep the Old Display. Thatis the Question.



Todd Fields
2004-08-05, 22:06
I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
whim so I sure hope it's worth it.

As you know the "August special," which I hope is
better than the September or October specials, ;) is
that you can send the old display back in for $20.

I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
this really necessary?). However, should the display
go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
to replace it.

Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
$20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
future.

Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
display?

Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
on sending the thing back for the rebate.



__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail

kdf
2004-08-05, 22:53
Quoting Todd Fields <jtfields91 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com>:

> I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
> whim so I sure hope it's worth it.

I have been lucky enough to have one already. its VERY worth it. for the new
fonts alone! The larger second line makes it readable in two lines from across
the room. I just has more polish to it. simple character modules are a bit
past now.

>
> Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
> on sending the thing back for the rebate.

personally, I would. Hopefully they are recycling them, so they will have a
good home instead of sitting on a shelf collecting dust, waiting to be
discarded next time you move house. Great things, but not nice for disposal.
18 months, however, and they will have to be gone. no lead allowed after
mid-2006 :)

-kdf

Robert Zimmerman
2004-08-06, 05:39
I am going to order one as well. Question - I have all my equipment
behind cabinets using a Niles Intellicontrol remote system. Is it
possible, as long as I have to open the thing up to change the
display, to lengthen the cable and install the display outside the SB
into the cabinet itself to be visible from the room without opening
the equipment cabinet? If so, any specifics on the cable to use?

Thanks and keep up the good work, the product is amazing!!!


>I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
>whim so I sure hope it's worth it.
>
>As you know the "August special," which I hope is
>better than the September or October specials, ;) is
>that you can send the old display back in for $20.
>
>I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
>for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
>goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
>instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
>this really necessary?). However, should the display
>go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
>to replace it.
>
>Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
>what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
>display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
>$20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
>future.
>
>Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
>display?
>
>Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
>on sending the thing back for the rebate.
>
>
>
>__________________________________
>Do you Yahoo!?
>Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
>http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>

Jack Coates
2004-08-06, 08:59
> So, I have seen this question asked twice now and I don't think anyone has
> answered it...
>
> Is it necessary to clip the two leads on the board, or can they just be
> left
> "as is"?
>
> Thanks guys!
>
> ~chris
>

I don't know, but it seems highly unlikely that they'd suggest it if it
wasn't necessary.
--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA

dean
2004-08-06, 09:27
On Aug 5, 2004, at 10:06 PM, Todd Fields wrote:
> I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
> for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
> goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
> this really necessary?). However, should the display
> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
> to replace it.
Yes, you should be able to. (Replacing it may require a special
firmware upgrade to the SLIMP3, as we also shipped SLIMP3s with a
version of the VFD display that used a different character set.

> Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
> what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
> display?
Very low. The only replacements I know of were due to the player
meeting with some physical misfortune, like dropping it down the
stairs.

> I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
> $20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
> future.
Yes. Our replacement cost for the VFD has been $90+ shipping.

> Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
> display?
Yes. Our standard 30-day money back/1 year warrantee.

dean
2004-08-06, 09:27
On Aug 6, 2004, at 5:39 AM, Robert Zimmerman wrote:

> I am going to order one as well. Question - I have all my equipment
> behind cabinets using a Niles Intellicontrol remote system. Is it
> possible, as long as I have to open the thing up to change the
> display, to lengthen the cable and install the display outside the SB
> into the cabinet itself to be visible from the room without opening
> the equipment cabinet? If so, any specifics on the cable to use?
Nope. That cable has some high speed data on it and lengthening the
cable is definitely not recommended.

seanadams
2004-08-06, 09:55
> Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
> what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
> display?

These displays just don't die. They are made by a big Japanese company
who's been cranking them out for decades (along with dinner plates -
gotta love those asian conglomerates) so the technology and process is
solid.

> I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
> $20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
> future.

Oh hell yes. Go to www.digikey.com and search for "CU4002".

> Obviously if the new display
> goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
> this really necessary?).

The firmware supports both displays so it is possible to swap them back
and forth.

However, you do have to remove the old infrared sensor in order to
install the new display, so going back to the old display would require
soldering that cable back on. What you're clipping is not exactly a
connector, but a flexible 3-pin ribbon cable which is soldered on both
ends. In retrospect, a socketed connection would have probably been
worth installing....

Also just incidentally: the little jumper wire you see in the
instructions is only necessary on the rev 3.0 boards, but it doesn't
hurt to install it on either rev. The rev 3.1 boards have the signal
routed across the 14-pin ribbon cable so no additional jumper is
needed. The only other difference with the rev 3.1 boards is they have
screw holes for mounting the wireless cards (at the time we did the
first rev, we didn't know exactly which model of wireless card we'd be
using).

> However, should the display
> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
> to replace it.

Yes, the same 40x2 display was used in both designs.

> Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
> display?

30 days return, 1 yr parts & labor repairs, same as any hardware we
sell.

seanadams
2004-08-06, 10:02
Probably not. I have extended the display just a couple inches on my
development hardware, but if you try to go much further than that, the
signal will degrade (it is a high data rate).

Maybe you could do it by using a shielded cable or by using a cable
with interleaved ground lines, like ultra-ATA hard disk cables. But you
have to do a lot of hacking to get the connectors on there I think.

You don't see a lot of shielded ribbon cable these days, but if you go
to an electronics surplus store you might find something already made
with 14-pin connectors on it. Remember the early PCs (eg Apple ][) used
to use cables like this to go to the external disk drives... that's
what you'd probably need.

On Aug 6, 2004, at 5:39 AM, Robert Zimmerman wrote:

> I am going to order one as well. Question - I have all my equipment
> behind cabinets using a Niles Intellicontrol remote system. Is it
> possible, as long as I have to open the thing up to change the
> display, to lengthen the cable and install the display outside the SB
> into the cabinet itself to be visible from the room without opening
> the equipment cabinet? If so, any specifics on the cable to use?
>
> Thanks and keep up the good work, the product is amazing!!!
>
>
>> I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
>> whim so I sure hope it's worth it.
>>
>> As you know the "August special," which I hope is
>> better than the September or October specials, ;) is
>> that you can send the old display back in for $20.
>>
>> I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
>> for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
>> goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
>> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
>> this really necessary?). However, should the display
>> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
>> to replace it.
>>
>> Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
>> what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
>> display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
>> $20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
>> future.
>>
>> Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
>> display?
>>
>> Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
>> on sending the thing back for the rebate.
>>
>>
>>
>> __________________________________
>> Do you Yahoo!?
>> Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
>> http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>>

Mark C. Langston
2004-08-06, 12:02
On Fri, Aug 06, 2004 at 09:27:15AM -0700, dean blackketter wrote:
>
> On Aug 5, 2004, at 10:06 PM, Todd Fields wrote:
> >I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
> >for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
> >goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
> >instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
> >this really necessary?). However, should the display
> >go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
> >to replace it.
> Yes, you should be able to. (Replacing it may require a special
> firmware upgrade to the SLIMP3, as we also shipped SLIMP3s with a
> version of the VFD display that used a different character set.
>

Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!), I asked him that same
question, and he said it wouldn't be possible because of the differences
in the two devices. If I understood Sean correctly, the new graphics
display has to have a bigger pipe (and possibly different connection?)
between the main board and the display board, and the old SliMP3's can't
accomodate this.

Of course, I'd enjoy being wrong. The new displays are excellent,
having seen them in action.

--
Mark C. Langston GOSSiP Project Sr. Unix SysAdmin
mark (AT) bitshift (DOT) org http://sufficiently-advanced.net mark (AT) seti (DOT) org
Systems & Network Admin Distributed SETI Institute
http://bitshift.org P2P Antispam http://www.seti.org

Ken Anderson
2004-08-06, 12:05
Mark,

They're referring to using the old 2 line Squeezebox display on the
SliMP3.

Ken

On Aug 6, 2004, at 3:02 PM, Mark C. Langston wrote:

> On Fri, Aug 06, 2004 at 09:27:15AM -0700, dean blackketter wrote:
>>
>> On Aug 5, 2004, at 10:06 PM, Todd Fields wrote:
>>> I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
>>> for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
>>> goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
>>> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
>>> this really necessary?). However, should the display
>>> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
>>> to replace it.
>> Yes, you should be able to. (Replacing it may require a special
>> firmware upgrade to the SLIMP3, as we also shipped SLIMP3s with a
>> version of the VFD display that used a different character set.
>>
>
> Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
> finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!), I asked him that same
> question, and he said it wouldn't be possible because of the
> differences
> in the two devices. If I understood Sean correctly, the new graphics
> display has to have a bigger pipe (and possibly different connection?)
> between the main board and the display board, and the old SliMP3's
> can't
> accomodate this.
>
> Of course, I'd enjoy being wrong. The new displays are excellent,
> having seen them in action.
>
> --
> Mark C. Langston GOSSiP Project Sr. Unix SysAdmin
> mark (AT) bitshift (DOT) org http://sufficiently-advanced.net mark (AT) seti (DOT) org
> Systems & Network Admin Distributed SETI Institute
> http://bitshift.org P2P Antispam http://www.seti.org
>

Mark C. Langston
2004-08-06, 12:29
On Fri, Aug 06, 2004 at 03:05:33PM -0400, Ken Anderson wrote:
> Mark,
>
> They're referring to using the old 2 line Squeezebox display on the
> SliMP3.
>

That makes more sense. Sorry for the confusion.

--
Mark C. Langston GOSSiP Project Sr. Unix SysAdmin
mark (AT) bitshift (DOT) org http://sufficiently-advanced.net mark (AT) seti (DOT) org
Systems & Network Admin Distributed SETI Institute
http://bitshift.org P2P Antispam http://www.seti.org

seanadams
2004-08-06, 14:09
>
> Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
> finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!),

I don't think you've met Dean btw. That was Kevin Pearsall we talked
with.

Jack Coates
2004-08-06, 14:32
>>
>> Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
>> finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!),
>
> I don't think you've met Dean btw. That was Kevin Pearsall we talked
> with.


It's a shame that the photo of Dean at http://www.getoutofmykitchen.com is
gone :)

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA

seanadams
2004-08-06, 14:45
On Aug 6, 2004, at 2:32 PM, Jack Coates wrote:

>
>>>
>>> Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
>>> finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!),
>>
>> I don't think you've met Dean btw. That was Kevin Pearsall we talked
>> with.
>
>
> It's a shame that the photo of Dean at
> http://www.getoutofmykitchen.com is
> gone :)
>


that should be www.getTHEFUCKoutofmykitchen.com

dean
2004-08-06, 15:16
I think you got the URL wrong, my vanity domain is:

<http://www.getthefuckoutofmykitchen.com>

On Aug 6, 2004, at 2:32 PM, Jack Coates wrote:

>
>>>
>>> Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
>>> finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!),
>>
>> I don't think you've met Dean btw. That was Kevin Pearsall we talked
>> with.
>
>
> It's a shame that the photo of Dean at
> http://www.getoutofmykitchen.com is
> gone :)
>
> --
> Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
> "Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
> themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA
>

Daniel Cohen
2004-08-07, 08:37
On 6/8/04 at 9:55 am -0700, Sean Adams wrote
>Also just incidentally: the little jumper wire you see in the
>instructions is only necessary on the rev 3.0 boards, but it doesn't
>hurt to install it on either rev. The rev 3.1 boards have the signal
>routed across the 14-pin ribbon cable so no additional jumper is
>needed. The only other difference with the rev 3.1 boards is they
>have screw holes for mounting the wireless cards (at the time we did
>the first rev, we didn't know exactly which model of wireless card
>we'd be using).

So does one determine which board one has by physically looking at
it, or is that info available under 'player info' or some such?
--
Daniel Cohen

seanadams
2004-08-07, 19:16
Daniel,

The boards are functionally identical, so the device does not "know"
which board it has. You will need to pop the case open to find out.

Sean

On Aug 7, 2004, at 8:37 AM, Daniel Cohen wrote:

> On 6/8/04 at 9:55 am -0700, Sean Adams wrote
>> Also just incidentally: the little jumper wire you see in the
>> instructions is only necessary on the rev 3.0 boards, but it doesn't
>> hurt to install it on either rev. The rev 3.1 boards have the signal
>> routed across the 14-pin ribbon cable so no additional jumper is
>> needed. The only other difference with the rev 3.1 boards is they
>> have screw holes for mounting the wireless cards (at the time we did
>> the first rev, we didn't know exactly which model of wireless card
>> we'd be using).
>
> So does one determine which board one has by physically looking at it,
> or is that info available under 'player info' or some such?
> --
> Daniel Cohen
>

Peter von Weisz
2004-08-09, 05:53
Robert & the List,

As both Dean and Sean has pointed out that it's probebly not a good idea
to extend the cable, but some people does not heed this call and do it
anyway. Look at
"http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/development.htm#squeezeboxcase"
for an example.
It does not say how long the new cable is, but you might want to contact
Felix (http://www.gwendesign.ch/english/contact.htm) and ask him.

Good luck with your hacking!

/Peter

Robert Zimmerman wrote:

> I am going to order one as well. Question - I have all my equipment
> behind cabinets using a Niles Intellicontrol remote system. Is it
> possible, as long as I have to open the thing up to change the
> display, to lengthen the cable and install the display outside the SB
> into the cabinet itself to be visible from the room without opening
> the equipment cabinet? If so, any specifics on the cable to use?
>
> Thanks and keep up the good work, the product is amazing!!!
>
>
>> I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
>> whim so I sure hope it's worth it.
>>
>> As you know the "August special," which I hope is
>> better than the September or October specials, ;) is
>> that you can send the old display back in for $20.
>>
>> I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
>> for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
>> goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
>> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
>> this really necessary?). However, should the display
>> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
>> to replace it.
>>
>> Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
>> what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
>> display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
>> $20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
>> future.
>>
>> Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
>> display?
>>
>> Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
>> on sending the thing back for the rebate.
>>
>>
>>
>> __________________________________
>> Do you Yahoo!?
>> Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
>> http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>>

Steve Baumgarten
2004-08-09, 10:27
> Sorry for the off topic... but I know there are some audiophiles here.
>
> Any recommendation for outdoor speakers?
>
> I listened to these in a show room: Polk Atrium 45
>
> You never know how they'll sound outside. I don't want to spend more than
> $200 or so.

I'd also be interested in recommendations. Currently I have a couple of
Proton powered speakers I drag outside along with a power strip and my SB
(which I unhook from my stereo for the afternoon). This works OK, but is
somewhat less than convenient (not to mention what happens if I forget
about them and it starts to rain). So I'm starting to think about a more
permanent solution.

I'm less sensitive to cost than sound quality; I figure this is a one-time
investment and I'm going to be listening to whatever I get for years.

SBB

dean
2004-08-09, 13:05
Note that this was using the older display module which has
significantly lower timing requirements.


On Aug 9, 2004, at 5:53 AM, Peter von Weisz wrote:

> Robert & the List,
>
> As both Dean and Sean has pointed out that it's probebly not a good
> idea to extend the cable, but some people does not heed this call and
> do it anyway. Look at
> "http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/development.htm#squeezeboxcase"
> for an example.
> It does not say how long the new cable is, but you might want to
> contact Felix (http://www.gwendesign.ch/english/contact.htm) and ask
> him.
>
> Good luck with your hacking!
>
> /Peter
>
> Robert Zimmerman wrote:
>
>> I am going to order one as well. Question - I have all my equipment
>> behind cabinets using a Niles Intellicontrol remote system. Is it
>> possible, as long as I have to open the thing up to change the
>> display, to lengthen the cable and install the display outside the SB
>> into the cabinet itself to be visible from the room without opening
>> the equipment cabinet? If so, any specifics on the cable to use?
>>
>> Thanks and keep up the good work, the product is amazing!!!
>>
>>
>>> I just ordered the new display. It was kind of on a
>>> whim so I sure hope it's worth it.
>>>
>>> As you know the "August special," which I hope is
>>> better than the September or October specials, ;) is
>>> that you can send the old display back in for $20.
>>>
>>> I own one Squeezebox (which is what this display is
>>> for) and one SLIMP3. Obviously if the new display
>>> goes out I can't put the old one back in because the
>>> instructions have you clip a couple of connectors (is
>>> this really necessary?). However, should the display
>>> go out on my SLIMP3 I'm assuming I could use this one
>>> to replace it.
>>>
>>> Would the nice folks at Slim Devices be willing to say
>>> what kind of failure rate they've had on the old
>>> display? I'm assuming it will cost me much more than
>>> $20 if I need to replace it on my SLIMP3 in the
>>> future.
>>>
>>> Also, is there any kind of warranty on the new
>>> display?
>>>
>>> Anyway, just wondering what everyone's thoughts were
>>> on sending the thing back for the rebate.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> __________________________________
>>> Do you Yahoo!?
>>> Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
>>> http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>>>

P McDowell
2004-08-09, 13:44
Try the Electrovoice Evid series
They are weatherproof and have built in wall brackets


"Phillip Kerman" <lists (AT) phillipkerman (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:200408091554.i79FsBEd031750 (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com...
> Sorry for the off topic... but I know there are some audiophiles here.
>
> Any recommendation for outdoor speakers?
>
> I listened to these in a show room: Polk Atrium 45
>
> You never know how they'll sound outside. I don't want to spend more than
> $200 or so.
>
> Thanks
> Phillip

Robert Zimmerman
2004-08-09, 16:43
At this point I'll say thanks, but I think it's getting a bit over my
head. So much for extending the display. If you ever come up with a
way of getting around not being able to see the unit in a cabinet,
I'm interested!

Thanks again.



>I think you got the URL wrong, my vanity domain is:
>
><http://www.getthefuckoutofmykitchen.com>
>
>On Aug 6, 2004, at 2:32 PM, Jack Coates wrote:
>
>>
>>>>
>>>>Really? When I was over there yesterday talking with Sean (nice to
>>>>finally meet you, by the way, Dean and Sean!),
>>>
>>>I don't think you've met Dean btw. That was Kevin Pearsall we talked
>>>with.
>>
>>
>>It's a shame that the photo of Dean at http://www.getoutofmykitchen.com is
>>gone :)
>>
>>--
>>Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
>>"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
>>themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA
>>

Jack Coates
2004-08-09, 20:27
> At this point I'll say thanks, but I think it's getting a bit over my
> head. So much for extending the display. If you ever come up with a
> way of getting around not being able to see the unit in a cabinet,
> I'm interested!
>
> Thanks again.
>

how about a couple of mirrors in a periscope arrangement? Low tech,
extends your IR too.

--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA