PDA

View Full Version : boxee box and sbs



grego.speiser
2010-01-10, 21:27
As announced at CES, the unreleased boxee box is based around a dual-core ARM processor.

http://blog.boxee.tv/2010/01/07/boxee-box-internals-revealed-nvidia-tegra-2-ftw/

At a projected price point of ~ US$200, it appears to me to be an attractive solution for playing 1080p files thru HDMI to your TV.

I'm wondering if anyone would like to speculate about the possibility of installing SBS on the boxee box. I understand that there is an ARM build that some have used with the Sheeva plug.

Comments?

Mr. Floppy
2010-09-16, 04:34
The Hardware has change to in Intel CE4100.

I only found a german link for specs and features....
http://www.computerbase.de/news/hardware/prozessoren/intel/2009/september/intel-praesentiert-media-processor-ce-4100/

JonWill
2010-09-16, 04:45
I too saw this and thought it would be great if SBS could run on it - any thoughts? It does not appear amongst the list of current supported apps.

Mr. Floppy
2010-09-16, 06:50
I am very happy if any development team can make an app for that box. This App must also include an squeezeslave (function)...:-)

dave77
2010-12-03, 03:51
Any further thoughts on this now the Boxee Box is out?

phil78
2011-04-04, 03:56
I am interested as well. Boxee Box with external Harddisk should have enough cpu/ram to run a squeezebox server. If anyone has any pointers where to start would be nice. I'll try to check what it needs to build an app for the boxee box.