PDA

View Full Version : Acer Aspire Revo: Good Server Bones?



jimzak
2010-01-09, 08:21
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883103228&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL010710&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL010710-_-DesktopPC-_-L0B-_-83103228

Add a 2TB external HD and this looks like an excellent, small, energy efficient, inexpensive SB server.

Thoughts?

funkstar
2010-01-09, 08:36
I think it would do the job very well indeed.

linvale
2010-01-09, 08:39
Have been using this as a server for several weeks and am very happy with the performance, efficiency, really not had to reboot since original install of 7.4. Runs silently and very cool. Have is tucked away out of sight, but is a very compact and attractive design - plenty of USB connections. Picked it up at Best Buy with a further discount -so was even better value. No inbuilt Wifi - so hard wire, no CD/DVD drive so need to rip from different machine or add external drive. Some folks have added extra memory on top of the base 1Gb but for the original XP SP3 and SBS I've not yet done so - nor felt the need. Also has very reasonable video capability and HDMI out. Highly recommended (there's reported to be an even cheaper version out there with Linux version installed which could be great as a dedicated server.)

tamanaco
2010-01-09, 10:30
I've been trying to get the Aspire Revo 3610 (2nd Generation) with a Core Duo Atom 330 processor and Win 7 64bit, but no reputable US based store or online retailer has it in stock. The MSRP is $329. I can only find it for more money in eBay from a Taiwanese outlet or from an outlet in Canada. I was hoping that Acer was going to announce something about the Revo at CES, but I have not heard anything yet. There is either something wrong with the US supply pipeline for 3610 series or the series has been discontinued.

It appears as a deactivated item at newegg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883103234&Tpk=acer%20aspire%20r3610%20revo

One issue that some folks have reported is that they're unable use WOL to remotely wake up the Revos. There is supposedly a BIOS setting to enable this function, but it appears not to be working. Anyone here running SC on an Aspire Revo and using WOL?

kantblue
2010-02-15, 06:35
Hi tamanaco

After my old PC finally gave up the ghost I have just purchased one of the REVO 3160's running windows 7 64bit and it does make a good Squeezecentre Server.

BUT - I can't get WOL to work here either, its very frustrating, I'm looking to see what the problem is, I've updated to the latest bios but its still not working.

I find it difficult to believe that such a simple function can be so hard LOL!

UPDATE: Managed to get it working, still not quite sure how. I want to leave it for a couple of hours and then try to WOL again, as a couple of other people seem to have got it working until it goes into deep sleep!



kantblue

dave77
2010-02-16, 02:06
I've just ordered the 3610 Win7. I was reading the revo forums and apparently there's issues with WOL that can be fixed with an update http://www.revouser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=274

probedb
2010-02-16, 06:43
I bought the Linux Revo 3600 and put Ubuntu 9.04 on it. Happily running SBS, Twonky and various other stuff. Currently I have a couple of USB drives attached for storage, I want to use eSata but apparently ION doesn't have a port multiplier so no connecting one box with multiple drives :(

Otherwise it's great :)

trouty00
2010-02-19, 07:49
I just bought the 3600, 1GB RAM (140 from ebuyer), comes with rubbish o/s so got rid of that, whacked ubuntu 9.10 on it, put SBS on it, put XMBC on it and connected to tv via HDMI, handles full 1080 hd video too,

not worried about WOL as its pretty much my home server now so stays on 24*7.

first time using ubuntu and not too tricky though i am a geek at heart.

Midnight
2010-02-21, 01:33
I just bought the 3600, 1GB RAM (140 from ebuyer), comes with rubbish o/s so got rid of that, whacked ubuntu 9.10 on it, put SBS on it, put XMBC on it and connected to tv via HDMI, handles full 1080 hd video too,

not worried about WOL as its pretty much my home server now so stays on 24*7.

first time using ubuntu and not too tricky though i am a geek at heart.

Sounds like just what I need.

Can you point to any tutorials (linux newbie!)

Does both the SBS and XBMC run direct from the ubuntu OS are are you dual booting the XBMC from usb?

Any help much apreciated.

dave77
2010-02-21, 06:21
Sounds like just what I need.

Can you point to any tutorials (linux newbie!)

Does both the SBS and XBMC run direct from the ubuntu OS are are you dual booting the XBMC from usb?

Any help much apreciated.

There's Windows 7 versions if you're not comfortable with Linux, just got mine setup yesterday with SBS and XBMC. It's worth getting a model with wireless keyboard/mouse too.

trouty00
2010-02-22, 03:33
aparently the windows 7 version has trouble playing 1080 files and for what this is doing ubuntu does the job perfect, I dont dual boot- I have ubuntu on the harddrive and then SBS and XBMC installed on that, they both start on boot so literally i have to turn it on and its ready to go, got the xbmc app on my touch too which works nicely!.

So first you need to install ubuntu from a usb stick. ( i used unetbootin method) loads ubuntu first from the usb and then gives you an icon on desktop to install full ubuntu.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/FromUSBStick

then install SBS - make sure you go with the test 7.4.2 release, just need to add in to the software sources. if your using an existing usb drive or een copying data to the local disk then you may have to change permissions on the folder, mine couldnt find the music at all at first.

'deb http://debian.slimdevices.com' testing main for the 7.4.2 release other wise you will have mysql dependency error

see here for full howto - http://havetheknowhow.com/Install-the-software/Install-Squeezebox-server.html


install XBMC -
http://home4film.com/questions/237/how-to-get-ubuntu-9-10-xbmc-and-squeezebox-server-installed-on-an-acer-aspire-r

make sure you install the driver update and change the appearance settings within ubuntu to the minimal effects- dont know why but it completely removed all video tearing for me.


dont get too worried about anything, alot of sites just detail the terminal prompts but in ubuntu 9.10 you have a full gui to use, so you just add the package link into software sources and use the synaptic package manager to then find the package and install it.


took me about 2 hours probably start to finish from getting the box installed to having it all running in some form, ok so few more tweaks to get running perfect but with all these links ive provided will save you a lot of work.

to get xbmc running on start you just type xbmc in the startup manager.

worst comes to worst, you learn a bit about ubuntu but cant get it working right so go with windows but its honestly pretty straight forward!!

dave77
2010-02-22, 09:02
aparently the windows 7 version has trouble playing 1080 files
It's fixed in the latest xbmc releases.

trouty00
2010-02-22, 11:43
even with the revo? can xbmc on win 7 offload video processing to the GPU, think this was the issue i read.

I have no doubt that a win 7 machine with lots of cpu power and mem would cope but unless xbmc on win 7 on the revo can offload the processing power to the gpu you wont be playing 1080

dave77
2010-02-22, 11:55
Yup, more here http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=61355

Not tested it myself yet though

Midnight
2010-02-22, 12:00
Thanks trouty

I've read all the tutorials now and it doesn't sound too daunting.

I've got unbunto loaded on a usb ready to go.

Just need the Revo to turn up from Ebuyer now.

129 seemed like a bargain!

colincliff
2010-03-01, 03:12
I also went with the ebuyer Revo. I'm thinking of just using it as a nas with Ubuntu server and squeezebox server. Hopefully it will replace my Qnap box. Would be great of I can get WOL working.

Keep us updated with your setup and any tips you have!

MadScientist
2010-03-01, 06:20
I'm currently putting a server together around the dual core atom MB which I plan to use as dedicated music server.

http://www.intel.com/products/desktop/motherboards/D510MO/D510MO-overview.htm

I was hoping to use Win 7 as i have spare copy of Win 7 pro. If that turns out to be too slow then it could be a Linux OS. Is Ubuntu the best option? - I've no experience with Linux OSs.

MS

johnas
2010-03-01, 06:55
Is Ubuntu the best option? - I've no experience with Linux OSs.

MS

Ubuntu is a good OS if you are new to Linux. IMHO it is as easy (or easier) to install as Windows.

MadScientist
2010-03-01, 08:16
Thanks, I'll do some research

MS

colincliff
2010-03-04, 10:41
I've set up my system with a Revo 3600 running Ubuntu. Installed Squeezebox server and also webmin to handle basic admin tasks remotely.

The bonus of this system seems to be that I can put the Revo box to sleep when inactive, and the Squeezebox units can wake it whenever i want them to play music.

I enabled Wake on lan in the bios, then followed the instructions here http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=1369043&postcount=1

All seems to work well at the moment! :-) Very happy with this for 130.

edit: this also works when the Revo is shut down, not just suspended! Although it takes my unit about 40 seconds from boot to running Squeezebox Server which means the Squeezebox unit has time out by then, it finds it fine if i hit try again.

Midnight
2010-03-04, 11:13
Thanks Colincliff

Anyone know how to set a static IP addy with the Ubuntu?

Wiredcharlie
2010-03-23, 12:34
Colincliff

I'm very interested in how you got WOL working on a Revo 3600. Does it work in suspend S3 or hibernate? I could only get it to work in S1 which uses about 17W and the fan is still active). (S3 uses about 5W and full on is 24W).

Tony

dsdreamer
2010-03-24, 16:39
Thanks Colincliff

Anyone know how to set a static IP addy with the Ubuntu?

Assuming you are using the default Gnome GUI: From the System menu, select Preferences and then Network Connections from the drop-down list. You will see a dialog box with tabs for Wired, Wireless, Mobile Broadband, VPN and DSL. Select the tab of interest (probably Wired or Wireless), and click on the name of the connection you want to set as static (e.g., Auto eth1), and click edit. A new dialog box will pop up, in which you can select a tab to control the IPV4 settings. Once that tab has been selected, use the pull-down menu to change from Automatic (DHCP) to Manual and and the click Add, so that you can fill out the Address, Netmask and Gateway as well as the appropriate DNS server address. Click "Apply." Done.

solder fumes
2011-09-23, 09:33
Sorry for digging up an old thread but I'm thinking about getting an Acer Aspire Revo 3700, the successor to the 3600 mentioned earlier here, and as a bit of a newbie I've a few questions I hope someone might be able to help with.

First a bit of an introduction. I started with a SB3 and a QNAP 109 preloaded with slimserver - I use the QNAP as a server where I keep not only my music but photos and other documents etc. so I can get them from whichever computer I'm using. Then I got a Duet and had to upgrade to SqueezeCenter which I found pretty tricky as tarballs and script files are outside of my comfort zone. I eventually managed to install flipflip's update and get SC working though only because I was lucky enough to google the right script files. But it took a long time and a number of attempts and I wondered if I might have to start again with another preloaded NAS drive.

The QNAP is still working but it's struggling to run SC really and I'm stuck with 7.3.2 as I don't know how to upgrade.

So I wonder about getting a Revo to sit by the tv so I can view photos using the tv, surf etc., and use it for SC. It would be cheaper than a new NAS drive and more useful too I think. But I'm not sure what's the best way of doing this. I'm thinking of going with Ubuntu but have no experience of it - sounds like the user friendlyness of installation has moved on a lot in the last 2 or 3 years. But if I wanted the Revo to replace the QNAP would I need to install Ubuntu server, and would this be difficult for a novice?

Energy consumption is important as for most of the time it will be idle so does anyone have any experience of being able to use the Revo in this manner but able to wake it up from either a Squeezebox or another PC?

So does this approach make sense? Am I on the right track?

Thanks.

slippyr4
2011-09-24, 01:35
That's a how long is a piece of string question really.

The 3700 would be an ideal server. Putting windows on it would be very easy.

Putting ubuntu on it would also be pretty easy - the installer approaches windows in it's ease of use and simplicity. Where you could get unstuck is if you have problems - odd crashes, driver issues, stuff like that. They are generally tougher to fix in linux than windows.

However it's all down to experience. i'd say go for it. There's a huge ubuntu support community out there and if you do have some issues there are people who'll help you out.

solder fumes
2011-09-24, 06:11
Thanks for the reply slippyr4. Fair comment, I'll try to ask a slightly more direct question.

If I want to use the Revo as a replacement for the QNAP, effectively as a file server, do I need to install Ubuntu Server, or will the desktop version do the job? I'm guessing I need the Server version but I've had a look round and can't find the answer. If so how difficult is the Server version to install? If I'm asked about DNS and DHCP it might be a bit beyond me.

But for 200 the Revo looks a good deal for 4MB RAM with a wireless keyboard and mouse, even if I end up with Windows and just use it as a PC.

slippyr4
2011-09-24, 07:26
I'd think the desktop edition would be fine. although you're after a "server", you'll only have a couple of clients. "server" operating systems are for data centre's and so on.

You can set up file shares and even quotas and so on with ubuntu desktop edition just fine. I doubt you'll need any more than that.

solder fumes
2011-09-24, 10:21
Sounds like the desktop version will be fine then. Thanks for the help, much appreciated.