PDA

View Full Version : More detail would be nice...



Christopher May
2004-08-03, 19:00
Is there any more in-depth descriptions for all the player and server
settings? I want to make sure I've got things set to get the best
performance....

And speaking of best performance: am I correct in thinking that the
SqueezeBox can take streams of uncompresssed music, while the SlimP3 can
only accept compressed, MP3 music? In otherwords, even if I have ripped
all my music to uncompressed files, if I have a SlimP3, I'm still
listening to compressed mp3s coming out of it.

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm an installer working for a
re-seller and being the resident computer geek, its become my
responsibility to learn these things inside and out!

Christopher May

kdf
2004-08-03, 19:21
Quoting Christopher May <chris (AT) concatmedia (DOT) com>:

> Is there any more in-depth descriptions for all the player and server
> settings? I want to make sure I've got things set to get the best
> performance....

The descriptions that exist are the ones you see in the server UI. Most of the
setting descriptions are self explanantory, and a matter of preference as
opposed to performance. If you feel there are specific settings you would like
to know more detail about, please feel free to ask about specific settings, or
explain how you think it would need to be improved.
>
> And speaking of best performance: am I correct in thinking that the
> SqueezeBox can take streams of uncompresssed music, while the SlimP3 can
> only accept compressed, MP3 music? In otherwords, even if I have ripped
> all my music to uncompressed files, if I have a SlimP3, I'm still
> listening to compressed mp3s coming out of it.
you are correct. slimp3's hardware can only handle mp3, up to 320kbps. The
squeezebox has significantly greater processing power, thus is can handle raw
PCM input.

>
> Sorry for all the questions, but I'm an installer working for a
> re-seller and being the resident computer geek, its become my
> responsibility to learn these things inside and out!

ask away :)
-kdf

Daniel Cohen
2004-08-03, 23:51
On 3/8/04 at 7:21 pm -0700, kdf wrote
>Quoting Christopher May <chris (AT) concatmedia (DOT) com>:
>
>> Is there any more in-depth descriptions for all the player and server
>> settings? I want to make sure I've got things set to get the best
>> performance....
>
>The descriptions that exist are the ones you see in the server UI. Most of the
>setting descriptions are self explanantory, and a matter of preference as
>opposed to performance. If you feel there are specific settings you
>would like
>to know more detail about, please feel free to ask about specific settings, or
>explain how you think it would need to be improved.

My feeling is that everything can be worked out ok by experimenting,
but that it might be useful to have the manual mention the existence
of various options.

For instance, I did not know that one could find out the signal
strength by going around three levels deep on the Squeezebox.

And I don't think it's explicitly mentioned that wireless music is
sent as high quality MP3 by default, but that this can be reset to
uncompressed in the additional server settings.
--
Daniel Cohen

Steve Baumgarten
2004-08-04, 09:38
> And I don't think it's explicitly mentioned that wireless music is
> sent as high quality MP3 by default, but that this can be reset to
> uncompressed in the additional server settings.

Another important setting is making sure the volume control is disabled on
the digital outputs, or as it says on the player setup page, "Digital
output level is fixed (Best analog quality)".

(By the way, I always found this mention of "best analog quality" to be
confusing; I think maybe "best sound quality" is what's intended.
Basically it just means that the Squeezebox will pass the PCM data
unchanged to your amplifier via the coax or optical output, regardless of
what you do with the volume control on either the remote or the web
interface, leaving volume control to your amplifier where it is best
handled at that stage, rather than by having the Squeezebox "pre process"
the bits in order to make them "louder" or "quieter" on the way to your
amplifier.)

SBB

kdf
2004-08-04, 09:44
Quoting Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com>:

> On 3/8/04 at 7:21 pm -0700, kdf wrote
> >Quoting Christopher May <chris (AT) concatmedia (DOT) com>:
> >
> >> Is there any more in-depth descriptions for all the player and server
> >> settings? I want to make sure I've got things set to get the best
> >> performance....
> >
> >The descriptions that exist are the ones you see in the server UI. Most of
> the
> >setting descriptions are self explanantory, and a matter of preference as
> >opposed to performance. If you feel there are specific settings you
> >would like
> >to know more detail about, please feel free to ask about specific settings,
> or
> >explain how you think it would need to be improved.
>
> My feeling is that everything can be worked out ok by experimenting,
> but that it might be useful to have the manual mention the existence
> of various options.
>
> For instance, I did not know that one could find out the signal
> strength by going around three levels deep on the Squeezebox.
>
> And I don't think it's explicitly mentioned that wireless music is
> sent as high quality MP3 by default, but that this can be reset to
> uncompressed in the additional server settings.

Both of those features are fairly new. Its one of the failures of open source
that documentation often falls behind. This mailing list tends to serve as teh
most up-to-date documentation you can find, but I do agree there are some
important details that would be worth nothing for new users.

-kdf

David Lutz
2004-08-04, 09:53
On Wed, Aug 04, 2004 at 12:38:02PM -0400, Steve Baumgarten wrote:
> Another important setting is making sure the volume control is disabled on
> the digital outputs, or as it says on the player setup page, "Digital
> output level is fixed (Best analog quality)".
>

This setting has always had me confused. If I am not using the digital
output on my SB (old amp, only takes RCA) does this setting have any
effect other than changing the level mapping on the analog outputs? And
why is the analog mapping so different between the settings. Is there
a recommended setting for analog output users?

Thanks,
D.L.

--
< David Lutz -*- lutzd (AT) pobox (DOT) com -*- AC7NM -*- http://www.dlutz.net/ >

Steve Baumgarten
2004-08-04, 11:46
> This setting has always had me confused. If I am not using the digital
> output on my SB (old amp, only takes RCA) does this setting have any
> effect other than changing the level mapping on the analog outputs? And
> why is the analog mapping so different between the settings. Is there
> a recommended setting for analog output users?

The "digital output level is fixed" setting only affects the digital (coax
and optical) outputs. But regardless of how this is set, the remote (or
web interface) can still control the analog output levels.

(I leave the "digital output level is fixed" setting enabled all the time.
When the Squeezebox is hooked to my amp via its Toslink connection, I know
I'm getting the best sound possible; but when I sometimes take it outside
on our deck and hook it to a couple of powered Proton speakers I have via
the RCA jacks, I can use the volume control on the remote as expected to
control the volume, no problem, and no need to mess with any settings in
order to make this happens. Basically, it behaves just as you'd want in
both situations.)

As to whether it's better to use your amp or the Squeezebox (or a
combination of both) to adjust the volume level on the analog outputs, I
can't say.

The full description of this setting is:

You can choose to have the digital audio output on your player be fixed
at maximum level or be controlled by the volume buttons. If you choose
to have a fixed digital audio volume level, the analog outputs will have
the highest quality possible. With either setting, the analog output
levels are adjusted by the volume buttons.

You know, I still don't understand the second sentence, about how with the
volume control disabled on the digital outputs, the analog outputs will
have "the highest quality possible". I'm probably missing something, but
it doesn't make sense to me.

SBB