PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver and VPN



James Craig
2004-08-03, 07:24
I've just bought a squeezebox and I'm very happy with it but I have a
minor problem.
The machine on which I run the slimserver I also use a VPN connection to
connect to my work's network. When I do this the squeezebox can't see
the slimserver.
I was expecting this but is there anyway to open a 'hole' in the VPN to
allow the squeezebox to continue working? (As this is rather the point
of the VPN I'm imagining not?).

If it helps the 'server' is wirelessly connected to a Linksys wireless
router, the squeezebox is wired directly into the router.

thanks

James

Ken Anderson
2004-08-03, 07:27
James,

This pretty much depends on the VPN software you're using and how it's
configured. Which VPN software is it? It would probably be best to
consult the people who handle the VPN at your company and ask them how
you can access local network resources when VPN'd in.

Ken

On Aug 3, 2004, at 10:24 AM, James Craig wrote:

> I've just bought a squeezebox and I'm very happy with it but I have a
> minor problem.
> The machine on which I run the slimserver I also use a VPN connection
> to connect to my work's network. When I do this the squeezebox can't
> see the slimserver.
> I was expecting this but is there anyway to open a 'hole' in the VPN
> to allow the squeezebox to continue working? (As this is rather the
> point of the VPN I'm imagining not?).
>
> If it helps the 'server' is wirelessly connected to a Linksys wireless
> router, the squeezebox is wired directly into the router.
>
> thanks
>
> James
>

James Craig
2004-08-03, 07:54
I never thought of that - I will ask!
It seems to be a custom version of the AT&T Global Network Client.

thanks

James

Ken Anderson wrote:

> James,
>
> This pretty much depends on the VPN software you're using and how it's
> configured. Which VPN software is it? It would probably be best to
> consult the people who handle the VPN at your company and ask them how
> you can access local network resources when VPN'd in.
>
> Ken
>
> On Aug 3, 2004, at 10:24 AM, James Craig wrote:
>
>> I've just bought a squeezebox and I'm very happy with it but I have a
>> minor problem.
>> The machine on which I run the slimserver I also use a VPN connection
>> to connect to my work's network. When I do this the squeezebox can't
>> see the slimserver.
>> I was expecting this but is there anyway to open a 'hole' in the VPN
>> to allow the squeezebox to continue working? (As this is rather the
>> point of the VPN I'm imagining not?).
>>
>> If it helps the 'server' is wirelessly connected to a Linksys
>> wireless router, the squeezebox is wired directly into the router.
>>
>> thanks
>>
>> James
>>

Ken Anderson
2004-08-03, 07:56
Odds are, they will tell you 'forget it', since most IT organizations
that allow VPN access want to make sure you can't access other
resources (and possibly contaminate their systems). Good luck!

In short, I would recommend a small cheap computer to run your
slimserver if you're VPN'd in often enough to care.


On Aug 3, 2004, at 10:54 AM, James Craig wrote:

> I never thought of that - I will ask!
> It seems to be a custom version of the AT&T Global Network Client.
>
> thanks
>
> James
>
> Ken Anderson wrote:
>
>> James,
>>
>> This pretty much depends on the VPN software you're using and how
>> it's configured. Which VPN software is it? It would probably be
>> best to consult the people who handle the VPN at your company and ask
>> them how you can access local network resources when VPN'd in.
>>
>> Ken
>>
>> On Aug 3, 2004, at 10:24 AM, James Craig wrote:
>>
>>> I've just bought a squeezebox and I'm very happy with it but I have
>>> a minor problem.
>>> The machine on which I run the slimserver I also use a VPN
>>> connection to connect to my work's network. When I do this the
>>> squeezebox can't see the slimserver.
>>> I was expecting this but is there anyway to open a 'hole' in the VPN
>>> to allow the squeezebox to continue working? (As this is rather the
>>> point of the VPN I'm imagining not?).
>>>
>>> If it helps the 'server' is wirelessly connected to a Linksys
>>> wireless router, the squeezebox is wired directly into the router.
>>>
>>> thanks
>>>
>>> James
>>>

Robin Bowes
2004-08-03, 08:07
On Tue, August 3, 2004 15:24, James Craig said:
> I've just bought a squeezebox and I'm very happy with it but I have a
> minor problem. The machine on which I run the slimserver I also use a VPN connection to
> connect to my work's network. When I do this the squeezebox can't see the slimserver. I
> was expecting this but is there anyway to open a 'hole' in the VPN to allow the
> squeezebox to continue working? (As this is rather the point of the VPN I'm imagining
> not?).
>

James,

It's probably a firewall that is restricting access rather than the VPN software. At least, that's the case with my work laptop. The VPN should just tunnel out through your existing network to your work network. Can you ping/traceroute/telnet from your work machine to your router (or any other devices you have on your network) when the VPN is connected?

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-08-03, 08:13
James Craig wrote:

> I never thought of that - I will ask!
> It seems to be a custom version of the AT&T Global Network Client.


FWIW, I have a business acquaintence who uses an AT&T VPN client. She
tells me that while connected to the VPN, she cannot access any
resources on her home LAN. IT at the jobsite told her that's just how
it works.

--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
"It's just this little chromium switch, here." - TFS
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

James Craig
2004-08-03, 08:22
There was a firewall that came with the VPN but I'd already disabled it.
When connected to VPN any access to the local network fails like this;

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Reply from 172.24.156.105: Destination host unreachable.

(Which is an unusual IP address surely?)
Disconnect and it works again immediately.

I guess it is just designed that way - luckily I have a laptop that I
would normally use for work.

James

Robin Bowes wrote:

>On Tue, August 3, 2004 15:24, James Craig said:
>
>
>>I've just bought a squeezebox and I'm very happy with it but I have a
>>minor problem. The machine on which I run the slimserver I also use a VPN connection to
>>connect to my work's network. When I do this the squeezebox can't see the slimserver. I
>>was expecting this but is there anyway to open a 'hole' in the VPN to allow the
>>squeezebox to continue working? (As this is rather the point of the VPN I'm imagining
>>not?).
>>
>>
>>
>
>James,
>
>It's probably a firewall that is restricting access rather than the VPN software. At least, that's the case with my work laptop. The VPN should just tunnel out through your existing network to your work network. Can you ping/traceroute/telnet from your work machine to your router (or any other devices you have on your network) when the VPN is connected?
>
>R.
>
>

Robin Bowes
2004-08-03, 08:37
On Tue, August 3, 2004 16:22, James Craig said:
> There was a firewall that came with the VPN but I'd already disabled it.
> When connected to VPN any access to the local network fails like this;
>
>
> Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
> Request timed out.
> Reply from 172.24.156.105: Destination host unreachable.
>
>
> (Which is an unusual IP address surely?)
> Disconnect and it works again immediately.

It looks like the VPN works be re-diecting all traffic from your machine to the VPN end-point on your company's network.

I'm afraid I can offer no further suggestions/

Hope you sort it,

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

Geoff
2004-08-03, 12:24
Roy M. Silvernail wrote:
> James Craig wrote:
>
>> I never thought of that - I will ask!
>> It seems to be a custom version of the AT&T Global Network Client.
>
>
>
> FWIW, I have a business acquaintence who uses an AT&T VPN client. She
> tells me that while connected to the VPN, she cannot access any
> resources on her home LAN. IT at the jobsite told her that's just how
> it works.
>

This is why I like the Cisco client that my employer uses ... it has an
"exclude local LAN" option that allows any requests to your LAN to go
over your LAN network instead of being routed to the VPN.