PDA

View Full Version : SlimServer 5.2.1 on Windows XP does not start properly *Thereis already another copy of the SlimServer running*



Dominique Kull
2004-08-03, 05:25
Hi there

I followed all tips on the Wiki and on this forum, but my SlimServer
still does not start properly.

SlimServer has started!
2004-08-03 13:20:55.0701 Problem: There is already another copy of the
SlimServer running on this machine. (Unknown error)

I have no other server processes running on either TCP 9000 or UDP 3483.
I tried the netsh trick and WinsockXPFix to no avail.

any clues?

Dominique

Neil Cameron
2004-08-04, 08:25
If you selected the 'Run SlimServer automatically" on instal then it will
already be running as a service - as your message implies.
Does your Squeezebox not find SlimServer when activated and set-up?
How are you attempting to 'run' slimserver - you should (if you selected the
option mentioned above) be running slimserver.exe in the slimserver
folder... This should load the Browser interface.
--
Neil

"Dominique Kull" <atlantic (AT) taridium (DOT) net> wrote in
message news:410F8449.8070001 (AT) taridium (DOT) net...
> Hi there
>
> I followed all tips on the Wiki and on this forum, but my SlimServer
> still does not start properly.
>
> SlimServer has started!
> 2004-08-03 13:20:55.0701 Problem: There is already another copy of the
> SlimServer running on this machine. (Unknown error)
>
> I have no other server processes running on either TCP 9000 or UDP 3483.
> I tried the netsh trick and WinsockXPFix to no avail.
>
> any clues?
>
> Dominique

Dominique Kull
2004-08-04, 08:49
No other SlimServer is running. I am currently not trying to run
SlimServer as a service. It does not matter whether it is started as a
service or manually from the command line. The error is the same. I
removed it completely and re-installed it several times. Some people
claim it might have to do with SlimServers UDP ports. My XP Firewall is
off and there are no other processes listening on UDP 1069 and 3483.

Dominique

Neil Cameron wrote:

> If you selected the 'Run SlimServer automatically" on instal then it will
> already be running as a service - as your message implies.
> Does your Squeezebox not find SlimServer when activated and set-up?
> How are you attempting to 'run' slimserver - you should (if you selected the
> option mentioned above) be running slimserver.exe in the slimserver
> folder... This should load the Browser interface.
> --
> Neil
>
> "Dominique Kull" <atlantic (AT) taridium (DOT) net> wrote in
> message news:410F8449.8070001 (AT) taridium (DOT) net...
>
>>Hi there
>>
>>I followed all tips on the Wiki and on this forum, but my SlimServer
>>still does not start properly.
>>
>>SlimServer has started!
>>2004-08-03 13:20:55.0701 Problem: There is already another copy of the
>>SlimServer running on this machine. (Unknown error)
>>
>>I have no other server processes running on either TCP 9000 or UDP 3483.
>>I tried the netsh trick and WinsockXPFix to no avail.
>>
>>any clues?
>>
>>Dominique
>
>
>
>
>

Dominique Kull
2004-08-10, 08:39
I installed the pure Perl version of Slimserver with Active State Perl -
the error is of course the same, but I was able to find the exact point
where the error occurs:

Line 77: $udpsock = IO::Socket::INET->new(
Proto => 'udp',
LocalPort => $SERVERPORT,
LocalAddr => $main::localClientNetAddr

)

I tried changing the UDP port, but it really makes no difference at all.
Maybe somebody with in-depth knowledge of the source code can help me. I
really don't want to re-install my XP box to get the server running.

Dominique

Dominique Kull wrote:

> No other SlimServer is running. I am currently not trying to run
> SlimServer as a service. It does not matter whether it is started as a
> service or manually from the command line. The error is the same. I
> removed it completely and re-installed it several times. Some people
> claim it might have to do with SlimServers UDP ports. My XP Firewall is
> off and there are no other processes listening on UDP 1069 and 3483.
>
> Dominique
>
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>> If you selected the 'Run SlimServer automatically" on instal then it will
>> already be running as a service - as your message implies.
>> Does your Squeezebox not find SlimServer when activated and set-up?
>> How are you attempting to 'run' slimserver - you should (if you
>> selected the
>> option mentioned above) be running slimserver.exe in the slimserver
>> folder... This should load the Browser interface.
>> --
>> Neil
>>
>> "Dominique Kull" <atlantic (AT) taridium (DOT) net> wrote in
>> message news:410F8449.8070001 (AT) taridium (DOT) net...
>>
>>> Hi there
>>>
>>> I followed all tips on the Wiki and on this forum, but my SlimServer
>>> still does not start properly.
>>>
>>> SlimServer has started!
>>> 2004-08-03 13:20:55.0701 Problem: There is already another copy of the
>>> SlimServer running on this machine. (Unknown error)
>>>
>>> I have no other server processes running on either TCP 9000 or UDP 3483.
>>> I tried the netsh trick and WinsockXPFix to no avail.
>>>
>>> any clues?
>>>
>>> Dominique
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>