PDA

View Full Version : DHCP trouble with Airport card



Jacob Weber
2004-08-02, 15:54
Hi. I just bought a SqueezeBox, and I'm having trouble getting it
connected.

My system:
- Internet connection via cable modem. I get my IP address via DHCP.
- Mac OS X 10.3
- Apple AirPort card
- No base station or hub, but I have the "Internet Sharing" feature
turned on. I believe this is a NAT server, which I think is a kind of
DHCP server. You'll have to forgive my limited networking knowledge. In
the past, I've been able to create a network with this feature, and
other computers could obtain IP addresses from it, using DHCP.
- Firewall turned off, for now
- WEP encryption turned off, for now

The SqueezeBox is able to find my network, and it's able to connect to
it. Then I tell it to obtain an IP address automatically, and it says it
can't find one.

Does anyone have any idea why this won't work? Thanks,
Jacob Weber

dean
2004-08-03, 08:33
Hi Jacob,

This is a known incompatibility with the DHCP server that's built-in to
OS X Internet Sharing. Until it's fixed either in the Squeezebox
firmware or OS X, the workaround is to specify a static IP address for
the player.

-dean

On Aug 2, 2004, at 3:54 PM, Jacob Weber wrote:

> Hi. I just bought a SqueezeBox, and I'm having trouble getting it
> connected.
>
> My system:
> - Internet connection via cable modem. I get my IP address via DHCP.
> - Mac OS X 10.3
> - Apple AirPort card
> - No base station or hub, but I have the "Internet Sharing" feature
> turned on. I believe this is a NAT server, which I think is a kind of
> DHCP server. You'll have to forgive my limited networking knowledge. In
> the past, I've been able to create a network with this feature, and
> other computers could obtain IP addresses from it, using DHCP.
> - Firewall turned off, for now
> - WEP encryption turned off, for now
>
> The SqueezeBox is able to find my network, and it's able to connect to
> it. Then I tell it to obtain an IP address automatically, and it says
> it
> can't find one.
>
> Does anyone have any idea why this won't work? Thanks,
> Jacob Weber
>
>