PDA

View Full Version : classic or duet?

karlosmaximos
2009-12-28, 13:23
hi all
im new to media streaming so on the lookout for a bit of advice,hence the title of the post
im intending to use a readynas duo on my home network to stream mp3 around the house to my stereo system
is there any difference in either of the above,and does one/both work better with the readynas duo?
thanks and happy new year!
:-)
karl

garym
2009-12-28, 13:53
either will work equally well with readynas duo. I have both and a readynas duo. (however, I'm no longer trying to run the SqueezeboxServer software off my readynas. Simply too slow with my large library of tracks (> 60,000+). Readynas works fine, just a sluggish interface and very slow scanning when setting up. I suspect with 5 or 10 thousand tracks it would be just fine.

The benefit of the duet is the wireless controller, which will also control any other SB product.

aubuti
2009-12-28, 14:31
The benefit of the duet is the wireless controller, which will also control any other SB product.
Correct. The negative of the SB Controller is that many users do not find it sufficiently reliable, often because of problems with their wifi networks. My SBCs generally work fine, but no guarantees yours will.

The benefit of the SB3/Classic is that you can use the infrared remote to control it. Much simpler, but not as pretty as the LCD screen on the SBC. You also have to have line-of-sight with the Classic. The infrared remote works with all SB devices *except* the SB Duet Receiver (SBR).

My suggestion is to get a Classic. Later on you can get the SB Controller if you want.

usch
2009-12-28, 16:04
Given the current pricing, I can't see why anybody would want to buy a Receiver (no display, fiddly setup, no IR remote) when you can get a Classic for about the same money. I think I even recall someone saying that the Classic has better DACs.