PDA

View Full Version : Cygwin1.dll (multiple copies)

wobbly
2009-12-25, 10:55
I think (not completely sure) that I am having a problem with multiple cygwin1.dll on my Windows 7 install.

I always have a full copy of Cygwin on any windows machine that I use. I am a Unix/Linux/BSD developer at heart, so I cannot tolerate living with the DOS shell. No way.

So today I installed SS 7.4.1 and I am seeing "Possible software conflict found" in the control panel status dialog box under 'Alerts'.

Also, if I start the server as a user, it runs fine, but I cannot get it to start as a service during system boot. Very frustration, as this worked fine under Windows XP. I think it was a Perl install there, with no update in a long (long) time.

Are you required to set up a my.squeezenetwork.com to run the server as a service? If so, that is rude. I unticked all of iTunes, software update, and any other item that had the words squeezenetwork in it.

I am a long term squeezebox owner and booster, but I feel the product moved to a different place. (Original Squeezebox and Squeezebox 2)

toby10
2009-12-26, 04:14
........Are you required to set up a my.squeezenetwork.com to run the server as a service? If so, that is rude. I unticked all of iTunes, software update, and any other item that had the words squeezenetwork in it.......

I can't see where MySqueezeBox.com and/or SqueezeNetwork would have anything to do with running SBS as a service on a computer, so I'd concentrate my efforts elsewhere.
I can't help you much beyond that, but I doubt that is your issue.

wobbly
2009-12-28, 10:28
I uninstalled Squeezebox server, rebooted, reinstalled, and attempted the 'start on system start' setup again. This time it worked.

I probably should have just rebooted no that I think about it. The reboot would have cleared out the existing cygwin1.dll from Windows, so that Squeezebox Server would no longer have that .dll conflict.