PDA

View Full Version : Browsing experience using a remote like Harmony



ITemplate
2009-12-08, 12:02
Hi,

I'm considering a Touch for the 24/96 support (got a Duet now). Also the possibility to get ONE remote for everything is appealing and I want a Harmony One to do the job. However - the Touch will be positioned about 2.5 meters from my couch so the questions is: How is the browsing experience from this distance - if it is possible at all to see the screen?

Are there any pictures/interactive stuff about this "remote browsing" to find on the internet? Logitech's sales pages are not very informative :(

--

Phil Leigh
2009-12-08, 14:05
Hi,

I'm considering a Touch for the 24/96 support (got a Duet now). Also the possibility to get ONE remote for everything is appealing and I want a Harmony One to do the job. However - the Touch will be positioned about 2.5 meters from my couch so the questions is: How is the browsing experience from this distance - if it is possible at all to see the screen?

Are there any pictures/interactive stuff about this "remote browsing" to find on the internet? Logitech's sales pages are not very informative :(

--

Just tried it with my Harmony One from 2.5 metres - I find it easily readable

ITemplate
2009-12-09, 00:35
Thanks Phil, I'll give it a go...

m1abrams
2009-12-09, 08:32
Just tried it with my Harmony One from 2.5 metres - I find it easily readable

Really? I know with my SB1 at that distance only the LARGEST font is readable at 10ft and I have particularly good eyesight. How big is the font on the Touch at that distance? Is it similiar to the SB3 large font?

erland
2009-12-09, 11:17
Really? I know with my SB1 at that distance only the LARGEST font is readable at 10ft and I have particularly good eyesight. How big is the font on the Touch at that distance? Is it similiar to the SB3 large font?

It's about the same size as the larger font size on SB3 where you see two rows, one with big font and one with smaller font.

I've no problem seeing it from the couch 3 meters away, at least the song title. The artist and album is a bit smaller compared to my SB3. Navigation in the menus uses the larger font also used for song title in the Now playing screen.

I'm guessing that it might be problematic if you today need the single row large font on the SB3 to see the screen.

Phil Leigh
2009-12-09, 12:11
Really? I know with my SB1 at that distance only the LARGEST font is readable at 10ft and I have particularly good eyesight. How big is the font on the Touch at that distance? Is it similiar to the SB3 large font?

Well of course it does rather depend on your eyes. Remember the Touch switches to a large font when a remote is used...