PDA

View Full Version : Streaming to a PDA



Lukas Hinsch
2004-07-26, 08:01
go to the web interface, change the active player to your ipaq's ip address
and select some music to play. by default the server just streams 320kbps of
silence to streaming players.

lukas

> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
> Roger Mitchell
> Sent: Monday, July 26, 2004 3:35 PM
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] Streaming to a PDA
>
> Hi
>
> I've just tried to set up GSPlayer on my Ipaq to act as a
> streaming player
> (not sure why, seemed like a good idea at the time....!).
> I've downloaded
> and installed ver 2.06 and can connect to slimserver with out
> any problem. I
> get a message which says "welcome to slimserver", hit play and it says
> "connecting" briefly. Then it says "320kbps 44Khz STEREO" and
> the counter is
> running. However, I have no files listed in the display and
> no sound. Any
> clues anyone?
>
> Cheers, Roger
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
> Lukas Hinsch
> Sent: 24 July 2004 10:54
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] Streaming to a PDA
>
> if you are on pocket pc you can use gsplayer
> (http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA032810/index.htm) as a
> streaming player. i
> used an older version and it worked just fine over wifi.
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
> Dan Speirs
> > Sent: Saturday, July 24, 2004 6:47 AM
> > To: Slim Devices Discussion
> > Subject: [slim] Streaming to a PDA
> >
> > I think I remember this being covered but I can't find te thread...
> >
> > Has anyone successfully streamed music to a PDA? I wpould
> love to be
> > able to listen to my slimserver music via my PDA. Anyone
> find a way
> > to do this?
> >
> >
> >
> > __________________________________
> > Do you Yahoo!?
> > Yahoo! Mail - Helps protect you from nasty viruses.
> > http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
> >

Peter Olufsen
2004-07-26, 09:58
Hi,

I'm trying to set up an openssh-connection to my slimserver as described on
the SoftSqueeze-page, but i think i'm missing something / doing something
wrong.

I can connect to the server from another computer through Putty, and i can
also connect from and use SoftSqueeze but only if I open port 9000 and 3483
as well as port 22 ???
Do I have to foreward additional ports in SoftSqueeze ?

I use Win-XP, the latest SoftSqueese-version (pre 0.6.4), java 1.5.0 beta 2
and the latest Slimserver. I'm testing on my LAN.

Thanks,
Peter

Thomas B. Malsbury
2004-07-26, 11:06
ssh through SoftSqueeze appears to be broken since the release of v0.6.3
and still appears to be in v0.6.4.

I have been using ssh with 0.6.2 without any problems since its release.
I suggest that you try a version before 0.6.3.

Richard: I think you should note in the vesrion notes that ssh is
broken in the newer releases.

Tom



Peter Olufsen wrote:

>Hi,
>
>I'm trying to set up an openssh-connection to my slimserver as described on
>the SoftSqueeze-page, but i think i'm missing something / doing something
>wrong.
>
>I can connect to the server from another computer through Putty, and i can
>also connect from and use SoftSqueeze but only if I open port 9000 and 3483
>as well as port 22 ???
>Do I have to foreward additional ports in SoftSqueeze ?
>
>I use Win-XP, the latest SoftSqueese-version (pre 0.6.4), java 1.5.0 beta 2
>and the latest Slimserver. I'm testing on my LAN.
>
>Thanks,
>Peter
>
>

Peter Olufsen
2004-07-26, 14:15
Thanks Tom, 0.6.2 is okay.

The only reason I used 0.6.4 was that the version-notes says:
Changes: - Fixed ssh tunnel bug - Changed the audio buffering (again!).

Peter
----- Original Message -----
From: "Thomas B. Malsbury" <slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, July 26, 2004 8:06 PM
Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze / OpenSSH


> ssh through SoftSqueeze appears to be broken since the release of v0.6.3
> and still appears to be in v0.6.4.
>
> I have been using ssh with 0.6.2 without any problems since its release.
> I suggest that you try a version before 0.6.3.
>
> Richard: I think you should note in the vesrion notes that ssh is
> broken in the newer releases.
>
> Tom
>
>
>
> Peter Olufsen wrote:
>
> >Hi,
> >
> >I'm trying to set up an openssh-connection to my slimserver as described
on
> >the SoftSqueeze-page, but i think i'm missing something / doing something
> >wrong.
> >
> >I can connect to the server from another computer through Putty, and i
can
> >also connect from and use SoftSqueeze but only if I open port 9000 and
3483
> >as well as port 22 ???
> >Do I have to foreward additional ports in SoftSqueeze ?
> >
> >I use Win-XP, the latest SoftSqueese-version (pre 0.6.4), java 1.5.0 beta
2
> >and the latest Slimserver. I'm testing on my LAN.
> >
> >Thanks,
> >Peter
> >
> >

rtitmuss
2004-07-28, 13:37
Ah, and I thought I had fixed it ssh in pre-0.6.4! I am currently chasing an
audio buffering bug, but if all goes well will have another release
including a fix for ssh later this week.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Peter Olufsen" <po (AT) dsinet (DOT) dk>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, July 26, 2004 10:15 PM
Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze / OpenSSH


> Thanks Tom, 0.6.2 is okay.
>
> The only reason I used 0.6.4 was that the version-notes says:
> Changes: - Fixed ssh tunnel bug - Changed the audio buffering (again!).
>
> Peter
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Thomas B. Malsbury" <slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Monday, July 26, 2004 8:06 PM
> Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze / OpenSSH
>
>
> > ssh through SoftSqueeze appears to be broken since the release of v0.6.3
> > and still appears to be in v0.6.4.
> >
> > I have been using ssh with 0.6.2 without any problems since its release.
> > I suggest that you try a version before 0.6.3.
> >
> > Richard: I think you should note in the vesrion notes that ssh is
> > broken in the newer releases.
> >
> > Tom
> >
> >
> >
> > Peter Olufsen wrote:
> >
> > >Hi,
> > >
> > >I'm trying to set up an openssh-connection to my slimserver as
described
> on
> > >the SoftSqueeze-page, but i think i'm missing something / doing
something
> > >wrong.
> > >
> > >I can connect to the server from another computer through Putty, and i
> can
> > >also connect from and use SoftSqueeze but only if I open port 9000 and
> 3483
> > >as well as port 22 ???
> > >Do I have to foreward additional ports in SoftSqueeze ?
> > >
> > >I use Win-XP, the latest SoftSqueese-version (pre 0.6.4), java 1.5.0
beta
> 2
> > >and the latest Slimserver. I'm testing on my LAN.
> > >
> > >Thanks,
> > >Peter
> > >
> > >