PDA

View Full Version : What has happened sound effects on SB3?



lagosirio
2009-12-01, 00:50
I don't find a thread about that: What has happened to the nice sound effect features which have been offered by the SB3 some time ago? I remember things like 'bon fire', 'thunder', 'traffic', 'waves' and so on. May be they have been in the extras-section, I don't remember.
Now I can find on SB Server only "Alarm Clock", "Music Source", "Info Browser" and "Podcasts".
(Version: 7.4.1 - r28947 )
Have they been eliminated with one of the recent updates?
LS

lrossouw
2009-12-01, 01:46
It is now an app that you can install.

lagosirio
2009-12-01, 03:29
Oh, interesting, thanx!
However: I do'nt see the structure shown here
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Image:Menu_differences_between_733_and_74.jpg
I still have 'Extras' and 'Internet Radio' but NO App Gallery.
But: I have just checked and see in the Settings/Plugins-Section under "Active Plugins" indeed "Sound & Effects" however: it is greyed out but ticked.
What can I do to use it?
LS

toby10
2009-12-01, 03:38
Do you have a www.MySqueezeBox.com account?
What computer type and OS are you running SBS 7.4 on?

lagosirio
2009-12-01, 03:44
Ah, I got it I think.
This is all about MySqueezebox.com, not about SqueezeCenter.
In MySqueezebox.com I found the App not and have installed it. (My first App ever...)
And now - there is now indeed the MyApps-Section in Squeezecenter.
Thank you for your help!

usch
2009-12-01, 03:50
I noticed that the sounds do not loop on the SB1. They just play once and then stop, which makes them not too useful. Is that expected behaviour, or is it a bug?

toby10
2009-12-01, 04:10
I noticed that the sounds do not loop on the SB1. They just play once and then stop, which makes them not too useful. Is that expected behaviour, or is it a bug?

Which sound and what duration after which is it stopping?

corbey
2009-12-01, 09:09
Why do so many things, like sound effects and podcasts, depend on mysqueezebox.com now. Is is just so Squeeze Radio users won't have to turn on their computers and figure out Squeezebox Server?

iPhone
2009-12-01, 09:24
Speaking of the sound effects, is there a means to get them permanently on the server?

They now seem useless if ones Internet is down or am I doing something wrong? Comcast is doing a major equipment upgrade so the Internet is down from about 22:00 to 06:00 everyday and the better half can't go to sleep by Ocean Surf because the Boom can't get to mysb.com.

I have some relaxation CDs ripped but all of them have light music along with the natural sounds and the better half has really gotten used to the nice natural sounds only coming from the Squeezebox. Looks like there is no going back now.

johnas
2009-12-01, 10:09
Speaking of the sound effects, is there a means to get them permanently on the server?


This is also a problem for me, my SO likes ocean waves to fall asleep to but our flaky Internet connection means it constantly re-buffers or loses connection to mysqueezebox.

If I roll back to 7.3.4 are the sounds stored on my local server?

snarlydwarf
2009-12-01, 10:35
Why do so many things, like sound effects and podcasts, depend on mysqueezebox.com now. Is is just so Squeeze Radio users won't have to turn on their computers and figure out Squeezebox Server?

Sound effects always relied on Squeezenet/MySB.

The sounds themselves are not on your computer, nor have they ever been.

snarlydwarf
2009-12-01, 10:38
This is also a problem for me, my SO likes ocean waves to fall asleep to but our flaky Internet connection means it constantly re-buffers or loses connection to mysqueezebox.

If I roll back to 7.3.4 are the sounds stored on my local server?

No, they have never been local.

(It used to be you actually had to sign onto SN to get them... then it became more transparent in switching, the reorganization of SN->MySB just makes that transparency less, well, transparent.)

(The reason for this is not just size, as I recall, it also has to do with the licenses on the sounds and their 'redistribute' clauses.)

Goodsounds
2009-12-01, 11:34
..is there a means to get them permanently on the server?


Easily, with Softsqueeze (or its equivalent) and Audacity (or its equivalent). Take a 5 minute segment, then expand it to whatever length you want.

andyg
2009-12-01, 11:54
All the sound effects/nature sounds fit completely into the player's buffer. After it downloads it once there is no additional network traffic for the audio. You should not have any problem like that.

johnas
2009-12-01, 12:33
All the sound effects/nature sounds fit completely into the player's buffer. After it downloads it once there is no additional network traffic for the audio. You should not have any problem like that.

Interesting, thanks for this. Whenever I have buffering problems I assumed it was my Internet connection or 7.4. Sometimes I have rebuffering problems or a complete stop after a few minutes of the sound. Do you know why I would experience this with my Boom if the sound is downloading to the buffer and just looping on the player?

(I have no buffering issues when playing files locally from my SBS)

andyg
2009-12-01, 12:42
I have no idea why you would have any problems with the sounds. They should play in a loop basically forever as long as you have power. :)

toby10
2009-12-01, 15:29
All the sound effects/nature sounds fit completely into the player's buffer. After it downloads it once there is no additional network traffic for the audio. You should not have any problem like that.

Although I did know the sound effects originated from SN/MySB, I did not know they were just a buffer fill & loop.
I started one, disconnected the SB3's ethernet, 45 minutes later it was still playing. :)

usch
2009-12-01, 17:43
Which sound and what duration after which is it stopping?
Every sound, and after whatever the length of the MP3 is.

For example, loop://www.mysqueezebox.com/static/sounds/effects/scuba_diver.mp3 stops after 27 seconds on both of my SB1s while the Boom in the same sync group keeps bubbling on. Likewise loop://www.mysqueezebox.com/static/sounds/effects/city.mp3 stops after about 2 minutes on the SB1.

I don't believe that the SB1 has a buffer that can hold 2 minutes of audio at all, so it must be fed by the server anyway. I'm only wondering whether the server is supposed to do the looping but fails to do so, or if it just isn't supported.

andyg
2009-12-01, 18:24
Ohh, SB1, the sounds are not supported on SB1, sorry.

usch
2009-12-01, 19:12
No problem, I was just curious. :)