PDA

View Full Version : constant software updates!!



wduncan
2009-11-19, 06:53
The button most used on my Transporter and Squeezebox remotes is "brightness". Virtually every time I use them, some update is required, either Rhapsody or Logitech. What is going on!

funkstar
2009-11-19, 08:19
What server version are you using?

Are you also using MySqueezebox.com (previously called SqueezeNetwork)?

If the server you are using is older than 7.4 then you will be prompted to change firmware when you change back and forth between the two servers. To stop this update to to 7.4.1 (or 7.4.2 nightly build) and the problem should go away.

wduncan
2009-11-19, 08:49
I upgrade the server every time I'm asked (there's one pending right now, actually), but independent of that each of my devices requires an update almost every time I use it.

funkstar
2009-11-19, 10:46
Hmmm ok, that's not right.

try a factory reset of the player, see if that clears it up.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/PlayerFirmware

radish
2009-11-19, 10:51
If you're updating the server frequently you could be on a nightly, which isn't what you want if you want it stable! What version of SBS are you running, specifically?

wduncan
2009-11-19, 12:23
Hmmm ok, that's not right.

try a factory reset of the player, see if that clears it up.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/PlayerFirmware

My squeezebox had just ground to a halt. I pressed "play" and whatever other key it was on the remote and the whole system set itself up again from scratch. But after a week or two it went back to the frequent upgrade demands.

In the case of the Rhapsody upgrades, I can't tell whether it's Rhapsody or Logitch that's requiring the upgrade.

But I now have the most recent 7.4.1 and we'll see if it continues.

wduncan
2009-11-19, 14:10
If you're updating the server frequently you could be on a nightly, which isn't what you want if you want it stable! What version of SBS are you running, specifically?


On the transporter the mysqueezebox.com SS # is: r28973. Does that make sense? Is that the number you mean? It also says, Firmware: 80

gcurrie
2009-11-19, 15:06
You're running SBS 7.4.1, based on what you said in your second to last post.

wduncan
2009-11-19, 16:10
You're running SBS 7.4.1, based on what you said in your second to last post.

On my server. Wasn't sure which device you were asking about.

I hadn't realized that thread was on this topic until I'd made my initial post. It must come up often...