PDA

View Full Version : How to Switch from SBS to MySB?



Apesbrain
2009-11-16, 17:35
If I've just listened to my local server and now have switched to Rhapsody, does the Radio know the server is no longer needed and let it shut down? Or, how do I manually switch Radio source from server to network? I'd prefer my server to go back to standby if its not needed.

toby10
2009-11-17, 03:49
You must switch manually.

If Radio is currently on SBS: from Radio go to Settings > Advanced > Networking > "connect to MySB.com"

If SBS is turned off first: from Radio go to Internet Radio or My Apps and MySB.com will be offered

carrera
2009-11-17, 05:30
Hi,

first, I do not have a radio yet, but planning to do so...

So heres the way how it works with my SBClassic.

I just press the left arrow on the remote for about 5 sec, after that it comes directly to the config menue where I can select the connection.

But AFAIK the radio does not come with a remote... so maybe you could emulate this with direct operation.

Kind regards
carrera

pippin
2009-11-17, 05:35
Hi,

first, I do not have a radio yet, but planning to do so...

So heres the way how it works with my SBClassic.

I just press the left arrow on the remote for about 5 sec, after that it comes directly to the config menue where I can select the connection.

But AFAIK the radio does not come with a remote... so maybe you could emulate this with direct operation.

Kind regards
carrera

Radio is different. It switches sources when you either select Internet Radio/My Apps (switches to MySB if SBS is down) or "My Music" (switches to SBS).

Apesbrain
2009-11-17, 07:37
If Radio is currently on SBS: from Radio go to Settings > Advanced > Networking > "connect to MySB.com"
Easy enough and totally my oversight; I somehow didn't see that option on the "Networking" menu. Thanks.

toby10
2009-11-17, 09:49
Easy enough and totally my oversight; I somehow didn't see that option on the "Networking" menu. Thanks.

There was some discussion in beta about adding a Switch Server menu item that one could then bring forward to the Home Menu for such manual switching.
But I'm not sure that ever actually made it to the Radio. I'm traveling for biz so i cannot check on my Radio. :(

pippin
2009-11-17, 10:54
There was some discussion in beta about adding a Switch Server menu item that one could then bring forward to the Home Menu for such manual switching.
But I'm not sure that ever actually made it to the Radio. I'm traveling for biz so i cannot check on my Radio. :(

It's there.

toby10
2009-11-18, 03:11
It's there.

Thanks pippin. :)

Apesbrain: Go to your Radio's Settings > Home Menu and select Switch Server.
This will bring your desired functionality to the Home Menu so you won't have to drill all the way through to Networking. You can also use this item to get back to SBS from MySB, same as selecting My Music.

pippin
2009-11-18, 05:00
Thanks pippin. :)

Apesbrain: Go to your Radio's Settings > Home Menu and select Switch Server.
This will bring your desired functionality to the Home Menu so you won't have to drill all the way through to Networking. You can also use this item to get back to SBS from MySB, same as selecting My Music.

But again, read my post above: there is absolutely no need to do all this unless you want to remotely control the Radio e.g. with iPeng, the Web Interface or the Controller.

Apesbrain
2009-11-18, 06:12
Apesbrain: Go to your Radio's Settings > Home Menu and select Switch Server.

What am I missing? I don't have "Switch Server" on my Settings > Home Menu available selects.



But again, read my post above: there is absolutely no need to do all this unless you want to remotely control the Radio e.g. with iPeng, the Web Interface or the Controller.

My experience is that you need to manually switch back to MySB after using SBS if you want to stop your server from starting whenever you just want to listen to internet radio or online music services.

pippin
2009-11-18, 06:26
What am I missing? I don't have "Switch Server" on my Settings > Home Menu available selects.

It's "select source" or something, under "Settings", maybe "Settings->Advanced".
Would have to look it up, which I can't right now.


My experience is that you need to manually switch back to MySB after using SBS if you want to stop your server from starting whenever you just want to listen to internet radio or online music services.

Ah, you are using WOL? OK, I understand that, thought you are physically shutting down the server.

toby10
2009-11-18, 09:28
What am I missing? I don't have "Switch Server" on my Settings > Home Menu available selects......

Sorry, it's Switch to MySB.com, close to the end of the list within SBS > Settings > Home Menu
I think your Radio must be on SBS for this option to appear as an item to be selectable from the Settings > Home Menu list.

toby10
2009-11-18, 09:55
....
Ah, you are using WOL? OK, I understand that, thought you are physically shutting down the server.

Yeah, he's just looking for a quicker way to switch the Radio from SBS to MySB without turning off SBS or having to drill to Settings > Advanced > Networking > Connect to MySB

Personally, I still think this should just be a universal "Switch Server" on the Home Menu. If I'm on SBS it offers MySB (which it does when you select Switch to MySB as a Home Menu item). But if I'm on MySB this option disappears (which makes sense since I'm already connected to MySB), but here I would have it say "Switch to SBS".

I know switching to SBS is easily achieved by simply going to either Switch Library or My Music where SBS will be offered. It just seems more consistent and more sensible to have a simple Home Menu item that simply offers the "other" server, IMHO. :)

Apesbrain
2009-11-18, 10:47
Ideally this source switching would be done automatically and transparently in the background. This distinction between MySB and SBS is unnecessary and holds back adoption of the device by non-tech users, e.g. my SO. Logic should be built into the Radio (and other SB devices) that says "if what I request to play is available on the internet, get it there; if it requires the server (i.e. "My Music"), start it up and connect; if it doesn't require the server, let it shut down". Fortunately, I subscribe to Rhapsody which means I can pretty much just leave the Radio attached to MySB and play anything. Unfortunately, many of the things I play are already on my server in a higher quality format.

toby10
2009-11-18, 11:43
Ideally this source switching would be done automatically and transparently in the background.....

This is exactly what they are shooting for, but it is not easy to accomplish with so many different and varied user scenarios.

For many, if currently on MySB then selecting My Music should just switch to the local SBS (it does this now with one extra click on the Radio).
And if on SBS then selecting Internet Radio or any Music Service within Apps should just switch to MySB.

But then for many others, like myself, I don't want to be pushed to MySB for such usage preferring to stay on SBS for it's added features & benefits when using Internet Radio and Music Services.

I completely understand both preferences. But now how do you accommodate both?? That's the hard part. :)