PDA

View Full Version : Seriously p*****d off! (rant)

benhaines
2009-11-15, 08:35
Dear SlimDevices/Logitech,

Please stop changing the bloody software! I have been using your products for 6 years now and am getting to the point of giving up!

Unless you are an uber-geek, each controller update takes a good 15 minutes to work out. My partner now simply unplugs the Receiver and plugs in her iPod because "it is [squeezebox] too complicated and rarely works!".

Today I found another update which has completely changed the menu items around. WTF is an App? Where is my Last.fm service gone? How do I connect to the squeezenetwork? Why when I attempt to install an App using the "Applet Installer" does the receiver never get beyond the "Fetching Applet List" stage... seriously, and this coming from a geek. Give me something user friendly that works.

Rant over.

Yours sincerely, Ben

exile
2009-11-15, 08:53
while your approach is a bit too direct, you have a valid point.

I too am a long time user of the product and I completely agree. The engineers at Logitech need to be put under control. squeeze server has become way too bloated and the fact that the entire menu structure has gotten rebuilt is pretty near insane.

I would think the goal is to maximize sales and not to cater solely to techno geeks. I just hope at some point things can be redirected back to simplicity and ease of use.

jmpage2
2009-11-15, 09:05
Dear SlimDevices/Logitech,

Please stop changing the bloody software! I have been using your products for 6 years now and am getting to the point of giving up!

Unless you are an uber-geek, each controller update takes a good 15 minutes to work out. My partner now simply unplugs the Receiver and plugs in her iPod because "it is [squeezebox] too complicated and rarely works!".