PDA

View Full Version : Radio with a NAS



jamesg1979
2009-11-10, 13:16
I've got a classic and it streams from my Buffalo Linkstation Pro using Squeezecenter 7.3.3. Works great which makes me happy :)

Just got a SB Radio, not arrived yet, but will it work with 7.3.3 and my NAS or am I going to have to go back to using my PC with 7.4?

Any thouhts?

iPhone
2009-11-10, 13:19
I've got a classic and it streams from my Buffalo Linkstation Pro using Squeezecenter 7.3.3. Works great which makes me happy :)

Just got a SB Radio, not arrived yet, but will it work with 7.3.3 and my NAS or am I going to have to go back to using my PC with 7.4?

Any thouhts?

The SB Radio requires SBS 7.4.1 so if you can't put that on the BLP, then yes, back to your PC.

jamesg1979
2009-11-10, 13:23
Thanks iphone. That version is not out yet as an IPTK (if that's what it's called), shame really but never mind.

bluegaspode
2009-11-10, 13:53
there are ways to make a radio run with 7.3 (just search the forums).
Unfortunalely its a bit ugly (not all radio-stations playing - and other annoying stuff).

That why I installed Debian Lenny on my Linkstation, needed this to get my radio running as well ...

jamesg1979
2009-11-11, 01:54
Thanks mate, the thought of dismantling the linkstation, and losing all the other features I've set up fill me with absolute dread!
I think I'll just go back to the PC - in all honesty my PC is still switched on 24/7 even though it doesn't need to be - just habit I guess.

Thanks again for your reply, maybe 7.4 will be made easy on the linkstation one day. :)

aubuti
2009-11-11, 07:05
Thanks again for your reply, maybe 7.4 will be made easy on the linkstation one day. :)
I expect it will. Keep your eyes on the various LS threads in the 3rd Party Hardware forum.