PDA

View Full Version : softsqueeze & squeeze box sync problems



Bill Taney
2004-07-19, 06:32
The file format is mp3 and most are vbr files ripped with EAC. I am running slimserver 5.2.1 and am running softsqueeze pre-63. I have a wireless squeezebox and a soft squeeze. I have tried syncing from the web interface and have tried syncing from the softsqueeze. I do think I have experimented with having the squeezebox lead, but I don't remember clearly if I did.
Thanks
Bill


Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
Hi Bill,

Over the last couple of weeks I have been recovering from some hardware
failure at home (due to a lightening strike), and my desktop has a new
motherboard and sound card. Now Softsqueeze no longer appears to play in
sync with my squeezebox :(. I plan to look at this later in the week.

It would help to know:
- What version of the slimserver you are using
- What file format, mp3, flac, etc?. If you are using a lossless format
have you ripped one track to a file, or one album to a file.
- Which player leads, Softsqueeze or the Squeezebox?

Regards,
Richard



Bill Taney wrote:

> Thanks for all your help. Now that I have softsqueeze launching with
> Java 1.5.2 beta I can select that option of "Primary Sound Driver".
> However while this does improve the syncing, it still has a delay and
> after several tracks get's significantly worse. Any other ideas. I
> couldn't find much else in the way of configuration. The sound card I
> am using is a soundblaster audigy.
>
> */kdf /* wrote:
>
> perhaps that option is missing unless you have the latest Java
> Beta from Sun?
> it should appear in the list with "java sound audio engine". The
> Beta is
> required in order to properly sync.
> -kdf
> Quoting Bill Taney :
>
> >
>
>------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>

rtitmuss
2004-07-22, 12:54
Bill,

I have just uploaded Softsqueeze pre-0.6.4 to Sourceforge. Could you see if
this makes a difference. Most of the time this syncs fine for me,
occasionally I get a delay but I have not worked out why yet.

If not which player is delayed, Softsqueeze or the Squeezebox? If you stop
the track (press on hold pause until the display says stopped), then press
play does this resync the players?

Are you trying to use the PC at the same time as playing music? It is
possible that Softsqueeze may lose time if the PC is busy. Could you test
when no other programs (including screensavers) are running.

Thanks,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Bill Taney" <bill (AT) taney (DOT) net>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, July 19, 2004 2:32 PM
Subject: [slim] softsqueeze & squeeze box sync problems


> The file format is mp3 and most are vbr files ripped with EAC. I am
running slimserver 5.2.1 and am running softsqueeze pre-63. I have a
wireless squeezebox and a soft squeeze. I have tried syncing from the web
interface and have tried syncing from the softsqueeze. I do think I have
experimented with having the squeezebox lead, but I don't remember clearly
if I did.
> Thanks
> Bill
>
>
> Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
> Hi Bill,
>
> Over the last couple of weeks I have been recovering from some hardware
> failure at home (due to a lightening strike), and my desktop has a new
> motherboard and sound card. Now Softsqueeze no longer appears to play in
> sync with my squeezebox :(. I plan to look at this later in the week.
>
> It would help to know:
> - What version of the slimserver you are using
> - What file format, mp3, flac, etc?. If you are using a lossless format
> have you ripped one track to a file, or one album to a file.
> - Which player leads, Softsqueeze or the Squeezebox?
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>
>
> Bill Taney wrote:
>
> > Thanks for all your help. Now that I have softsqueeze launching with
> > Java 1.5.2 beta I can select that option of "Primary Sound Driver".
> > However while this does improve the syncing, it still has a delay and
> > after several tracks get's significantly worse. Any other ideas. I
> > couldn't find much else in the way of configuration. The sound card I
> > am using is a soundblaster audigy.
> >
> > */kdf /* wrote:
> >
> > perhaps that option is missing unless you have the latest Java
> > Beta from Sun?
> > it should appear in the list with "java sound audio engine". The
> > Beta is
> > required in order to properly sync.
> > -kdf
> > Quoting Bill Taney :
> >
> > >
> >
> >------------------------------------------------------------------------
> >
> >