PDA

View Full Version : Troubleshooting Squeezebox V1?



jmpage2
2009-11-09, 19:54
I notice that there are no longer any forums dedicated to older Squeezebox hardware. I'm still hoping I can get some troubleshooting help for my circa 2003 Squeezebox V1.

My Squeezebox V1 (FW40) started having issues about a week ago. Every night, at the same time, it will show that it has disconnected from the Squeezebox Server (7.4.1). A ping test shows that it in fact has lost network connectivity.

I initially thought this was a DHCP issue with the IP address not being renewed. The last time the issue happened I rebooted my router which should have flushed the DHCP bindings so that apparently is not the problem.

I've also replaced the network cable to the device and changed out the network switch port. None of the other devices on the network switch are having any issues.

I have also done a reset on the Squeezebox hardware by holding down the add button on the remote while powering it up.

The only unusual thing I can remember from the time when the problem began is that this device seems my Squeezebox Server as having the name "Gizmo" while all of my other Slim Device hardware sees the server name as "gizmo". Not sure it really matters.

Does anyone know of any way to do any further hardware debugging on the unit before giving up for good?

Thanks.

radish
2009-11-09, 21:08
I notice that there are no longer any forums dedicated to older Squeezebox hardware.
There never were :(



I initially thought this was a DHCP issue with the IP address not being renewed. The last time the issue happened I rebooted my router which should have flushed the DHCP bindings so that apparently is not the problem.

Lease expiry doesn't typically cause these types of issues (in my experience most client devices aren't polite enough to stop using an IP they can't renew!). However, I think it would be worth setting up the player with a static IP to rule out anything like that.

Other than that the fact that it always happens at the same time points strongly to an external cause - as the player doesn't know what time it is :) I'd look at things like machine restarts, power fluctuations, any kind of environmental change. Even temperature change?

jmpage2
2009-11-09, 21:10
There never were :(


Lease expiry doesn't typically cause these types of issues (in my experience most client devices aren't polite enough to stop using an IP they can't renew!). However, I think it would be worth setting up the player with a static IP to rule out anything like that.

Other than that the fact that it always happens at the same time points strongly to an external cause - as the player doesn't know what time it is :) I'd look at things like machine restarts, power fluctuations, any kind of environmental change. Even temperature change?

I've just swapped the V1 for a V2 that I have. Same network cable, power supply, etc. We'll see if this one starts acting flakey also.

Since it is losing the network it is possible that some weird thing is going on, so if it continues to happen then I might put a laptop sniffer with a hub on it and stop the sniff after the problem begins.

I would be suspicious of some goofy arp behavior or maybe it thinks it can't see the server (even though all the other Squeezeboxes do!).

jmpage2
2009-11-11, 20:24
Well, my SB V2 ran for 48 hours with no issues when hooked up to all the same wired connections as the V1.

So, I took apart the V1. I notice that one pin on the wireless pcmcia card slot is broken so I removed the wi-fi card.

I booted it up and immediately noticed it is acting "weird". During setup it would keep resetting itself, right at the point where I was typing in the server IP, etc.

Finally got through server setup and it's working, but I have low confidence in this device now.

In all likelihood it is shot and only usable for parts for another V1 unit, so I will start investigating trying to pick up a used V3.

jmpage2
2009-11-14, 14:39
Interestingly my problem does appear to be some kind of dhcp issue. I put a static address on the box and it has not had a hiccup in over 24 hours.

I will have to put it back on dhcp and get a sniff of what is going on what it gets itself into trouble.