PDA

View Full Version : firmware update



Graham Ridgway at home
2004-07-17, 14:59
I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest (released)
server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed. How do I
go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?

Graham
PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!

Graham Ridgway at home
2004-07-18, 13:58
anyone? Please? Pretty please?
Graham
----- Original Message -----
From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
Subject: [slim] firmware update


> I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest (released)
> server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed. How do
I
> go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
>
> Graham
> PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
>
>

kdf
2004-07-18, 14:32
try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote to trigger
the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
-kdf

Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:

> anyone? Please? Pretty please?
> Graham
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
> To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>
>
> > I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest (released)
> > server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed. How do
> I
> > go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
> >
> > Graham
> > PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
> >
> >

Graham Ridgway at home
2004-07-18, 14:51
thanks. I have the standard remote, how do I trigger upgrade mode?
Graham
----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 10:32 PM
Subject: [slim] firmware update


> try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote to
trigger
> the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
> -kdf
>
> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
>
> > anyone? Please? Pretty please?
> > Graham
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
> > To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> > Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
> > Subject: [slim] firmware update
> >
> >
> > > I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest
(released)
> > > server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed. How
do
> > I
> > > go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
> > >
> > > Graham
> > > PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
> > >
> > >

kdf
2004-07-18, 15:48
Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:

> thanks. I have the standard remote, how do I trigger upgrade mode?
> Graham

you have to press and hold the brightness button to put a squeezebox into
firmware upgrade. If you are using the jvc style codes, they only have
brightness_up and brightness_down. What should work, is if you edit the
IR/jvc_dvd.ir file and change brightness_up (or brightness_down) to brightness.
restart the server, press and hold CH- or CH+ depending on which code you
edited. for slimp3, all you need to do is push and hold any button while you
plug the post supply back into the slimp3.

cheers,
kdf

> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 10:32 PM
> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>
>
> > try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote to
> trigger
> > the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
> > -kdf
> >
> > Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
> >
> > > anyone? Please? Pretty please?
> > > Graham
> > > ----- Original Message -----
> > > From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
> > > To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> > > Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
> > > Subject: [slim] firmware update
> > >
> > >
> > > > I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest
> (released)
> > > > server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed. How
> do
> > > I
> > > > go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
> > > >
> > > > Graham
> > > > PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
> > > >
> > > >

Graham Ridgway at home
2004-07-19, 13:57
ahhh, thanks.
Graham
----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 11:48 PM
Subject: [slim] firmware update


> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
>
> > thanks. I have the standard remote, how do I trigger upgrade mode?
> > Graham
>
> you have to press and hold the brightness button to put a squeezebox into
> firmware upgrade. If you are using the jvc style codes, they only have
> brightness_up and brightness_down. What should work, is if you edit the
> IR/jvc_dvd.ir file and change brightness_up (or brightness_down) to
brightness.
> restart the server, press and hold CH- or CH+ depending on which code you
> edited. for slimp3, all you need to do is push and hold any button while
you
> plug the post supply back into the slimp3.
>
> cheers,
> kdf
>
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> > To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> > Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 10:32 PM
> > Subject: [slim] firmware update
> >
> >
> > > try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote to
> > trigger
> > > the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
> > > -kdf
> > >
> > > Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
> > >
> > > > anyone? Please? Pretty please?
> > > > Graham
> > > > ----- Original Message -----
> > > > From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
> > > > To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> > > > Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
> > > > Subject: [slim] firmware update
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > > I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest
> > (released)
> > > > > server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed.
How
> > do
> > > > I
> > > > > go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
> > > > >
> > > > > Graham
> > > > > PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
> > > > >
> > > > >

seanadams
2004-07-19, 14:57
Graham,

Actually you don't need to change anything on the server, as the
press-and-hold brightness code is a special one that we handle
client-side (like press-and-hold power to reset).

So you should be able to just press and hold CH+. I just tested this on
a unit here and it works for me.

Sean

On Jul 19, 2004, at 1:57 PM, Graham Ridgway at home wrote:

> ahhh, thanks.
> Graham
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 11:48 PM
> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>
>
>> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
>>
>>> thanks. I have the standard remote, how do I trigger upgrade mode?
>>> Graham
>>
>> you have to press and hold the brightness button to put a squeezebox
>> into
>> firmware upgrade. If you are using the jvc style codes, they only
>> have
>> brightness_up and brightness_down. What should work, is if you edit
>> the
>> IR/jvc_dvd.ir file and change brightness_up (or brightness_down) to
> brightness.
>> restart the server, press and hold CH- or CH+ depending on which
>> code you
>> edited. for slimp3, all you need to do is push and hold any button
>> while
> you
>> plug the post supply back into the slimp3.
>>
>> cheers,
>> kdf
>>
>>> ----- Original Message -----
>>> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>>> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>>> Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 10:32 PM
>>> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>>>
>>>
>>>> try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote
>>>> to
>>> trigger
>>>> the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
>>>> -kdf
>>>>
>>>> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
>>>>
>>>>> anyone? Please? Pretty please?
>>>>> Graham
>>>>> ----- Original Message -----
>>>>> From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
>>>>> To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>>>>> Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
>>>>> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>> I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest
>>> (released)
>>>>>> server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed.
> How
>>> do
>>>>> I
>>>>>> go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Graham
>>>>>> PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
>>>>>>
>>>>>>

Graham Ridgway at home
2004-07-19, 15:24
thanks Sean,

I was trying to use the brightness button on my slimp3s which, ahem, didn't
work! The power on with a numeric key pressed of course does work! Just
need to do the other bit to do the firmware upgrades (I ran out of time).

Had another strange thing though. Having updated the server software to the
latest for the squeezeboxes, I have been getting double entries for the
slimp3s. They still work, but the display cycles between "now playing
nothing" and "now playing <song details>". "forgetting" the rogue entry
sorts it out. Not sure yet whether it will recur.

And finally, please thank Ralissa for getting the 3 squeezeboxes delivered
with UK power supplies to New York for me. They are great BTW.

Graham
----- Original Message -----
From: "Sean Adams" <sadams (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, July 19, 2004 10:57 PM
Subject: [slim] firmware update


>
> Graham,
>
> Actually you don't need to change anything on the server, as the
> press-and-hold brightness code is a special one that we handle
> client-side (like press-and-hold power to reset).
>
> So you should be able to just press and hold CH+. I just tested this on
> a unit here and it works for me.
>
> Sean
>
> On Jul 19, 2004, at 1:57 PM, Graham Ridgway at home wrote:
>
> > ahhh, thanks.
> > Graham
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> > To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> > Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 11:48 PM
> > Subject: [slim] firmware update
> >
> >
> >> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
> >>
> >>> thanks. I have the standard remote, how do I trigger upgrade mode?
> >>> Graham
> >>
> >> you have to press and hold the brightness button to put a squeezebox
> >> into
> >> firmware upgrade. If you are using the jvc style codes, they only
> >> have
> >> brightness_up and brightness_down. What should work, is if you edit
> >> the
> >> IR/jvc_dvd.ir file and change brightness_up (or brightness_down) to
> > brightness.
> >> restart the server, press and hold CH- or CH+ depending on which
> >> code you
> >> edited. for slimp3, all you need to do is push and hold any button
> >> while
> > you
> >> plug the post supply back into the slimp3.
> >>
> >> cheers,
> >> kdf
> >>
> >>> ----- Original Message -----
> >>> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> >>> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> >>> Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 10:32 PM
> >>> Subject: [slim] firmware update
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>> try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote
> >>>> to
> >>> trigger
> >>>> the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
> >>>> -kdf
> >>>>
> >>>> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
> >>>>
> >>>>> anyone? Please? Pretty please?
> >>>>> Graham
> >>>>> ----- Original Message -----
> >>>>> From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
> >>>>> To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> >>>>> Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
> >>>>> Subject: [slim] firmware update
> >>>>>
> >>>>>
> >>>>>> I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest
> >>> (released)
> >>>>>> server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed.
> > How
> >>> do
> >>>>> I
> >>>>>> go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>> Graham
> >>>>>> PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
> >>>>>>
> >>>>>>

Harry McQuillen
2004-07-19, 16:18
is there ANY way to re-set the firmware other than holding
the brightness button? I have lost my remote. I would consider
buying a universal remote if it could fix my unit today but it seems
there should be some hardware firmware update feature. I never
use the remote anyway, just wifi laptops

-Harry

At 2:57 PM -0700 7/19/04, Sean Adams wrote:
>Graham,
>
>Actually you don't need to change anything on the server, as the
>press-and-hold brightness code is a special one that we handle
>client-side (like press-and-hold power to reset).
>
>So you should be able to just press and hold CH+. I just tested this
>on a unit here and it works for me.
>
>Sean

seanadams
2004-07-19, 16:33
>
> Had another strange thing though. Having updated the server software
> to the
> latest for the squeezeboxes, I have been getting double entries for the
> slimp3s. They still work, but the display cycles between "now playing
> nothing" and "now playing <song details>". "forgetting" the rogue
> entry
> sorts it out. Not sure yet whether it will recur.

Not sure about that... if it's been a very long time since you updated
the server software, then it may be due to a change in how we keep
track of which client is which. Probably what you saw was a one-time
glitch due to the upgrade, as it's not a known problem in the current
server.

> And finally, please thank Ralissa for getting the 3 squeezeboxes
> delivered
> with UK power supplies to New York for me. They are great BTW.

We do our best! You paid all the duties I hope. ;)

Sean

Robert Zimmerman
2004-07-20, 15:59
>thanks Sean,
>
>I was trying to use the brightness button on my slimp3s which, ahem, didn't
>work! The power on with a numeric key pressed of course does work! Just
>need to do the other bit to do the firmware upgrades (I ran out of time).
>
>Had another strange thing though. Having updated the server software to the
>latest for the squeezeboxes, I have been getting double entries for the
>slimp3s. They still work, but the display cycles between "now playing
>nothing" and "now playing <song details>". "forgetting" the rogue entry
>sorts it out. Not sure yet whether it will recur.
>
>And finally, please thank Ralissa for getting the 3 squeezeboxes delivered
>with UK power supplies to New York for me. They are great BTW.
>
>Graham
>----- Original Message -----
>From: "Sean Adams" <sadams (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
>To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>Sent: Monday, July 19, 2004 10:57 PM
>Subject: [slim] firmware update
>
>
>>
>> Graham,
>>
>> Actually you don't need to change anything on the server, as the
>> press-and-hold brightness code is a special one that we handle
>> client-side (like press-and-hold power to reset).
>>
>> So you should be able to just press and hold CH+. I just tested this on
>> a unit here and it works for me.
>>
>> Sean
>>
>> On Jul 19, 2004, at 1:57 PM, Graham Ridgway at home wrote:
>>
>> > ahhh, thanks.
>> > Graham
>> > ----- Original Message -----
>> > From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>> > To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> > Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 11:48 PM
>> > Subject: [slim] firmware update
>> >
>> >
>> >> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
>> >>
>> >>> thanks. I have the standard remote, how do I trigger upgrade mode?
>> >>> Graham
>> >>
>> >> you have to press and hold the brightness button to put a squeezebox
>> >> into
>> >> firmware upgrade. If you are using the jvc style codes, they only
>> >> have
>> >> brightness_up and brightness_down. What should work, is if you edit
>> >> the
>> >> IR/jvc_dvd.ir file and change brightness_up (or brightness_down) to
>> > brightness.
>> >> restart the server, press and hold CH- or CH+ depending on which
>> >> code you
>> >> edited. for slimp3, all you need to do is push and hold any button
>> >> while
>> > you
>> >> plug the post supply back into the slimp3.
>> >>
>> >> cheers,
>> >> kdf
>> >>
>> >>> ----- Original Message -----
>> >>> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>> >>> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> >>> Sent: Sunday, July 18, 2004 10:32 PM
>> >>> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>> >>>
>> >>>
>> >>>> try a universal remote with the JVC dvd codes. you need the remote
>> >>>> to
>> >>> trigger
>> >>>> the upgrade mode for slimp3 or squeezebox.
>> >>>> -kdf
>> >>>>
>> >>>> Quoting Graham Ridgway at home <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>:
>> >>>>
>> >>>>> anyone? Please? Pretty please?
>> >>>>> Graham
>> >>>>> ----- Original Message -----
>> >>>>> From: "Graham Ridgway at home" <graham (AT) ridgworld (DOT) com>
>> >>>>> To: "SLIMP3 Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> >>>>> Sent: Saturday, July 17, 2004 10:59 PM
>> >>>>> Subject: [slim] firmware update
>> >>>>>
>> >>>>>
>> >>>>>> I have just got my 2 new Squeezeboxes and installed the latest
>> >>> (released)
>> >>>>>> server software. They join 4 slimp3s that are already installed.
>> > How
>> >>> do
>> >>>>> I
>> >>>>>> go about updating the firmware of the 'legacy' slimpys?
>> >>>>>>
>> >>>>>> Graham
>> >>>>>> PS they still work brilliantly even if they are out of production!
>> >>>>>>
>> >>>>>>

Graham Ridgway at home
2004-07-22, 15:59
But of course Sean!
Graham
----- Original Message -----
From: "Sean Adams" <sadams (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Cc: "Ralissa Ritner" <ralissa (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
Sent: Tuesday, July 20, 2004 12:33 AM
Subject: [slim] firmware update


> > And finally, please thank Ralissa for getting the 3 squeezeboxes
> > delivered
> > with UK power supplies to New York for me. They are great BTW.
>
> We do our best! You paid all the duties I hope. ;)
>
> Sean
>
>