PDA

View Full Version : A Radio is supposed to play music, not silence...



spyhunter
2009-11-03, 09:26
Why is the top feature of this Internet Radio not the ability to reconnect to an internet radio station when the internet signal drops in speed or hiccups? Who wants to listen to silence? Did the designers expect everybody to have screaming fast broadband?

I have to press play on this thing 20 times a day because our broadband is at best 100K over here in the middle east via satellite. And the play button has to be pressed 3 or 4 times to wake the darn thing out of it's slumber each time! The least they could do is have some kind of a timeout option on this thing, or better yet reconnect as soon as a signal is detected, how hard is that, this is one of those why oh why questions!?!

They spend so much time and effort on other things like redesigning their website (which looks good, but doesn't function for crap with music on-demand services) when they should have had this feature from the get go...

SH

ghostrider
2009-11-03, 14:50
I'm running backlevel sofware so I don't know about the current version SqueezeBox Server but there is a timeout value that you can specify which determines how long the Squeezebox will attempt to reconnect before timing out. You can also increase the buffer value so that if the connection fails music will continue while the SB attempts to reconnect. Both of these options require that you run a local server. I would suspect that they don't allow you to specify these values on mysb.com because everyone would set the values high and use up cpu cycles to manage connections to marginally powered radio sites. By the way, 100K is no where near "broadband".

amcluesent
2009-11-03, 14:58
>better yet reconnect as soon as a signal is detected<

Make your radio station a favourite, then start playing that favourite.

Add the favourite again to the end of the playlist (so that the same station appears twice in the playlist).

Set the player to repeat playlist.

When your 'broadband' drops, that player should just keep cycling around the two items picking up the stream when it can.

spyhunter
2009-11-04, 03:23
Thanks for trying to help, but this doesn't appear to work since it was already set to repeat the playlist, and I already had several stations in my list, so if this were true it would have been playing the other stations when it came back, and it has never changed stations like that, it just comes to a full stop.

SH

bpa
2009-11-04, 03:44
Satellite links have long transmission times - 0.5 secs and radio has small buffer which would affect it packet window size. Which means it could take 1 sec between radio requesting a packet to top up the internal buffer and it actually arriving at the radio. This sort of delay can be tolerated with file transfer or web browsing but not for real time stream of audio.

PC have larger memories and can be more flexible. I think radio has been setup for terrestrial links which may be compromising the performance with a satellite link.

With these compromises and your estimate that the link speed at best 100kbits/sec - I'd be surprised if you could play any radio which has greater that 32kbps.

spyhunter
2009-11-05, 11:15
With the cheap price of RAM nowadays, these devices need to take in consideration satellite links and slower internet.

We are able to stream on-demand music and 128kbps stations on good days, so we may be getting a tad more than 100k speed, however I don't think the streaming speed and internet speed go exactly hand in hand because we can sometimes play different 128kbps channels on several computers, and we definitely don't get 256k or more...

SH

spyhunter
2009-11-05, 11:17
I'm running backlevel sofware so I don't know about the current version SqueezeBox Server but there is a timeout value that you can specify which determines how long the Squeezebox will attempt to reconnect before timing out. You can also increase the buffer value so that if the connection fails music will continue while the SB attempts to reconnect. Both of these options require that you run a local server.

I just installed the server and I couldn't find either of those options, so maybe they've been removed?

SH

Ben Sandee
2009-11-05, 11:26
On Thu, Nov 5, 2009 at 12:17 PM, spyhunter
<spyhunter.416x7z1257445081 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> ghostrider;481342 Wrote:
>> I'm running backlevel sofware so I don't know about the current version
>> SqueezeBox Server but there is a timeout value that you can specify
>> which determines how long the Squeezebox will attempt to reconnect
>> before timing out. You can also increase the buffer value so that if the
>> connection fails music will continue while the SB attempts to reconnect.
>> Both of these options require that you run a local server.
>
> I just installed the server and I couldn't find either of those
> options, so maybe they've been removed?

Look under Server Settings -> Advanced -> Network.

Ben

bpa
2009-11-05, 11:28
The issue is not lack of RAM but possibly relative allocation between audio buffer and network buffer. Mainly I suspect the radio has not been tested on satellite links as they are not that common.


Buffer size can be found here WebUI Settings/Advanced/Network

You may also improve things by getting server to proxy the network connection (i.e. PC will terminate the satellite connection and forward packets to Radio as otherwise streaming connection will terminate in the radio).

WebUI Settings/Player/Player name/Audio/

Change MP3 Streaming method to "proxied". Ignore the MP3 reference - it will proxy all.

brucegrr
2009-11-05, 14:36
Satellite latency + low connection speed.......recipe for the problems you are having.

Your connection speed is nowhere near broadband speed.......Much closer to dial-up.

Please remember that your streaming of radio is just one program/service that is accessing the internet. I suspect you are starting with less than a 100k when you stream radio.

You can try the various suggestions given here..........but I personally doubt you are going to get what you want at 100k. BPA is right.......32k stream maybe........and like you said maybe, maybe, maybe 128K (and that with the proviso that nothing else is taking upbandwidth like web surfing, email, etc)

Bruce

spyhunter
2009-11-07, 12:59
Thanks alot guys, it's already survived a router reboot, so I have faith that this will give us much better reliability, however Logitech really needs to just add an automatic reconnect option, no matter how long the wait.

BTW, is there a term for slow broadband, or is it just that? I always thought it was the equipment that made it broadband, not the speed. Our ISP just limits it due to the amount of sites that 'share' it...

SH