PDA

View Full Version : Bitrate limiting *from* SB3 or Boom?



stephenkca
2009-10-30, 22:08
SqueezeBox Server 7.3.3:

I was sure bitrate limiting was available in the audio settings of the SB3 and Boom in one of the previous versions of the firmware, but I can't find my way to it now. I know how to set bitrate limiting from the server, but I want to set it from the device. Is the function there but buried (and I'm just not finding it), or has it disappeared, or was I dreaming that I used to be able to do this?

(The particular application is that my Boom moves between my dining room, which has great wifi bandwidth, and my bedroom, which has enough stone wall between it and the router to interfere. Yeah, I could put a wifi access point into the attic, but that would require getting a plug in there etc.)

radish
2009-10-30, 22:48
I don't _think_ it's ever been available from the player, but I could be wrong.

Phil Leigh
2009-10-31, 00:28
This has only ever been a server setting, not a player one.

stephenkca
2009-10-31, 09:36
Thanks for the info. I have filed it as an enhancement suggestion. Makes sense to me to have the ability to throttle bandwidth from a device if you find that current bandwidth setting is too high and the device is clipping and the nearest computer is in the next room.

The enhancement is under: https://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=15002

pski
2009-10-31, 18:17
Thanks for the info. I have filed it as an enhancement suggestion. Makes sense to me to have the ability to throttle bandwidth from a device if you find that current bandwidth setting is too high and the device is clipping and the nearest computer is in the next room.

The enhancement is under: https://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=15002

Would be nice. How do you spell "automatic?"

How do you spell "automatic" every "X" interval?

How do you spell "based-on re-buffers?"

Just a programmer's point of view.

P