PDA

View Full Version : Major Radio and Router problems



danco
2009-10-29, 17:38
After a long call to a Logitech support person, I finally got told that the Squeezebox Radio is incompatible with my router, a Netgear DG834G (v3). And that this was why my Radio works for a while and then drops off from connection to my Squeezebox Server (see my posts in other threads). So far I have had no problems with connection to mysqueezebox.com, other than one dropout that got resolved in a few hours and was probably due to connection to a server that was not currently working.

He promised to send me a link that refers to this incompatibility. I will report further when I get the link.

But if he is correct, I would warn buyers and potential buyers that there may be this kind of incompatibility.

And, as regards Logitech themselves, there are two things to say. One is that a list of currently supported routers needs to be prominently available if there are router issues. In fact not giving such a list seems to me to amount to sharp practice.

The other is that I need to know that this is an issue being addressed. I seem to remember there were similar issues with the original (or later) Squeezeboxes, which ultimately got solved after various firmware updates.

At this point, and assuming that he was correct, I have three possibilities to consider. To replace the router which I don't particularly want to do, seeing that it is otherwise working fine. To return the Radio as unfit for its purpose (given that no warning about compatibility with routers was ever provided), which again I don't particularly want to do.

Or to keep the Radio and wait for the firmware to be updated.I would be quite prepared to do that provided the matter is being dealt with. I appreciate that it may take some time for a solution to be obtained.

snarlydwarf
2009-10-29, 17:48
After a long call to a Logitech support person, I finally got told that the Squeezebox Radio is incompatible with my router, a Netgear DG834G (v3). And that this was why my Radio works for a while and then drops off from connection to my Squeezebox Server (see my posts in other threads). So far I have had no problems with connection to mysqueezebox.com, other than one dropout that got resolved in a few hours and was probably due to connection to a server that was not currently working.


That sounds bogus to me: if you can maintain a connection to MySqueezebox.com via wireless, then your Wifi between the radio and the router is fine.

If the connection drops only on local playback, then you should look at other things (is SBS server crashing? is the server connected via wireless as well, effectively doubling the bandwith required?)

Are you in the US or abroad? US support has always been excellent... Logitech proper support has been somewhat iffy it seems, certainly not on par at all with the support here.

danco
2009-10-29, 19:02
That sounds bogus to me: if you can maintain a connection to MySqueezebox.com via wireless, then your Wifi between the radio and the router is fine.

If the connection drops only on local playback, then you should look at other things (is SBS server crashing? is the server connected via wireless as well, effectively doubling the bandwith required?)

Are you in the US or abroad? US support has always been excellent... Logitech proper support has been somewhat iffy it seems, certainly not on par at all with the support here.

I'm in the UK, but phoned US support (as I get free phone calls to the US).

Server is fine, and has a wired connection with router. Radio I've tried both wired and wireless. Wireless connection to my Squeezebox 2 is fine.

Diagnostics on the Radio report "Can't Ping". And I suppose it is possible that the Netgear dislikes pings on the local network.

I felt it was a touch bogus myself, but he promised to send me a link to a (presumably internal) page confirming that. And we do know there were router issues with the original Squeezeboxes.

I'm inclined to think something on my Mac (running 10.6.1) got changed without my knowledge, as I don't seem to have any problem connecting when I boot from a backup drive that was last backed up a few days ago. But admittedly I only try that connection for a few minutes and then I reboot to my main drive.

danco
2009-11-01, 02:00
My original report came from a conversation with Logitech support.

Further discussion with Slimdevices people via bugs.slimdevices.com indicates that he was wrong.

It is, however, true that most routers are currently going through an assessment process for compatibility with the Radio and Touch. It is therefore *possible* that routers are incompatible.

See
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/RouterStatus

dean
2009-11-01, 08:44
On Nov 1, 2009, at 1:00 AM, danco wrote:
> http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/RouterStatus

Yes, this is the canonical reference for router compatibility. If you
are using or have tested a router, please update the wiki with your
experiences.

AbMagFab
2009-11-05, 16:34
My original report came from a conversation with Logitech support.

Further discussion with Slimdevices people via bugs.slimdevices.com indicates that he was wrong.

It is, however, true that most routers are currently going through an assessment process for compatibility with the Radio and Touch. It is therefore *possible* that routers are incompatible.

See
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/RouterStatus

According to this, *nothing* works with the Radio????

aubuti
2009-11-05, 16:58
According to this, *nothing* works with the Radio????
No, that's not what it says at all. It lists what combinations of SB devices and wifi routers users have reported as working successfully. The SB Radio has been around for about a month, and probably no one has updated the wiki since then. I can tell you that the SB Radio works fine with my Linksys WRT54GL router, also using an old Netgear WGR614v3 as an access point. But to be honest, I probably won't ever get around to adding that to the wiki.

snarlydwarf
2009-11-05, 17:29
and, again, I still don't see how you can maintain a connection to MySB.com via wireless, but not to your local server unless:

a) Your router is seriously braindamaged regarding local traffic but
works fine with internet traffic. (Not the wireless part itself, but
the routing part of the router...)

b) Your SBS is having problems for some reasons.

If the wireless from Radio <-> Router <-> MySB.com works...

Then it shouldn't be any different for local services.

danco
2009-11-06, 03:44
and, again, I still don't see how you can maintain a connection to MySB.com via wireless, but not to your local server unless:

a) Your router is seriously braindamaged regarding local traffic but
works fine with internet traffic. (Not the wireless part itself, but
the routing part of the router...)

b) Your SBS is having problems for some reasons.

If the wireless from Radio <-> Router <-> MySB.com works...

Then it shouldn't be any different for local services.

And further, my SB2 connects fine. "shouldn't be any different" I agree with you, but nevertheless it was different, just for the Radio.

I suspect your (b) was what was going on. The Radio seems fine at present, but I would still like to know the cause of the trouble, as that would make it easier to deal with should it recur.

The post that started this thread was because I got wrong information from Logitech telephone support.

I would still like to know what the message "Can't Ping" on my Radio means. I do realise that it means that the Radio can't communicate, but I am not sure whether it means

(i) can't communicate with the computer on which SBS is running

or

(ii) can't communicate with the SBS software.

If it is (ii) could an incompatible plugin be the cause?

radish
2009-11-06, 22:10
According to this, *nothing* works with the Radio????

Does now ;)