PDA

View Full Version : Can't connect to server



danco
2009-10-23, 09:26
So I got my Radio a couple of days ago. Played around with it, connected fine to both mysqueezebox.com and my local Squeezebox Server.

Powered it off (not just standby) and now it won't connect to my server.

This is both with a nightly of 7.4.1 and the just-released version. On a Mac running 10.6.1

The server is running, and my Squeezebox 2 connects OK. And the Radio connects to mysqueeezebox.com, so (as is shown in the diagnostics panel) the wifi connection is fine.

The diagnostics indicate that there isn't a TCP connection to my computer from the Radio on either of the two ports.

At a pinch I can try factory defaults, but would like some other suggestions first.

toby10
2009-10-24, 02:58
What does it say on the SBS > Control Panel > Diagnostics?
Did you try a network reboot? Unplug Radio & router, reboot computer?

danco
2009-10-24, 05:33
What does it say on the SBS > Control Panel > Diagnostics?
As I said, using a Mac. There's nothing called Control Panel, and no Diagnostics on the Preference Pane.


Did you try a network reboot? Unplug Radio & router, reboot computer?
As I also said, rebooted computer. Also powered off Radio (not just standby). And in fact unplugged from mains as well. You're right that I hadn't tried rebooting the router, but it hasn't helped.

But in any case, the paths computer -> router -> internet, computer <-> router <-> Squeezebox 2, Squeezebox Radio <->router <-> internet (mysqueezebox.com) are all working fine. So what should stop the connection computer <-> router <-> Squeezebox Radio from working?

toby10
2009-10-24, 07:17
As I said, using a Mac. There's nothing called Control Panel, and no Diagnostics on the Preference Pane.....

Yes, as I said, SBS > Control Panel > Diagnostics, not a computer's Control Panel. :)

The EU MySB server might just be down, dunno.
US VA server is up and streaming all my Music Services.

danco
2009-10-24, 09:54
And again, if there is anything called Control Panel or Diagnostics on SBS for my local Mac, I have not found them. I don't see them under the Web interface or as one of the tabs in the Preference Pane.

As far as that part's concerned, I may well be missing something. But I still think you are giving a Windows answer to a Mac question (or possibly a mysqueezebox answer to a My Music problem). If I'm wrong about that, please tell me how I reach the Control Panel in baby steps.

The second part of your answer is plain irrelevant. As I said from the start, I have no trouble connecting to mysqueezebox.com, it's connecting to My Music that is the problem. When I try it, I just get told to ensure that Squeezebox Server is installed and running on my computer, which it is, as is shown by the fact that the Squeezebox 2 has no problems when I play local music.

toby10
2009-10-24, 13:10
And if SBS > Control Panel (right click small icon when SBS is running on a PC) is not on a MAC build I do apologize.
You mentioned control panel in your initial post, I presumed you meant SBS Control Panel. :)

Good luck. :)

danco
2009-10-24, 14:52
And if SBS > Control Panel (right click small icon when SBS is running on a PC) is not on a MAC build I do apologize.
You mentioned control panel in your initial post, I presumed you meant SBS Control Panel. :)



Odd how people add things that one has never said (not just you, it's common, and I am sure I do it myself at times).

I never said a word about "Control Panel". I did mention the "diagnostics panel" (and 'panel' was probably a poor choice of word), but I meant the Diagnostics page on the Radio itself.

The Mac does have something very similar to what you describe as the Control Panel, but for some reason I don't know about this does not include a Diagnostics section.

The Diagnostics page on the Radio doesn't help, as it just confirms what I know already, that despite having a fully working SBS on my computer (that connects fine to my Squeezebox 2) when I try to go to My Music on the Radio I just get told to ensure that I have SBS running.

toby10
2009-10-25, 05:02
LOL, yeah, sorry, totally my misread, I did indeed confuse Control Panel with Diagnostics Panel in your initial post.

Cheers. :)

danco
2009-10-25, 12:41
Thanks for the suggestions, though.

I've no idea what the problem was, I have been tearing my hair out.

But in the end, I realised that I had a bootable backup from before the problem (in fact, from before I even got the Radio). Tried booting from that and the Radio connected fine. So software issue, not failed hardware.

Had to do a fair bit of juggling to restore from the duplicate and slowly add back files that had changed since that time.

Currently working ok, though I would be happier if I knew what has caused the problem, so that I could deal with it if it came back.