PDA

View Full Version : Setting Up Network

rrweather
2009-10-22, 08:14
As some of you may have read in the Touch forum, we live in a house that is a total nightmare when it comes to WiFi. While the house is only about 1600 sq/ft, the WiFi signal from the second floor down to the first floor is pretty weak. The house is a rental so I am unable to run Cat5 cable around the house unless I want it laying on the carpet. You can imagine how popular that would be with the "other half." So, as some have suggested, I am going to try using the powerline adapters. I am going to list the components I have, their location, and what results I am looking to achieve. I am not an expert when it comes to networking so I am looking for some input on how you would setup what I have and what you would buy (within reason). I am not trying to reinvent the wheel with my network but if there is something simple I could do or purchase to achieve what I am looking for, I am all ears.

My setup:

We have our DSL modem and Linksys WRT54GL router at the top of our stairs. Basically, the router sits almost dead-center in the middle of the upper level where it is now.

In the room right next to the router (the office), we have an Apple Time Capsule using wireless to the linksys router. Hooked up to it is a laser printer that we use with our laptops via the network. We are going to set up a mac mini in the office as our media server until we get something better. The first concern is that the mac mini (or any server for that matter) would not have a hard-wire connection to the router.

Our Master Bedroom is also right off the location of the router. We have a receiver, speakers, etc. in the bedroom. This will be location #1 for a SB Touch.