PDA

View Full Version : Wi-Fi connection details

fully
2009-10-09, 15:27
The specifications of the radio list everything from good old WEP to WPA2. So it must be possible to enter a SSID and password making use of all 255 characters available in the ASCII set, correct? See a listing here (http://www.barcoderesource.com/barcodeasciicharacters.shtml).

A radio from a different manufacturer I tested also claimed to be WEP and WPA2 compatible, yet had a very limited set of characters thus failing at the very first step of setting up a network connection.

radish
2009-10-09, 16:23
WPA uses a key made up not of the full 255 character 8-bit ASCII set but the so-called "printable ASCII" set (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASCII#ASCII_printable_characters) which is a subset of the original 7-bit set. As far as I know, Radio will let you enter any of those.

toby10
2009-10-10, 03:26
I'm not tech savvy enough to understand exactly what you are asking.
But I can tell you that my network is WPA2 with a 63 character key generated from one of those web sites that randomly selects a combination of numbers, letters, symbols...... and all of my SB players including Radio connect fine.

All players will ask for you to enter your SSID if your SSID is hidden.

fully
2009-10-10, 03:52
Here is an example of how the SSID would look: "QZW"`T!+ZZdQu"a$s(yH

My router and all computers on it don't complain about the special characters but if you say the character set is limited on the radio it will probably be just like the one I tested before. Too bad really.

Strange enough, the feature guide only talks about WEP keys, which in my opinion nobody should use anymore if the security of their networks is worth anything to them.

Setting up the radios could be made a lot easier if it had USB to transfer network credentials from a computer to the device for example.

Thanks for your answers.

Phil Leigh
2009-10-10, 04:25
I'm not tech savvy enough to understand exactly what you are asking.