PDA

View Full Version : Radio bricked via update to firmware 7790?



mule
2009-10-08, 09:26
Big trouble here:
Just recieved my radio and tried to set it up.
While the first go it asked to update the firmware to version 7790. Flashing was done without any error message, but since the automatic reboot i just get two menu entries (my music and settings) and when pressing any of the hard buttons on the radio there is no reaction at all(besides a short beep). I also tried to use a remote from my sb3 with the same result.

I also tried a factory reset (using the more button), but without any change!

Any idea (beside sending it back to logitech)?

TheMule!

toby10
2009-10-08, 10:15
You can try a hard reset (unless this is what you tried):
Hard Reset =
- power off Radio
- press & hold “+” button
- power ON Radio
- continue holding “+” till you see "Factory Settings Restored"
- wait till Radio completely reboots on it’s own

mule
2009-10-08, 10:37
I just investigated this issue some more and its very very annoying:

I did a factory restore and the radio comes alive again. BUT: Whenever the radio is rebooted (soft via firmware update or hard by pulling the power plug), i get the issue described above and the radio is dead!

Any help appreciated otherwise i have to return it because for me it seems like faulty hardware!

TheMule!

bpa
2009-10-08, 11:46
If you are using a local SBS, I once had a similar problem and I found that my local SBS had to be stopped, the Radio rebooted until first menus appear and then I restarted the SBS.

toby10
2009-10-08, 11:54
Are you connecting your Radio to SBS7.4 local server? Or are you connecting it to MySB online server?

mule
2009-10-08, 12:48
I'm connecting to SBS7.4 local. But that's not the point anymore. The radio just boots one time ok. Whenever i pull the power plug i get the above mentioned issue: just two menu entries, the color scheme changes to black&white and the keys aren't functioning anymore. I only get the radio back to life when doing a factory restore. But this also works only one time. When pulling the plug again or the radio soft resets itself after a fw update, the above issue rises up again.
It looks like the radio forgets all its settings. Maybe it's a defective battery which buffers those settings (just guessing)?!

TheMule!

bpa
2009-10-08, 12:50
Did you stop SBS when doing the reboot ?

mule
2009-10-08, 12:58
Yes this happens also if i stop squeezeserver and even if i shut off my whole network.
What's also interesting is that when it boots and comes up with these issue is, that there is no jingle being played when the display shows "free your music" while booting!

TheMule!

bpa
2009-10-08, 14:00
I definitely had the problem where the screen is B&W and no keys work. I can't be sure what cleared the problem but I think waht worked for me was restarting SBS and making sure that the playlist for the Radio was clear so that on startup Radio would not try to start to play.

You might try rolling back to previous firmware, make sure SBS is not trying to play anything and then do the update.

mule
2009-10-08, 14:07
Thanks for trying to help!
But the problem also accours after rolling back to the original firmware, booting to the setup and plugging the power cord after booting (without previously doing any setup steps).

TheMule!

toby10
2009-10-08, 14:10
I'm connecting to SBS7.4 local. But that's not the point anymore........

Well, it is an important point as connecting the Radio to SC7.x will certainly give poor results. :)
I'd try this:
Stop SBS
Hard reset the Radio as I described above
Let the Radio connect to MySB (keep SBS OFF)
Try setup and FW Update from MySB

mule
2009-10-08, 14:19
Didn't want to offend you. I'll give your suggestion a try!

TheMule!

mule
2009-10-08, 14:28
Didn't help! Same Problem once again!

TheMule!

Siduhe
2009-10-08, 14:47
It sounds a bit as if, when you Radio starts up following power cord out/in, it's having problems connecting to your network or to MYSB.com through the internet.

If it works following a hard reset, but not a soft reset, I wonder if it's an IP problem. Do you have a router (if so which model) which hands out IP addresses for your network? Can you set a static ip (i.e. a fixed IP address which the Radio will always use when it connects to your network) using the router web management pages?

mule
2009-10-08, 15:41
I'm using a router which uses fixed IPs in DHCP mode.

But you're right that when the issues occurs after a reset, the radio doesn't connect to the network at all. The biggest problem is that because of the keys not working i can't get into the setup menu in order to have a look into the network settings.

I have 4 other squeezboxes (duet, SB3, boom) and never had such problems/phenomens!

TheMule!

mule
2009-10-08, 16:02
I just used SSH in order to read the logs and saw many errors. Maybe some of the experts can find the reason for the problems based on following log entries?



Jan 1 01:00:09 syslogd started: BusyBox v1.13.4
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: klogd started: BusyBox v1.13.4 (2009-09-23 04:21:56 PDT)
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Linux version 2.6.26.8-rt16 (parabuild@co
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] CPU: ARM926EJ-S [41069264] revision 4 (AR
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Machine: Logitech MX25 Baby Board
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Memory policy: ECC disabled, Data cache w
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] On node 0 totalpages: 16384
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] DMA zone: 48 pages used for memmap
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] DMA zone: 0 pages reserved
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] DMA zone: 6096 pages, LIFO batch:0
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Normal zone: 80 pages used for memmap
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Normal zone: 10160 pages, LIFO batch:1
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Movable zone: 0 pages used for memmap
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] CPU0: D VIVT write-back cache
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] CPU0: I cache: 16384 bytes, associativity
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] CPU0: D cache: 16384 bytes, associativity
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Real-Time Preemption Support (C) 2004-200
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttymxc1,1152
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] Preemptible RCU implementation.
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] MXC IRQ initialized
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] PID hash table entries: 256 (order: 8, 10
Jan 1 01:00:09 kernel: [ 0.000000] MXC GPT timer initialized, rate = 1200000
- messages 1/309 0%
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: LineIn
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: LogSettings
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: MacroPlay
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: NowPlaying
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: Playback
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: QVGAbaseSkin
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: QVGAlandscapeSkin
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: ScreenSavers
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: Screenshot
Jan 1 01:00:37 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SelectPlayer
Jan 1 01:00:38 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SelectSkin
Jan 1 01:00:38 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupAppletInstaller
Jan 1 01:00:38 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupDateTime
Jan 1 01:00:38 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupFactoryReset
Jan 1 01:00:38 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupFirmwareUpgrade
Jan 1 01:00:38 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupLanguage
Jan 1 01:00:39 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupNetTest
Jan 1 01:00:40 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupNetworking
Jan 1 01:00:40 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupSSH
Jan 1 01:00:40 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupSqueezebox
Jan 1 01:00:40 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupTZ
Jan 1 01:00:41 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupWallpaper
Jan 1 01:00:41 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SetupWelcome
Jan 1 01:00:41 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SlimBrowser
Jan 1 01:00:41 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SlimDiscovery
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SlimMenus
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: SqueezeNetworkPIN
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: TestAmbient
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: TestAudioRouting
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: TestDisplay
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: TestKeypad
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: TestTones
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: UdapControl
Jan 1 01:00:42 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:314 Registering: Demo
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.applets - AppletManager.lua:368 Error configuring meta for SqueezeboxBaby:...e/jive/applets/SqueezeboxBaby/SqueezeboxBabyMeta.lua:115: attempt to index local 'applet' (a nil value)
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: stack traceback:
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/AppletManager.lua:368: in function '_evalMetas'
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/AppletManager.lua:401: in function 'discover'
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:531: in function 'reload'
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:394: in function </usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:280>
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: (tail call): ?
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive
Jan 1 01:00:43 squeezeplay: INFO squeezeplay - JiveMain.lua:600 select skin: QVGAlandscapeSkin
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.ui.draw - jive_surface_load_image:195 Can't find image applets/QVGAbaseSkin/images/MISSING_PLAYMODE_STOP_ICON
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.ui.draw - jive_surface_load_image:195 Can't find image applets/QVGAbaseSkin/images/MISSING_PLAYLIST_MODE_ICON
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.ui.draw - jive_surface_load_image:195 Can't find image applets/QVGAbaseSkin/images/MISSING_PARTY_MODE_ICON
Jan 1 01:00:49 kernel: [ 49.507417] i2c-adapter i2c-1: ACK not received
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:75 task error statusbar: ...jive/applets/SqueezeboxBaby/SqueezeboxBabyApplet.lua:643: attempt to perform bitwise operation on local 'chargerState' (a nil value)
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: stack traceback:
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/ui/Task.lua:75: in function 'resume'
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/ui/Framework.lua:317: in function 'eventLoop'
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:438: in function </usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:280>
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: (tail call): ?
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: /usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:653: in main chunk
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: [C 0x53f2d]: ?
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: [C 0x28ea1]: ?
Jan 1 01:00:49 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:00:54 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:00:59 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:04 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:09 dropbear[793]: Child connection from 192.168.178.31:54760
Jan 1 01:01:09 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:14 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:16 dropbear[793]: password auth succeeded for 'root' from 192.168.178.31:54760
Jan 1 01:01:16 dropbear[796]: lastlog_perform_login: Couldn't stat /var/log/lastlog: No such file or directory
Jan 1 01:01:16 dropbear[796]: lastlog_openseek: /var/log/lastlog is not a file or directory!
Jan 1 01:01:19 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:24 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:29 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
Jan 1 01:01:34 squeezeplay: WARN squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:98 task statusbar in error state
- messages 309/309 100%

ccrome2
2009-10-08, 22:58
Mule,
Thanks for being so patient! This is definitely not the experience we want to give our customers. We *will* resolve this problem, or exchange your unit, (or refund -- but you don't want to do that ;-).

So, the smoking gun is this:
Jan 1 01:00:49 kernel: [ 49.507417] i2c-adapter i2c-1: ACK not received

That means something has gone awry with the microcontroller -- it could be a hardware or software problem. Shortly before release one of our developers found a problem with interference in one room in his house, that exposed a bug in the microcontroller IR receiver code. We fixed this problem, but perhaps there is another one. The interference could be coming from a fluorescent bulb, or some other light or RF source in the 40kHz range.

If you would like to give it a try, I can make you a special microcontroller firmware load to help resolve this issue.

If you are game, please give this a try:
ssh -lroot <ip-address>
# cd /sys/bus/i2c/devices/1-0010
# echo erase > flash
# echo program > flash

During the program stage, it will hang for about 5 seconds, but then everything will come back to life, and your knobs should work again.

I'm sorry you're having problems. We really appreciate your patience with this.

If you would like to give a try with new microcontroller firmware, let me know, and I'll PM you with microcontroller update instructions. (it's no more difficult than the instructions above for reprogramming the microcontroller).

Sincerely,
-Caleb

mule
2009-10-08, 23:29
ccrome2,

reprogramming the controller just helped "a bit": After pressing the controller knob the screen got a color scheme again, all the menu entries appeared and the hard keys (besides the standby button) are functioning again. BUT: Whether the knob for loundness, turning the controller knob nor using a remote did work and after a reboot i once again had the same issues as mentioned above. So, yes please send me the new controller firmware. I would like to give it a try.

TheMule!

Matt Wise
2009-10-11, 15:45
ccrome2,

reprogramming the controller just helped "a bit": After pressing the controller knob the screen got a color scheme again, all the menu entries appeared and the hard keys (besides the standby button) are functioning again. BUT: Whether the knob for loundness, turning the controller knob nor using a remote did work and after a reboot i once again had the same issues as mentioned above. So, yes please send me the new controller firmware. I would like to give it a try.

TheMule!

Out of curiosity, have you tried moving the Radio into somewhere else in your house perhaps farther away from any possible interference? (even a closet or something..)

Symbiot
2010-06-16, 12:24
Did this issue ever get resolved?
I seem to be having a similar problem.
just received my unit today.. worked fine the first time.. then after a power off.. I was stuck in home menu..
then did the hard restore defaults.. now I can browse the menu, but I cannot connect to my home wireless.... It cannot find it anymore.. not even manually.. :(

I can however connect to the neighbours wireless network..

Perhaps the unit will flush network settings at some point and I'll be able to reconnect to my wireless...

I haven't tried with cable yet... might be a solution.. but I want my unit to work.. as it should!