PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox Radio sound quality from WMA Lossless



Terje
2009-10-06, 08:45
I got my first two Radio's delivered while at the office today. Just now I got back home and connected the "baby" to SBS and powered it up. However, I have serious sound quality issues. The Radio seems to have big issues with playing a lot of my WMA Lossless based music connection. I have the Boom sitting in the same spot and it plays everything just fine, so does my SB3's. I've tried switching between to see if it could be SBS related, but only the Radio struggle. I also checked the settings to see if I had limited the rate for the Radio and was doing any additional transcoding on SBS. No luck. The sound breaks up, crackles and songs seems to run "slower" than they should. I've only tested a few albums yet, but like 3 out of 4 shows the problem.

EDIT1: Forgot to say that both the Boom and Radio are on wireless, with 85-88% for the Radio and around 78% for the Boom.
EDIT2: Tested some more, seems the Radio does WMA Lossless natively, which is great news. But it doesn't work. As for the various SBS transcoding: wmadec->PCM works fine, wmadec->FLAC has the same problem as the native WMA Lossess, wmadec->lame (MP3-320) works.

funkstar
2009-10-06, 14:12
I would file a bug on http://bugs.slimdevices.com

In the mean time, you should be able to turn off native WMALossless in SBS and transcode to FLAC on the server, just like it is doing for the Boom. Obviously this is not ideal, but it will get it working for you in the mean time.

dean
2009-10-06, 14:35
too late:

https://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=14612

On Tue, Oct 6, 2009 at 2:12 PM, funkstar
<funkstar.3znldb1254863646 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> I would file a bug on http://bugs.slimdevices.com
>
> In the mean time, you should be able to turn off native WMALossless in
> SBS and transcode to FLAC on the server, just like it is doing for the
> Boom. Obviously this is not ideal, but it will get it working for you in
> the mean time.
>
>
> --
> funkstar
>
> my collection:
> *1*x squeezebox radio
> *1*x squeezebox touch
> *1*x squeezebox boom
> *2*x controller, *1*x receiver
> *2*x sb3 (sliver/black), *1*x sb2 wired (silver)
> *1*x sb (black), *1*x slimp3 (with rear shield)
>
> interested in any others if you have them!
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> funkstar's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2335
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=69261
>
>

gweempose
2009-10-06, 15:43
I hope I won't have the same problem with Apple Lossless files, as my entire collection is ripped in this format.

Terje
2009-10-06, 22:57
I would file a bug on http://bugs.slimdevices.com

Yes, I would, but was too late :)


In the mean time, you should be able to turn off native WMALossless in SBS and transcode to FLAC on the server, just like it is doing for the Boom. Obviously this is not ideal, but it will get it working for you in the mean time.

Sure, I have it working that way already, no problems there. Just wondering now is the baby should support local decoding of WMA Lossless and WMA Pro or not?

funkstar
2009-10-07, 03:30
Sure, I have it working that way already, no problems there. Just wondering now is the baby should support local decoding of WMA Lossless and WMA Pro or not?
Yes it should be supported. Radio and Touch will support many more codecs natively than the older players. Mainly because they can as they have more memory, but also because Touch will do no transcoding if used as the server, so the new player need to support as much as possible natively.

rtitmuss
2009-10-07, 21:23
Actually Radio won't support native WMA Lossless or WMA Pro in this release. The codecs need optimizing to work on this platform. The fix I made was to force transcoding for those formats. I hope we will be adding native support for those codecs in a future firmware release, but I have no timescale for that now.

Richard