PDA

View Full Version : A Few FLAC Questions



Robert Wallace
2004-07-01, 17:31
Hello,

If you prefer batch processing, you can turn off the encoding during ripping
and turn it back on when you're ready to start your overnight encoding.

In EAC's Tools menu, at the bottom, is the "Compression Queue Control
Center" selection. Bring that up and check the "Make All Compression Tasks
Sleep" box at the bottom before you start ripping. When you're done
ripping, bring it up again and uncheck the box. When you click "OK" the
encoding begins.

Or maybe I misunderstood your use of "batch encode" and you're already using
EAC this way. If so, I apologize for assuming otherwise.

To make up for the possible slight, I offer a link to a tool that will let
you use EAC to encode both MP3 and FLAC in one rip -- I got the link from
this email list a month or two ago: Mareo at http://mareo.netfirms.com/

It's a little tricky to set up the control file (and it doesn't tolerate
typos in that file at all) but once you've got it set up, it works very
nicely.

Robert

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Jean-Stéfane
Bergeron
Sent: Thursday, July 01, 2004 8:31 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] A Few FLAC Questions


Thanks John, PAt.

Great comments - that makes a great deal of sense.

I already use EAC to rip my content and then batch encode afterwards,
generally overnight. I love EAC and the accurate rips it performs. I
just prefer to encode in a batch and overnight.

Hello FLAC, here I come.

On Wed, 30 Jun 2004 15:53:29 +0100, "John Gorst"
<john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com> said:
> Jean-Stéfane Bergeron wrote:
>
> > Hello,
> >
> > I was wondering if you could help a FLAC newbie -
> >
> > I have decided to take the FLAC plunge. Until recently, I was encoding
> > all my music using the LAME -alt extreme preset, but all the talk about
> > FLAC has convinced me to try it out.
> >
> > I have downloaded FLAC and a FLAC front end
> > (http://members.home.nl/w.speek/flac.htm) and I am ready to start
> > encoding my first batch of music.
> >
> > I have a good handle on most settings, but I do have a question about
> > the "Encoding Level"
> >
> > What is the encoding level, what effect does it have on the output and
> > what are you using a encoding level (and why) ?
>
> I am by no means an expert but I will give you my basic understanding!
>
> Flac is completely lossless so no matter what encoding level you use the
> output will be the same when you play it back (i.e. perfect).
>
> The encoding options however make the resulting files smaller (or
> larger), so you can fit more on that huge hard disc! However the
> encoding speed will be greatly reduced and the files do not actually get
> that much smaller with increasing encoding levels. Therefore I use about
> level 6 I think (cant remember it was what the guide told me to do). I
> treid higher but it was far too slow for the extra compression achieves
> (a couple of percent if that). Even with the higher levels though flac
> encodes pretty fast on my p4 1.6.
>
> I use EAC (exact auido copy), do I google search for it - very popular
> software windows only. Very good and gives as near perfect copies of
> your cd's as you willl get. There is a web guide (search for it) to set
> it up to work with flac.
>
> HTH
>
>

Larry Truesdale
2004-07-02, 07:16
Hello,

Another alternative would be to modify the attached batch file to your
purposes, and it will encode to both FLAC and MP3 from EAC.
Instructions for its use can be found in the file itself. This is
what I've been using for a few months.

Larry

On Thu, 1 Jul 2004 18:31:36 -0600, Robert Wallace <rawallace (AT) comcast (DOT) net> wrote:
>
> Hello,
>
> If you prefer batch processing, you can turn off the encoding during ripping
> and turn it back on when you're ready to start your overnight encoding.
>
> In EAC's Tools menu, at the bottom, is the "Compression Queue Control
> Center" selection. Bring that up and check the "Make All Compression Tasks
> Sleep" box at the bottom before you start ripping. When you're done
> ripping, bring it up again and uncheck the box. When you click "OK" the
> encoding begins.
>
> Or maybe I misunderstood your use of "batch encode" and you're already using
> EAC this way. If so, I apologize for assuming otherwise.
>
> To make up for the possible slight, I offer a link to a tool that will let
> you use EAC to encode both MP3 and FLAC in one rip -- I got the link from
> this email list a month or two ago: Mareo at http://mareo.netfirms.com/
>
> It's a little tricky to set up the control file (and it doesn't tolerate
> typos in that file at all) but once you've got it set up, it works very
> nicely.
>
> Robert
>
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Jean-Stéfane
> Bergeron
> Sent: Thursday, July 01, 2004 8:31 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] A Few FLAC Questions
>
> Thanks John, PAt.
>
> Great comments - that makes a great deal of sense.
>
> I already use EAC to rip my content and then batch encode afterwards,
> generally overnight. I love EAC and the accurate rips it performs. I
> just prefer to encode in a batch and overnight.
>
> Hello FLAC, here I come.
>
> On Wed, 30 Jun 2004 15:53:29 +0100, "John Gorst"
> <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com> said:
> > Jean-Stéfane Bergeron wrote:
> >
> > > Hello,
> > >
> > > I was wondering if you could help a FLAC newbie -
> > >
> > > I have decided to take the FLAC plunge. Until recently, I was encoding
> > > all my music using the LAME -alt extreme preset, but all the talk about
> > > FLAC has convinced me to try it out.
> > >
> > > I have downloaded FLAC and a FLAC front end
> > > (http://members.home.nl/w.speek/flac.htm) and I am ready to start
> > > encoding my first batch of music.
> > >
> > > I have a good handle on most settings, but I do have a question about
> > > the "Encoding Level"
> > >
> > > What is the encoding level, what effect does it have on the output and
> > > what are you using a encoding level (and why) ?
> >
> > I am by no means an expert but I will give you my basic understanding!
> >
> > Flac is completely lossless so no matter what encoding level you use the
> > output will be the same when you play it back (i.e. perfect).
> >
> > The encoding options however make the resulting files smaller (or
> > larger), so you can fit more on that huge hard disc! However the
> > encoding speed will be greatly reduced and the files do not actually get
> > that much smaller with increasing encoding levels. Therefore I use about
> > level 6 I think (cant remember it was what the guide told me to do). I
> > treid higher but it was far too slow for the extra compression achieves
> > (a couple of percent if that). Even with the higher levels though flac
> > encodes pretty fast on my p4 1.6.
> >
> > I use EAC (exact auido copy), do I google search for it - very popular
> > software windows only. Very good and gives as near perfect copies of
> > your cd's as you willl get. There is a web guide (search for it) to set
> > it up to work with flac.
> >
> > HTH
> >
> >

Jean-=?ISO-8859-1?Q?St=E9fane=20Bergeron?=
2004-07-02, 12:34
Hello Robert,


On Thu, 1 Jul 2004 18:31:36 -0600, "Robert Wallace"
>
> In EAC's Tools menu, at the bottom, is the "Compression Queue Control
> Center" selection. Bring that up and check the "Make All Compression
> Tasks
> Sleep" box at the bottom before you start ripping. When you're done
> ripping, bring it up again and uncheck the box. When you click "OK" the
> encoding begins.
>

I have to say that I have been using EAC to rip a batch of CDs in one
session, and then using EAC's controls to start a batch encode of the
ripped files overnight. While I have been doing it this way for well
over a year, I did not know about the "Compression Queue Control"
feature ! Thanks.

> Or maybe I misunderstood your use of "batch encode" and you're already
> using
> EAC this way. If so, I apologize for assuming otherwise.
>
> To make up for the possible slight, I offer a link to a tool that will
> let
> you use EAC to encode both MP3 and FLAC in one rip -- I got the link from
> this email list a month or two ago: Mareo at http://mareo.netfirms.com/
>

I am very, very offended ! ... but that awesome tip should make up for
the slight <grin> Thanks Robert and Mareo.

>
> Robert
>