PDA

View Full Version : System Hangs Up



Ken Veasey
2004-06-30, 02:48
A problem that has been haunting me since 5.1.5 is that if I load the
server as a service my system invariably (though not always) hangs up
for about 5 minutes during the system load. If I load the server
after the system has loaded I also tend to get the same hang ups with
no response from the system for about five minutes.

When this is happening I see no sign of disc activity, and as I am
using caching I assume that it won't be scanning.

Additionally the same thing happens very sporadically when I am
playing music resulting in the SBs losing contact with the server, if
let for long enough it seems to recover.

I'm running two SBs one directly wired to my router the other
connected via powerline. The server is a 2.6ghz 512mb ram XP Home with
all updates. Total tracks 6600. I am using the nightly from 26 June.

And as a complete aside by default the server settings seem to be such
that it looks for i-tunes; is there a way to stop this i.e. set it to
specify the i-tunes location and then not specify one. One reason I
ask is could this cause a problem and secondly I would like to install
i-tunes for the occasional music download but don't want it messing
with my slimserver set up.

Ken

vidurapparao
2004-06-30, 07:00
Would the "Don't use iTunes" preference option in the main Server
Settings screen not work for you? Please post and let us know if it
turning iTunes integration off speeds up server startup. Also, are you
running any plugins that are not part of the main installation?

Ken Veasey wrote:

>A problem that has been haunting me since 5.1.5 is that if I load the
>server as a service my system invariably (though not always) hangs up
>for about 5 minutes during the system load. If I load the server
>after the system has loaded I also tend to get the same hang ups with
>no response from the system for about five minutes.
>
>When this is happening I see no sign of disc activity, and as I am
>using caching I assume that it won't be scanning.
>
>Additionally the same thing happens very sporadically when I am
>playing music resulting in the SBs losing contact with the server, if
>let for long enough it seems to recover.
>
>I'm running two SBs one directly wired to my router the other
>connected via powerline. The server is a 2.6ghz 512mb ram XP Home with
>all updates. Total tracks 6600. I am using the nightly from 26 June.
>
>And as a complete aside by default the server settings seem to be such
>that it looks for i-tunes; is there a way to stop this i.e. set it to
>specify the i-tunes location and then not specify one. One reason I
>ask is could this cause a problem and secondly I would like to install
>i-tunes for the occasional music download but don't want it messing
>with my slimserver set up.
>
>Ken
>
>
>

Ken Veasey
2004-06-30, 09:13
Vidur,

On the first page of Server Settings I only have options for Language,
Music Folder, Saved Playlist Folder, Rescan and Additional Server
Settings.

So apart from the page specifically for i-tunes , where there doesn't
seem to be an option to turn of use of i-tunes, there doesn't seem to
be any other reference to it. Its worth pointing out that I don't
currently have i-tunes installed but now that Apple have reached the
UK with their on-line sale of music I might want to make occasional
use of it.

I have de-selected all the plug ins.

I just reloaded the system and of course it all went smoothly, so I'll
report progress on this over the next day or so.

Thanks,

Ken




On Wed, 30 Jun 2004 07:00:55 -0700, you wrote:

>
>Would the "Don't use iTunes" preference option in the main Server
>Settings screen not work for you? Please post and let us know if it
>turning iTunes integration off speeds up server startup. Also, are you
>running any plugins that are not part of the main installation?
>
>Ken Veasey wrote:
>
>>A problem that has been haunting me since 5.1.5 is that if I load the
>>server as a service my system invariably (though not always) hangs up
>>for about 5 minutes during the system load. If I load the server
>>after the system has loaded I also tend to get the same hang ups with
>>no response from the system for about five minutes.
>>
>>When this is happening I see no sign of disc activity, and as I am
>>using caching I assume that it won't be scanning.
>>
>>Additionally the same thing happens very sporadically when I am
>>playing music resulting in the SBs losing contact with the server, if
>>let for long enough it seems to recover.
>>
>>I'm running two SBs one directly wired to my router the other
>>connected via powerline. The server is a 2.6ghz 512mb ram XP Home with
>>all updates. Total tracks 6600. I am using the nightly from 26 June.
>>
>>And as a complete aside by default the server settings seem to be such
>>that it looks for i-tunes; is there a way to stop this i.e. set it to
>>specify the i-tunes location and then not specify one. One reason I
>>ask is could this cause a problem and secondly I would like to install
>>i-tunes for the occasional music download but don't want it messing
>>with my slimserver set up.
>>
>>Ken
>>
>>
>>

kdf
2004-06-30, 10:33
If the server cannot find any iTunes library, the option is not made available.
Not seeing it, means you don't have it available for use. The iTunes settings
page is primarily there as an aid to Linux users who sometimes need to manually
set the paths, or for people who want to eak out a few extra drops of performance.
-kdf

Quoting Ken Veasey <k.veasey (AT) blueyonder (DOT) co.uk>:

> Vidur,
>
> On the first page of Server Settings I only have options for Language,
> Music Folder, Saved Playlist Folder, Rescan and Additional Server
> Settings.
>
> So apart from the page specifically for i-tunes , where there doesn't
> seem to be an option to turn of use of i-tunes, there doesn't seem to
> be any other reference to it. Its worth pointing out that I don't
> currently have i-tunes installed but now that Apple have reached the
> UK with their on-line sale of music I might want to make occasional
> use of it.
>
> I have de-selected all the plug ins.
>
> I just reloaded the system and of course it all went smoothly, so I'll
> report progress on this over the next day or so.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Ken
>
>
>
>
> On Wed, 30 Jun 2004 07:00:55 -0700, you wrote:
>
> >
> >Would the "Don't use iTunes" preference option in the main Server
> >Settings screen not work for you? Please post and let us know if it
> >turning iTunes integration off speeds up server startup. Also, are you
> >running any plugins that are not part of the main installation?
> >
> >Ken Veasey wrote:
> >
> >>A problem that has been haunting me since 5.1.5 is that if I load the
> >>server as a service my system invariably (though not always) hangs up
> >>for about 5 minutes during the system load. If I load the server
> >>after the system has loaded I also tend to get the same hang ups with
> >>no response from the system for about five minutes.
> >>
> >>When this is happening I see no sign of disc activity, and as I am
> >>using caching I assume that it won't be scanning.
> >>
> >>Additionally the same thing happens very sporadically when I am
> >>playing music resulting in the SBs losing contact with the server, if
> >>let for long enough it seems to recover.
> >>
> >>I'm running two SBs one directly wired to my router the other
> >>connected via powerline. The server is a 2.6ghz 512mb ram XP Home with
> >>all updates. Total tracks 6600. I am using the nightly from 26 June.
> >>
> >>And as a complete aside by default the server settings seem to be such
> >>that it looks for i-tunes; is there a way to stop this i.e. set it to
> >>specify the i-tunes location and then not specify one. One reason I
> >>ask is could this cause a problem and secondly I would like to install
> >>i-tunes for the occasional music download but don't want it messing
> >>with my slimserver set up.
> >>
> >>Ken
> >>
> >>
> >>