PDA

View Full Version : SB3 - replacement PSU / remote?



moley6knipe
2009-09-29, 04:51
Hi! One of my SB3s has a blown PSU. I can't find this in the documentation anywhere - how much power does the SB3 draw, i.e. what rating PSU should I buy to replace it? I've got a spare 5v supply but it's rated less than the one that come with the product, wanted to know if it was big enough before buying anything new. EDIT - I know I could just plug it in and try, but it would need a new DC plug soldering on first!

Also! is it still the case that one can't buy a spare IR remote for an SB3 unless in the US?

Thanks!

tipsen
2009-09-29, 05:23
Have a look at eBay:
http://computers.shop.ebay.co.uk/i.html?_nkw=squeezebox&_sacat=42017&_trksid=p3286.m270.l1313&_dmpt=UK_Computing_PowerSupplies_EH&_odkw=&_osacat=42017
- approximately 10 including shipping for a power supply for the classic.

ShadowWar
2009-09-29, 06:00
My SB3 power supply ceased functioning a couple of weeks ago: I replaced it with a standard Maplin 5V switch-mode PSU. It was about 20 for one with interchangeable tips, and I believe it can produce an output current of about 4A. If you want I'll check the details when I get home in a few hours.

aubuti
2009-09-29, 06:07
This thread has the specs for an SB2, which are the same for the SB3: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=47618

radish
2009-09-29, 06:08
According to the wiki it needs 5v 1A. As for remotes, try your local Logitech support center, if they can't help you could try ordering from the US (they've helped out in the past) or you could use pretty much any universal remote (some have SB codes built in, or you can use JVC DVD player codes).

ShadowWar
2009-09-29, 12:22
If you're interested, I bought one of these: http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?moduleno=49063. I hope this helps!

Anoop M.
2009-09-29, 12:31
OP where are you located?

Contact support..we may be able to get you a power supply and a remote.

TurnipMan
2009-09-29, 12:31
We have broken a couple of the new style remotes - they are very fragile and do not survive much of a drop onto a wooden floor.
I too need to buy another one. I found it for 30 at www.ripcaster.co.uk, this seams alot for a pretty cheap remote that is not strong enough to stand up to the normal use / abuse that remotes get.
Anyone know where to get one cheaper?
Tom

moley6knipe
2009-09-30, 01:37
Thanks everyone!

The 5v supply I've found in my box of bits is stamped 1A so I'm going to solder a new DC plug on to that, that'll be cheaper. 20 for a PSU seems a lot to me, but that's probably coz I haven't bought one in years.

I didn't think to check the wiki. Sorry.

Anoop, I'm in the UK. I'd be interested in a price for a replacement remote. Having said that, 1st Gen 8Gb iPod Touches are getting to be very cheap on eBay, and iPeng is very nice...