PDA

View Full Version : 5.2 Music Drop out



Keith
2004-06-28, 11:20
I've had this problem since I received my Squeezebox a few weeks ago.
I'm using a wireless network but I don't believe I have bandwidth
problems.

The breaks in sound are usually concomitant with 100% peaks in CPU
usage.

Keith

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Neil
Sleightholm
Sent: 28 June 2004 18:39
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] 5.2 Music Drop out

I'm not sure this is the same problem but it may be related. I think
the problem may be that I can overload my network card and that causes
the breaks.

I'd be interested if anyone else has had this problem. Even better if
they have fixed it!

Neil

Ken Veasey wrote:

> Neil,
>
> Yes I'm having the same or a similar problem. Although it tends only
> to be an issue with the SB connected via a powerline the other is
> direct and seems ok. But the powerline one was ok playing flac files
> and I think it might be the problem goes back to the point where flac
> was added to the slimserver code rather than having to install your
> own copy and then putting flac.exe in the appropriate path.
>
> I could of course be wrong, and probably am.
>
> Ken
>
>
> On Sun, 27 Jun 2004 14:40:54 +0000 (UTC), you wrote:
>
> > I have had a problem for some time with the nightly builds and it
> > also happens with the 5.2 release. Every few minutes the music
> > stops for about 1 second then starts again. I turned on the "Show
> > Buffer Fullness" option and noticed that just after the break the
> > buffer was empty. I then noticed that the problem only happened
> > with files encoded with WMA and FLAC, MP3's are ok. I changed the
> > streaming format for WMA and FLACs to MP3 and the problem went away.
> >
> > Is anyone else having the same problem?
> > Both of my SqueezeBoxes are wired so bandwidth shouldn't be a
> > problem. My server is a PIII/866Mz with 1.25Gb RAM running Windows
> > 2003 server. It doesn't look heavily loaded and running perfmon
> > there aren't any processor usage spikes at the same time as the
> > drop outs. If no one else is seeing this I am wondering whether
> > there could be a problem with my network or switches. Does anyone
> > have any thoughts on how to investigate this?
> >
> > Neil
> >
> >